2/6 Max AMPS 261 +2 293 +4 162 +5 103 +6 88

Hoping Maxy cat will just coast along in blue all day today. That would be nice Max.:cat: I am planning to go out for a little while later this afternoon. I have a play date/tea party planned with my little granddaughters. Haven’t seen them since I was quarantined and miss them. Have a peaceful Sunday everyone.
 
Last edited:
He’s down to 103 and hasn’t hit nadir time yet, I don’t think. I am happy about that but as I said I will be out this afternoon. Also the problem is that I’ve fed him so much trying to keep his numbers up the last two days that he’s not hungry and not wanting his usual novel protein food. I just gave him some Tiki cat tuna with a tsp of honey which he did eat. The Tiki cat is 0% carb though so had to add the honey. I know this is the effects of the higher depo but it’s getting even more difficult with managing his numbers with his GI issues. I’m expecting him to have diarrhea later from the diet change and honey. I’m wondering if it’s worth considering his reductions in 1 units as opposed to .5, because of the SRT and his GI issues… but then again I don’t want him stuck in high numbers either so don’t know if that’s a good idea or not. I know he’s safe now but I don’t want to leave today without him being at a comfortable number for me. Hopefully the honey will help boost him some.
 
Last edited:
See what Wendy thinks, but with all the challenges, perhaps your first shot of a reduction becomes a slight BCS of sorts. I think 1U reduction at once is too much, it's the depot that first cycle or two giving you trouble.

See where he's at in 10 minutes. It's hard to say if this is nadir...it's not a bounce breaking cycle so I think he's about at nadir
 
See what Wendy thinks, but with all the challenges, perhaps your first shot of a reduction becomes a slight BCS of sorts. I think 1U reduction at once is too much, it's the depot that first cycle or two giving you trouble.

See where he's at in 10 minutes. It's hard to say if this is nadir...it's not a bounce breaking cycle so I think he's about at nadir
I was thinking reduction of 1 unit is too much too. It wouldn’t be so much of a problem if it weren’t for his tummy issues. He gets such an upset tummy with the diet change when he needs higher carbs. Even honey.
 
He's still okay now @ 82. I'm going to hold off on trying to get any food or honey into him and just hang around for a while to make sure he's okay. I can wait and go out later this evening. Thank you Melissa.
 
Sorry I didn't get to you in time. I would have gone when you got that 82, just left food around. His dropping was really slowing down. After that point they aren't going to plunge down to where it's not safe. And 80's is a safe place to be.

As for what to do after a reduction is earned, that's not clear, at this point in time. It looks like right now, Max bounces for one cycle after seeing a number around 70, then gets over it quickly. The second cycle after his "low" is the issue. A BCS would mean higher numbers for the following few cycles. However, if that second cycle after a reduction is a time when you cannot monitor well (note, you do need to take time for you too!), then either a reduced dose that 2nd cycle or the one before is worth an experiment. As Max shortens the length of time he bounces, his patterns will change. You are entering into uncharted territory, but it's a good place to be.
 
Sorry I didn't get to you in time. I would have gone when you got that 82, just left food around. His dropping was really slowing down. After that point they aren't going to plunge down to where it's not safe. And 80's is a safe place to be.

As for what to do after a reduction is earned, that's not clear, at this point in time. It looks like right now, Max bounces for one cycle after seeing a number around 70, then gets over it quickly. The second cycle after his "low" is the issue. A BCS would mean higher numbers for the following few cycles. However, if that second cycle after a reduction is a time when you cannot monitor well (note, you do need to take time for you too!), then either a reduced dose that 2nd cycle or the one before is worth an experiment. As Max shortens the length of time he bounces, his patterns will change. You are entering into uncharted territory, but it's a good place to be.

Thanks for that Wendy. This all makes perfect sense to me but I guess it’s not just Max who’s not used to the green numbers. Me too. While I’m so happy that we are getting into this uncharted territory, I guess that I just haven’t gotten used to what to expect. He does dive sometimes and with the SRT it just makes me a little anxious about how low he will go. I love seeing him with flat green streaks but just not used to it yet. I will get there. It’s so difficult when I do have to intervene with feeding and higher carbs because of his GI issues so I guess I’m just trying to avoid that even though I know it will happen and has to happen to keep decreasing his dose. I don’t know if I’m even making sense, it’s just my inexperience. That is what some of the problem is. I have learned so much from you though and still learning. I will experiment after reductions to see what works best. Thank you for your response, as always. I enjoyed several hours with my family today so it’s all good.:)
 
I hope you enjoyed the tea party. Sounds like fun. :)

Guess I'm showing my math geek. :p When I was able to monitor, I used to just feed Neko LC and see what she would do when she hit green. After time I built up enough data to get an idea what she would do without intervention. I've even seen people graph the "curve" to get an idea of what the cat could look like. Typically it's a steeper dive if they start higher and a more gentler approach, less diving, if starting with a lower number.
 
I hope you enjoyed the tea party. Sounds like fun. :)

Guess I'm showing my math geek. :p When I was able to monitor, I used to just feed Neko LC and see what she would do when she hit green. After time I built up enough data to get an idea what she would do without intervention. I've even seen people graph the "curve" to get an idea of what the cat could look like. Typically it's a steeper dive if they start higher and a more gentler approach, less diving, if starting with a lower number.
Oh okay…I have been so nervous when shooting lower numbers like blue, because I’ve seen what kind of dives he takes and have been afraid he would get too low. Lord help me when I have to shoot a green. I hope I will get more comfortable with it soon because it looks like he’s headed that way sometime soon maybe.

Thanks, the tea party was fun. Those little girls keep me laughing whenever I spend time with them. I hadn’t seen them since I was sick. It was really good to get out today.
 
More often than not with Max, shooting blue has meant a non event, flat or rising. Shooting lower tends to produce much flatter cycles. I loved shooting the 80's, cause for Neko, that meant most of the cycle with no more than 10 points range. ECID of course.
 
Oh okay…I have been so nervous when shooting lower numbers like blue, because I’ve seen what kind of dives he takes and have been afraid he would get too low. Lord help me when I have to shoot a green. I hope I will get more comfortable with it soon because it looks like he’s headed that way sometime soon maybe.

Thanks, the tea party was fun. Those little girls keep me laughing whenever I spend time with them. I hadn’t seen them since I was sick. It was really good to get out today.
I scrolled through your SS because I had a sneaking suspicion/memory - that's the ProZinc talking. It is SO hard to shake that action from your head, and it's why I have a harder time advising the lower dose cats on LLB. It's almost guaranteed that ProZinc will drop them X% on a given cycle, and Lantus/Levemir just don't work that way. Levemir for us was so beautifully flat, I had no qualms about shooting those lower numbers. But it takes guts the first few times!

And Wendy is right - every time you've shot those low numbers he has stayed flat. The few times you did BCSs, he went high/bounced.
 
I scrolled through your SS because I had a sneaking suspicion/memory - that's the ProZinc talking. It is SO hard to shake that action from your head, and it's why I have a harder time advising the lower dose cats on LLB. It's almost guaranteed that ProZinc will drop them X% on a given cycle, and Lantus/Levemir just don't work that way. Levemir for us was so beautifully flat, I had no qualms about shooting those lower numbers. But it takes guts the first few times!

And Wendy is right - every time you've shot those low numbers he has stayed flat. The few times you did BCSs, he went high/bounced.
Yes I remember that about the Prozinc and also the vetsulin. Then I’ve dealt with such high numbers for so long so I’m just starting to learn how Levemir works with lower numbers. It does take getting used to! I hate to give a BCS and try to avoid that because no he doesn’t do well with those, but with this diarrhea I have to deal with after he’s had a lot of food, higher carbs and/or honey I think I may just have to experiment more with that. He really has a hard time with it.
 
Which is one of the reasons seeing how he does without higher carbs/honey might help you and him both. Maybe a medium carb food would work? Or maybe he'd surf just fine with LC. Experiment time.
 
Which is one of the reasons seeing how he does without higher carbs/honey might help you and him both. Maybe a medium carb food would work? Or maybe he'd surf just fine with LC. Experiment time.
I’m definitely going to experiment with just his regular low carb novel protein diet. I have not been able to find a medium carb that he likes in the novel protein foods. The Weruva grandmas chicken soup is the high carb food I was using and he loves it, but again he gets diarrhea. For medium carbs I was just using honey. Now I just use the honey for any higher carbs but he still gets diarrhea from that. I’m just going to see what he will do with just LC and not feeding him so much.
 
Back
Top