2/6 MAX AMPS 136+2/159+3/105+4.5/73++5.5. / 57+6.3/64+8/107PMPS.123+2/160+3.5/145

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-178-3-178-5-75-112.132631/#post-1366669

I think he must have gone lower last night because of his amps so I'm holding the increase until tonight if he doesn't give me green today. I would have gotten another test last night but his growling scared me and I didn't want to take a chance.

He didn't eat the baby food but I just checked and he is eating his cat food. He was purring and acting normal this morning so I am really confused.
 
Last edited:
Hi Elise,
That must have been a scary episode last night. You may well have woken him from a deep dream. Glad to hear he's eating this morning. Good luck with the dosecrease, if you decide to do it this evening.

Prayers and vines for your mom,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Elise,
That must have been a scary episode last night. You may well have woken him from a deep dream. Glad to hear he's eating this morning. Good luck with the dosecrease, if you decide to do it this evening.

Prayers and vines for your mom,

Ella & Rusty
Yes, it was VERY scary. I've never heard such sound from him before except that one other time when he dropped really low. My angel Mandie would make noises like that when sedated to have her matts removed. She wouldn't let me brush her stomach and had the kind of fur that matts easily. Now I know why Max was labeled aggressive when he had the curve when first diagnosed. He has cage fever but is otherwise one of the easiest cats to handle.
 
So he is green. His appy is down. I'm going to give him some ondansetron tonight to be safe. If he be having a pancreatitis flare from the dental. Also his ALT was a little high when he had his labs before the dental and that usually only happens with p'itis. He has eaten some ff but really only wants fd turkey. I won't break out the mc or hc unless he goes under 50.
 
Max! What's up with scaring your mamabean?? You be nice to her today and give her some extra snuggles to let her know you didn't mean it!

I'd vote for the "woke up during a dream" possibility too. I've had one of my civvies (who's the most laid back cat I've ever met) snap and growl at me a few times when I've had to wake him. I can't help but think something was going on in his sleepy little brain that led to it since it was so out of character for him.

Nice cycle for Max today...at least better than he's been having lately! Hopefully he'll continue to be more "Max-like"!
 
That looks more like Max! I'm with the others on the waking up confused theory. Sometimes cats sleep really deeply, and you probably started him. Max, give mama some lovin' today so she knows you aren't mad at her!

Sending appy vines and also more healing vines for your DM.
 
The thing of it is, I picked him up from the hallway and carried him to the bathroom sink. Once I put him in there was when the growling noises started. He sleeps deeply most of the time now because he is losing or has already lost his hearing. Whatever the reason I hope it doesn't happen again soon. I'm glad I didn't raise his dose today although he did get a little more just because I was able to get all the bubbles out.
 
My civie Regan will do that - there's nothing at all wrong with her, but if she wakes up suddenly (and I can be stroking her for 3 or 4 minutes before she does) she'll cry and growl. Scared me the first few times she did it, but she's done it on occasion for years now. She seems to wake up confused and disoriented if she's woken suddenly from a deep sleep and then she gets scared and growls. As far as I can tell it doesn't indicate any sort of problem - I had her checked out at the vet the first couple of times she did it in case there was a medical cause but they couldn't find anything at all. They suggested it might be if she gets woken while she's dreaming.
 
Good job on the dosecrease threat today. :D I started noticing number improvement about a week and a half after Neko's dental, and it's now been 9 days for Max.

Yikes on the growling. If I accidentally "loom" over groggy civie Theo, I'll get noises/whacks too.
 
Thanks April and Wendy for letting me know this behavior is more common than I would think. My Mandie would do that when coming out of anesthesia like I mentioned but she was not an easy cat like Max and it wasn't a surprise.
 
Oh Rosa is a nightmare coming out of anesthesia. The vet always knows when she's starting to come around properly because she starts up yowling, hissing and growling that lasts until the minute they give her back to me. Her old vet always found it amusing that the moment she saw me when I went to pick her up, she'd change the growling to purring instantly. She's the feisty one out of the two!!
 
He's definitely off so I gave him some cerenia now so that hopefully he will eat well tonight. It will also help me to know if he is having a bit of p'itis or possibly mouth issues. It took three times with the gel cap but he did then eat a little Gerbers. He turned down ff with stella & chewy's and beechnut earlier. Of course after the cerenia literally a few minutes ago he is now eating the ff plus S&C. As Shelly would say, he is plotting my demise!! Well, maybe not. I just checked the dish and he drank the liquid but left the food. I do think there is some nausea going on and hopefully the cerenia will help.
 
Max. Feel better soon. Please. We're all rooting for you to get your appy back and snap the gloomies from your dental.

Yes, Elise. I've had generally docile, very sweet kitties give me the low, throat growl at pill time. Not often. And it backs me off when they do it. Not long later and they're wrapping around my ankles seeking scritches.

Marilyn and Polly
 
I gave him some cerenia this afternoon but he didn't touch his pmps food. I gave him some ondansetron and we will see if that helps. I'll give it some time to work and if it doesn't I'll try Gerbers. If that doesn't help there's always cyproheptadine.

Marilyn this was not low but loud growling. It's over and hopefully was just getting awakened from a deep sleep.

Thanks for the visits Laura, April, and Marilyn. I hope you are feeling better Tricia.
 
Poor Max! And I feel bad for you, Elise, that he growled when he's not usually like that. I hope his ptitis flare-up passes quickly and he starts eating better. You two have had a go of it since his dental.

Sending many more vines for your mom.
 
Is there any possibility it could be his mouth and not the P-titis? He ate baby food but not cat food, maybe it is softer? Poor baby, I am so sorry he's not feeling good, hugs Elise!
 
Is there any possibility it could be his mouth and not the P-titis? He ate baby food but not cat food, maybe it is softer? Poor baby, I am so sorry he's not feeling good, hugs Elise!

Yes, it's possible. He will eat freeze dried turkey though. The picky eating makes me think p'itis. He just ate a little ff with a couple pieces of fd turkey.he wouldn't eat even baby food this morning. I'll know more over the next couple of days. If the ondansetron doesn't help I'll try and see my vet Monday instead of waiting until Wednesday.

Thanks for visiting Marje and Ruth.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top