2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
2/5 Maggie

Tuesday
AMPS 169
+2 117
+3 83
+5 77
+9 153
PMPS 180
+3 73 (free feeds/left hc)

Morning and many thanks Chief Inspector Crapdash, Inspector Poo, Amy, Roni, Barb and Wendy for your visits and the poo vines after I signed off. I couldn't get on the Board mid afternoon. Some good and some bad news, but the bad news has a diagnosis and is treatable. I'll try to keep it condensed, :? so much to tell.

The good news is that Mags had a poo early this morning, phew! Detective Poo and Chief Inspector Crapdash will be proud. I was so worried I would need to take her in for an enema, as this was starting the fifth day of no poo. Thank you all so much for all the poo vines and prayers. I looked back on my condos and notes, and the last good poo Mags had was last Thursday, January 31. Next day on Friday was when the abnormal lb activities started, and she just had a couple midget prezzies. The Vet called me yesterday llate afternoon with her test results and had me increase her Cisapride to every 8 hours, and the Lactulose and Miralax to the max doses. even if it meant diarrhea. So last evening she had some little syringes of water and Miralax, a couple treats of bf mixed with water and Miralax, as well as the lactulose. He was hoping she would go overnight, as he wanted to avoid putting her thru an enema. No more bupe for Mags, but she doesn't seem in pain. It helped the first couple days.

The bad news is the culture results back came back indicating Mags has Pyelonephritis, a kidney infection, so the UTI infection has risen into the kidneys. But the good news is that this Vet started her on the Orbax right away, so she has a little head start on treating the infection. The Orbax is the right antibiotic for treating it, and it's only once a day. I was reading a little about the Pyelonephritis in Tanya's Guide to CRD. The book is so much easier to locate articles than the website for me. Thank goodness it also agrees with her. Mags will need to be on Orbax for 6 to 8 weeks (I think he said or is it 4 to 6 weeks). She has to return in a month for retesting, the same exam she had this past Saturday.
Maggie's renal values have increased with the infection, but Vet is hopeful they will come down after infection is clearing.
Mannie, sur do need some of that good 10 hour and Espresso.
I need to pick up another bottle of the antibiotics and b/w results today. Wishing all a nice day.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173 UTI/culture results/b/w

Sorry for more to deal with but at least it is treatable and already started.
I hope the medication kicks in quickly and starts killing that infection.
Yay for poo. So much better than an enema. Poor Maggie.

Hope Maggie's numbers mimic yesterday with more greens.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173 UTI/culture results/b/w

I'm glad you have a diagnosis. Kidney infections take a while to adequately treat.

I'm assuming that you know that bupe (any opioid, actually) can be constipating.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173 UTI/culture results/b/w

Thanks Rhiannon for the good wishes, hope so, too.

Sienne, in hindsight I should have realized it might cause a problem with Mags's Megacolon issues, even though it was prescribed. Her dose was 0.15 ml every 12 hours for two days, but I only gave two doses, but that was probably what caused her constipation.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173 UTI/culture results/b/w

Sending Maggie many healing vines. The A/B should help and once the kidney infection is resolved, her kidney values "should" come back down. Paws crossed!

HUGS!!
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173 UTI/culture results/b/w

sorry about the kidney infection. sending healing vines and get well soon wishes to Maggie
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173 UTI/culture results/b/w

OK! Not such bad news, something Treatable, and Miss Mags is reacting well to the ABs for it!!
This seems to be one thing sets off another, with all our cats...They are such delicate creatures...
Not as hardy as I had thought before!
But Miss Mags is tough & a fighter like Moonie..She will get better really quick & be back to her old self!!
I'd take a loose poo very gratefully right now :lol: :lol: :lol: --Moonie just loves those nuggets :lol:

Prayers for Maggie's speedy Recovery!! We Love & Hug you Both very much!!
Have a good day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46 UTI/culture results

+4 46
:mrgreen: :shock: The time got away from me. I had unexpected phone call, too. Guess Mags wants another reducie.

Thanks Asoolty, for all the vines and good wishes.
Marje, that's what the Vet is hopeful for, too, once the infection clears, is for her renal values to improve.
Roni, yeah, both fighters, oir girls. The poo was actually not runny but a nice consistence, which I thought it might be after so much help.

Mags seems better today. Right now she's eating Merrick Cowboy Cookout as if it's ice cream, so appy better. She did a pee in the middle of the box, too, :-D and not one of those in and out jobs.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46 UTI/culture results

Hi guys .. Well I'm glad that there were some prezzies in the LB for you this morning! I can only imagine how worried you must of been waiting for them to appear .. sorry to hear about the kidney infection, I just had one of those last month myself :o At least you got a head start on the meds .. strange how I only had to take AB's for a week :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46 UTI/culture results

Morning guys nice drop for miss Maggie this morning! Sending healing vines to her to get over the infection quickly. Poor girl! So glad you know what it is though & r treating it properly! Hugs & scritches from us. Oh & yay on the poo!!
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46 UTI/culture results

I'm sorry about the diagnosis, but SO relieved it's not only something treatable, but something you've already started treating! Mags is sooooo lucky to have such an observant and aware MamaBean. Yay for poos and middle-of-the-box pees!!! You go girl!!! ANd keep feeling better, too!!
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76 UTI/culture results

+5 76

I just got back from pet store, picked up more antibiotics from Vet and errands. The Board was down earlier, right! I'm always having connection problems, so wasn't sure if it was my puter.I was surprised with the drop to 46, as I've already reduced her three drops since the infection.

Devon, Mags is jealous you only had one week of antibiotics for your kidney infection. :lol:

Thanks Amy, I am relieved it is something treatable but will take some time. I think the constipation had something to do with Mags not going the whole way into the box.

Thanks Michelle & Scrabble for the good wishes and healing vines. I am glad this Vet started her right away on antibiotics.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76 UTI/culture results

Oh Maggie. Nice greens there girl! Now surf it for your bean and no drama.

I'm glad you got the results back. While kidney infection is a pain, it is very treatable so yay! She will be good as new in no time and yay for poo today! That is a good girl Maggie. Have a wonderful day Ann!
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

I'm sorry Maggie has a kidney infection, but at least it is treatable and she is already on the right AB. Yay on the poo!
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

Nice start for the night for Miss Maggie. That 46 was sure :shock: :o but she must be feeling good. I was happy to hear no enema required. Whew! for both of you. Sorry about the infection but at least it's treatable and sounds like a AB that doesn't upset the system much.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

Sorry to hear about the kidney infection, but glad treatment is already underway. And, YAY! for the prezzie!! Good catch on the (46). Hope Maggie's infection responds nicely to the med!

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

Hi Ann - sorry to visit to late... SO so sorry Maggie has a kidney infection, but it does sound like you guys are on top of it. Wonderful too that you have the right antibiotics. and that she is tolerating it well, especially if she needs to be on it so long. Good luck!! I hope she responds quickly. Excellent too on teh poo - YAY! no enema - always a plus. perhaps the bupe added to the delay? I too hear it can be constipating... though Mannie didn't have that issue.

What wodnerful numbers today1 WOW on that 46! and that was on a reduced dose. Amazing.

and yes, the board has been down - a couple of times.

I hope your day has been a good one. I am so glad too that you have a dx for Maggie, a treatable one.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

Well drat on the kidney infection but now you know what it is and what to do. Zener had trouble with GI motility when he was on bupe post-dental last year, so we know how sensitive kitties with GI issues can be to it. I'm sure you will get the poo flowing again soon! ;-)
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

Thanks Carla, Melissa, Libby, Anne & Zener, Wendy and Michelle & Manniie for the visits and sorry I missed you all. I think my computer needs a good tuneup. A new one would be nice, too. :-D
Yes, I'm glad this Vet placed Mags on the Orbax right away, and it seems to agree. Her appy is getting better, as it was off the first few days. She also feels better now that she had a bm. I wonder if there's a non opiod pain killer for pets. Now that Mags had a good poo, she's peeing inside the box. I was reading in Tanya's CRD book on constipation, and iit mentioned this can happen with constipation, as well as a number of reasons. Thanks again for all the prayers and vines.
 
Re: 2/6 Maggie AMPS 173; +4 46; +5 76; PMPS 125 Test Result

Good Morning Ann.....I know you're reading this on Thurs, but I'm going out and don't want to wait for this morning's condo.

Altho I'm not happy it's a kidney infection, I'm really glad you got a definitive diagnosis, and already have a head start on the correct AB. Mags is on the road to recovery, even if it takes a while.

I'm sorry, the bupe exacerbates Maggie's constipation, but that's what narcotic drugs do, and you can only deal with it.
Not that you wanted to know, but i had the same problem with a diff narcotic, when I had a long bout with back pain.
You're such a good caregiver, you'll soon figure out the proper doses to give her, to counteract that. You can tell us all about her nice prezzies then. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top