? 2/6 Gryphen AMPS 159 - numbers holding from yesterday

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2734826/ (previous post)

Good morning!

Gryphen is still staying blue this morning at 159. Great for her, weird for me!

She is being a little odd, as she doesn't want to eat, and that's not normally an issue.

Should I wait until the PM and then reduce her dose a bit?

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Sorry, no one got back sooner! Has she eaten since? Cats usually see a reduction in appetite once they start seeing lower numbers. They are able to better process their food.

While we ask newer member to shoot below 150/200 when they start, it is advisable that you gradually lower your no-shot number - especially if you can monitor after you shoot.
Gryphen is doing very well but looks like she needs a little insulin to help her pancreas. I would suggest that you reduce to a low dose that you can consistently shoot morning and evening rather than skipping. Either 0.5U - maybe even 0.25U.
 
Thank you!

She did eat a bit, but not her normal amount. I'm fine with that as long as she eats a little something.

Yes, I am uncomfortable when I don't shoot at all. I'll try the lower dose this evening.

Thanks again!
 
I would try .50 tonight. That’s half the starting dose but let’s see the PMPS. It will depend on that and whether you can monitor if needed.
 
I just tested, and she's at 158. I tested at +7 from AMPS, and she was 142 so she's gone up a bit since then, but not much. Thoughts?
 
I think she needs some insulin. You would need to monitor closely. Do you have plenty of test strips, high carb food, mc food, and can you stay up if needed. To go OTJ she needs to have bg under 100 mostly. Another question. Do you have a human meter and would you be willing to switch? It makes things much easier for those of us helping.
 
Yes, I have all of those things, except the human meter. I stocked up on AT2 supplies when the girls were diagnosed, and was planning to switch when I ran out. It's only been 13 days, so I have a lot of supplies left.

.25U? (Oh...yes...Saw your second reply after I posted.)
 
Gryphen was diagnosed in 2018 with high BG. Vet thought it was stress related, so we kept an eye on it. Was still high in 2019, so tried a diet change (DM). The food brought her BG down a little, but not much. Alphy decided she liked the DM better than the Orijen, so she started eating that, and ended up with diabetes also. I honestly think the food caused it, but my vet thinks it's just a coincidence.

Figured we might as well start them both on insulin at the same time; Alphy's numbers were much higher and Gryphen's weren't going down much.

I wish I had found this group before starting the insulin; I think the diet change is really making a difference now.

I'm just lucky, I think!!;)
 
So... my vet is a friend and I wrote to her about Gryphen's numbers. She told me do not shoot. Now I'm torn...

I've gotten better advice from you all on this board, but I"m so new to this I'm nervous.

What are the ramifications of skipping again? Is it like starting over? I dont' want to harm my cat....
 
So... my vet is a friend and I wrote to her about Gryphen's numbers. She told me do not shoot. Now I'm torn...

I've gotten better advice from you all on this board, but I"m so new to this I'm nervous.

What are the ramifications of skipping again? Is it like starting over? I dont' want to harm my cat....

Ypu won’t farm your day by skipping. We have found that for a strong remission the numbers need to be lower. One of our members stopped insulin before her cat was ready. She’s now back on and having to shoot more insulin. Waiting another few cycles I don’t think will hurt. I know you have lots of AT strips but if you would get a Relion from Walmart to use with G and use up the rest with your other day it would help us help you.
 
I'm so sorry - I feel like I completely wasted your time!! I'm just so nervous! I had diabetic cats about 20 years ago, when there was no home testing, and I had a cat go hypo. It was so scary! Luckily, I lived in a big city and could take them to the ER vet. That's not the case here (we don't have an ER vet), and it's nerve-wracking!

I'm going to skip, and test again after she eats, just in case.

I know she's not in remission yet, still way too high...double digits is the goal. Plus, I'm never that lucky. LOL!!!

I'll go shopping tomorrow and get a human meter.

Thanks again for your help! I truly appreciate it!
 
Soooo.....

My vet got back to me again, and wants me to do .5U once daily for Gryphen.

I know she hasn't dosed much Lantus (she told me that), but wouldn't that defeat the purpose of this particular type of insulin?

Maybe .25, as suggested above, 2x a day?

She mentioned she would like to eventually get both girls down to once a day dosing? Is that normal with Lantus?
 
She mentioned she would like to eventually get both girls down to once a day dosing? Is that normal with Lantus?
Once a day is normal for humans. Cats have faster metabolisms and need twice a day. We seen lots of people try once a day, the cat ends up in high numbers for the 12 of the 24 hours. The only time it works is when a cat is almost in remission, down to a drop or so. I think on my time here I've seen it work for 2 cats.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top