? 2/6 Howie +10.5=59, +11.25=61 MC Food?

Agreed, a little bit higher carb to boost him before onset is a good idea. Especially at night.

His appetite still OK? Just wondering if you are seeing any cabergoline side effects still.
 
Another tip if I haven't mentioned it to you. For cats on higher doses like Howie, if you are finding the depot is still influencing too much after a reduction, you can always do a one time BCS (big chicken shot) or reduced shot, then back to the new dose the following cycle. A BCS would be something like a half dose.

If Howie has a strong reaction to cabergoline, you will find your self doing BCS doses, or skips to keep ahead of the numbers.
 
Another tip if I haven't mentioned it to you. For cats on higher doses like Howie, if you are finding the depot is still influencing too much after a reduction, you can always do a one time BCS (big chicken shot) or reduced shot, then back to the new dose the following cycle. A BCS would be something like a half dose.

If Howie has a strong reaction to cabergoline, you will find your self doing BCS doses, or skips to keep ahead of the numbers.
This is good to know. I’ll see how his numbers are throughout the day and see what I should do for his PM dose and if I do a BCS. His AMPS was 71 again today. I was wondering what I was going to do if the depot keeps him low despite these frequent decreases and trying to figure out what/if the cabergoline is doing vs the depot. Since I did this reduction last night after only 3 cycles, how many cycles should I sit even if he dips below 70 before I do more reductions?
His appetite is just fine...sits and begs or paces for his food like he always did! The diarrhea still continues and the s boulardii emergency dose isn’t doing much. So I’ll ask my vet how long he wants it to keep going to see if it clears up on its own before giving him metronidazole. I swear I’m also seeing that his eyes are going a bit crooked...the pupils are going up to the upper corners and the 3rd eyelid is more pronounced. It’s not all the time so I’m trying to see if it’s only when he is sleepy/tired or when he is more alert. I have no idea if this is also another effect of the cabergoline but I never noticed it until he started the med! Again, I could be a kittie hypochondriac right now!
 
I think I'd try the BCS tonight. It'll be an interesting experiment, the 46 unit depot could also still be in play too. With cabergoline in play, reduction rules are made to be broken. Do what you think you need to do to keep him safe. Err on the side of caution.

As for eyes, the pituitary is near the optic chiasm, it's possible, depending on the size of the tumour, that it is pressing on it. I noticed Neko a bit more sensitive to light, before she had her SRT. After that she was OK.
 
Back
Top