2/6 Hendrick PMPS 312 +3 243 +4.5 249

Hendrick Cuddleclaw

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Editing this thread title to just the PM cycle now, since we're back on a human meter. Too confusing to have AT2 and Human numbers in the same thread I think
 
Last edited:
Good Morning! I was reading through your thread - I didn't get any alert that I'd been tagged either - something about the board isn't quite working as it should. I have a house guest right now, so unless I get an email about a tag here, not looking a lot....anywhoo...

You should not increase when you are getting any greens - so leave it alone unless he goes under 50 - and at that time he will have 'earned' (I use the term loosely at this point) a reduction. Earning a reduction comes after kitty has had many days in the low blues and greens and suddenly takes a dip below 50 - hence 'earning a reduction' at that time is truly a sign that kitty needs less insulin.

In Hendrick's case his pancreas sputters to life, kicks out a bit of insulin and you're adding to it - and he drops low - then his liver unloads all that stored up glycogen for the perceived emergency and the numbers go up. Try not to sweat the high numbers right now...that's gonna happen.

I hope you like the OneDrop system - I love not chasing supplies - if you have any issues they'll send you another meter (I just requested a new one because mine was giving me too many error messages - as it turns out I've used it for two years!)...don't mention to them that you're using it for a cat - it's not 'approved' for use in anything other than hoomans...but that's just a bit of discretion on your part.

If you've not read the 'Pancreas story' I wrote some years back, let me know and I'll post it here for you...just talks about what's going on inside our kitties that drives everyone crazy with those high and low numbers.

Take a look at Luci's SS for some crazy numbers...

Have a great day!
 
Thanks @Sue and Luci it is true I added the tags with an edit so that is probably why

Really appreciate you taking the time out of your day and life to read about my boy and give me some feedback and knowledge. Can't thank you enough.

I got an email from your tag in this one :)

That's what we're all here for...lots of people were so helpful when we started this journey! So I'm just paying it forward when I can. Keep posting! You guys are doing a great job with him. I hope he'll cooperate soon by settling down and giving you some better, more consistent numbers. It takes time to get that pancreas to heal up enough and it's a real balancing act trying to keep up (you trying to keep up that is):facepalm::p:D:joyful:
 
+3 coming in at 449 wth, never seen anything like that before. Higher than the AMPS

I was sure I got a good shot in him this morning too. Maybe I didn't????
 
Hi Kyle, I read on a thread you posted in on main health that and Hendrick has regained some of the weight he lost and is more energetic and his cost is glossy. That is wonderful and I know what a relief it is when you start seeing improvements in your kitty!
I see in your SS you are using both the AT2 and the human meter. Is there a reason for that?
Its really best to choose one or the other, otherwise it is confusing for people helping as we are looking at two different lots of BGs in the same line.
Personally I like the human meter much more as our dosing methods are based on them and they are a lot cheaper to run.
 
I see in your SS you are using both the AT2 and the human meter. Is there a reason for that?

Thanks for the kind words about Hendrick!

Yes use of AT2 was just temporary until we got more human meter strips. Accidentally ran out! So silly of us. Thought we had another vial that we did not.

We have more human meter strips now and the AT2 is going back on the shelf as an emergency option only.

Plan is to stay with human meter from here on out. Sorry for any confusion!
 
Got it! Thought there must be a reason!

I don't understand the AT2. We used it one last time at PMPS just for comparison even though we had our human meter (CareSens) working again with plenty of strips. AT2 said 415. Human meter 312. Such a huge difference -- now I question the high numbers we got earlier today (449 at +3 for example)

His behavior at +3 was more like when his BG is in the blues, he was running on one of the cat wheels even. First time he has more than walked it since dx. He wrestled with his big brother a little. Well anyway not using the AT2 anymore so whatever, I guess. Just bugs me.
 
I don't understand the AT2. We used it one last time at PMPS just for comparison even though we had our human meter (CareSens) working again with plenty of strips. AT2 said 415. Human meter 312. Such a huge difference -- now I question the high numbers we got earlier today (449 at +3 for example)

His behavior at +3 was more like when his BG is in the blues, he was running on one of the cat wheels even. First time he has more than walked it since dx. He wrestled with his big brother a little. Well anyway not using the AT2 anymore so whatever, I guess. Just bugs me.
There is a difference in the readings the two meters. The higher the BG, the bigger the difference. I know exactly where I am with the human meter and feel much more confident with their numbers.
Sounds like he is feeling much better. You know yourself how you feel if you have a big sugar hit….it feel awful. I can see by his SS he is still getting used to the lower numbers and bouncing when they appear. The more he is exposed to the lower numbers, the more his body will recognise they are the normal BGs.
You are doing a great job looking after him….he’s a lucky boy!
 
The more he is exposed to the lower numbers, the more his body will recognise they are the normal BGs.

Yes this is what I was hoping was the case ty, and I swear I can see it happening in front of my eyes

Here he is today up on the top of one of the cat trees where he hasn't climbed in ages, in front of a poster sized collage of kitty photos my wife made. Hendrick is in that collage as well! @FrostD he is looking so good ty for your help early on in particular

HenPoster.jpg
 

Attachments

  • HenPoster.jpg
    HenPoster.jpg
    86.3 KB · Views: 179
Last edited:
Yes this is what I was hoping was the case ty, and I swear I can see it happening in front of my eyes

Here he is today up on the top of one of the cat trees where he hasn't climbed in ages, in front of a poster sized collage of kitty photos my wife made. Hendrick is in that collage as well! @FrostD he is looking so good ty for your help early on in particular

View attachment 63480
Aw I'm so glad to see!

And I'm sorry I haven't meant to ditch you lately, I do peek in usually daily. But my (self inflicted :p) "place" in the forum tends to be corralling people from Main Forum, getting them on their feet, then shooting them over to where they need to go...and if that's ProZinc or Vetsulin I'm over there as well. Bit of a full moon going on with ProZinc cats or something lately.

Looks like he may be on his way to clearing the bounce...always at night, I swear
 
Aw I'm so glad to see!

And I'm sorry I haven't meant to ditch you lately, I do peek in usually daily. But my (self inflicted :p) "place" in the forum tends to be corralling people from Main Forum, getting them on their feet, then shooting them over to where they need to go...and if that's ProZinc or Vetsulin I'm over there as well. Bit of a full moon going on with ProZinc cats or something lately.

Looks like he may be on his way to clearing the bounce...always at night, I swear


Oh I did not feel ditched at all, I totally get it and it is not a problem, sorry if it came off that way -- Actually I was more trying to point out how well you play that role of getting people on their feet etc. and how much I appreciate it when I reflect on those early days of such overwhelming-ness

+3 a nice gradual drop from PMPS so he'll probably step off a cliff in an hour and give me a 75 or something again lol. Had a 10% carb snack to try and keep things flatter...

Debating a +4 or +5 check
 
Back
Top