2/6 Enana PMPS 189, +1 221, +2 250 Rising ?? HELP!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Then get a +11 in the morning and post for advice. If she is high in the morning due to stalling and reducing tonight's shot, then you might be able to shoot 1/2 hour early to start making up some times.

Good morning Lantus Citizens,

Yesterday my schedule got out of whack, that is why she said I could move the shoot 1/2 hour early.

What do you all think?

30 minutes to +11 is in 10 minutes...my internet is acting out so I couldn't post immediately after testing.

Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36064
 
Re: 2/6 Enana PMPS 173, +1 222, +3 160, +11 256 HELP!

I think shooting at +11.5 should be fine, especially since you are home to monitor.

About dose, since the ketones are low at this point it should be ok to stay with 0.25 units for today, if that makes you comfortable. Do get another ketone test in today. If the ketone number starts to go up, or if Enana's appetite changes or if she starts to act like she doesn't feel good, we'll have to raise the dose again. In fact, if you're able to get a ketone test before shooting then that would make me feel even better. ;-) I'm really cautious about ketones, since I almost lost my kitty to DKA and I don't want anyone to have to go through that. I know you understand what I mean.

Normally we look for a number under 50 to signal a dose reduction, but normally we also like to allow newbies to get their feet wet by easing into lower numbers more gradually than you did. With a post-DKA cat, we don't always have the luxury of taking our time.

You're doing great!
 
Re: 2/6 Enana PMPS 173, +1 222, +3 160, +11 256 HELP!

I just shot her .25...which is such a tiny amount. The shot was almost at my amps time not +11.5...more like +11 and 50 minutes...

How am I going to get back to my work schedule? I'm 1 hour 20 minutes off :(
 
Re: 2/6 Enana PMPS 173, +1 222, +3 160, +11 256 HELP!

we can fix the schedule. We can try again for +11.5 tonight, plus we can always skip or reduce tomorrow morning's shot if necessary (that would be an ok time to do it, since you won't be home, but let's see what the numbers are). There is a lot of "playing it by ear" sometimes, but it's not the end of the world. I mess up my schedule pretty often, unfortunately, but we always get through it.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256 Question?

I would probably get a +2. Yesterday she had already dropped quite a bit by +3, so getting a +2 should give us a heads up if she is planning to do that again.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213, Question????

Dropping by to say hello! Looks like you are on top of things. And hey, you survived yesterday -- good work! :lol:
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163 Question????

Oops Sienne I didn't test at +4, for some reason I am not receiving emails.

+6 is 163 and Ketones 0.2.

Thanks Kathy and Christie
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163 Question????

I read this somewhere in FDMB but i dont remember where...

below 150: no insulin

between 150 and 200: 1) nothing; 2) give a token; 3) feed and test at +1

above 200 but below preshot: reduce dose

Above normal preshot: give usual dose.

Should I follow that?
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomited??

a minute ago, Enana started deep-meowing, i heard the noise of she trying to throw up...she did a little water. I tested again +6.5 145. Am I too freaked out? :shock:

She has had diarrhea since Friday too.


Thanks Lisa.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

The day I brought her from the hospital she didnt have it, but the next day she did..that was 2 days ago. :sad:
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Oh so she hasn't had the diarrhea for two days then and normal lower bowel movement today?
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

How about the deep meowing? Is that usual?

The diarrhea should not be an insulin-related issue. The numbers are good. How does she seem otherwise?

Bump is a means of getting a condo to rise to the top of the list, where it gets more attention -- hopefully from people with more knowledge than the bumper has.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Karrie posted to your condo to bump you up to get more help. I would call your Vet tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Thanks for bumping :)

I just sent my vet and email. She replies pretty fast.

I used to give both of my cats Hairball Control Dry food...now they don't have it. She threw up, then he threw up...

Enana seems fine, she is a little freaked out by my boyfriend being here, she had not seen him since she got sick and she is a very shy girl.

I dont wanna be graphic, but her poo stinks!! haha_smiley
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

I dont wanna be graphic, but her poo stink

That's great you can E-mail your Vet on a sunday. Must be a good Vet, as I don't have that option. I had a cat that threw up hairballs a lot - you think sometimes they are going to gag trying to upchuck it!

My kitty's poo stinks, too! :lol:
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

I am moving over to Televised Sports Event Land, but I'll try to check in with Lantus Land intermittently.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Bump up for Enana and keep us posted if Vet E-mails back to you. Nice numbers today.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Thanks everyone. I'm going to Televised Sports Event Land too!

This is what my vet said "You could try some yogurt with active cultures if she will eat that - usually they like the plain or vanilla flavors. If not, I have some food probiotics you can mix in with her food that you can come get tomorrow. Is she doing well otherwise today?"

My vet is fantastic. She is a cat-only vet :)

Go Packers!
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Still dont know how Im going to get back to work schedule.

I shot her at 9:06...I need to leave tomorrow for work at the latest at 7:45-7:50 nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

looking good! I'm glad you got a ketone test today and that it is still low. Any more vomiting?

If you can get a test at +10 then at +11, that will give us an idea of how fast she is rising at the end of the cycle, and we can see if you can safely shoot early. If not, like I said earlier, there is always the option of skipping or reducing tomorrow morning's shot if necessary.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Natalia & Enana said:
Thanks everyone. I'm going to Televised Sports Event Land too!

This is what my vet said "You could try some yogurt with active cultures if she will eat that - usually they like the plain or vanilla flavors. If not, I have some food probiotics you can mix in with her food that you can come get tomorrow. Is she doing well otherwise today?"
My vet is fantastic. She is a cat-only vet :)
Go Packers!


That is so wonderful you heard back and got some help right away. We need more Vets like her. I'm off to Super Bowl, too, but I'm for Pittsburgh Steelers - I'm originally from PA!
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

Your vet will probably give you FortiFlora. It is a non-prescription probiotic that you can purchase on Amazon or from PetFood Direct. Most cats really, really like it. If your vet suggests Probiocin (it's a gel that's packaged in something that looks like a syringe), point out that it contains sugar.

If Enana threw up clear liquid, I wouldn't be too worried. You may need to spread out meals a bit more. That may help.

The stinky poo situation may be due to having changed your cat's diet. Hopefully, this is short-lived.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

:lol: :lol: :lol: if you ask Binks...he'll tell you his poo doesn't stink!!
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145 Vomit Diarrh

I went to the grocery store and checked Activia out. Too much stuff that I dont want her to eat. Left without buying anything.

I'll go tomorrow to my vet tomorrow. Thanks Sienna for letting me know the names and sugar content.

I just tested Gordo's BG is it is 93.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145, +10 159 ??

+10 159

She is hungry. Should I feed her?

I never know when to feed :sad:

Testing again at +11
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256, +2 213,+6 163, +6.5 145, +10 159 ??

for the most part, i think folks don't feed from +10 until shot time.

the two hours gives time for food to clear the system so you get a preshot number that isn't influenced by food.

it's a steep learning curve at first...but you're doing fine!
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256 +6 163, +6.5 145, +10 159, +11 189 Q?

Gave her .25 u...


Can I subtract 30 minutes or more tomorrow morning too? I have to leave for work at 7:45

Someone tell me how you all make it with schedules please. I'm so stressed out. nailbite_smile

Thanks
 
Re: 2/6 Enana AMPS 256 +6 163, +6.5 145, +10 159, +11 189 Q?

+12 221

Help!
I shot PMPS at 8:35pm (moved the shot back 30 minutes from AMPS)...that means I have to shot at 8:35 am tomorrow and I cant! I have to leave for work at the latest at 8. Can I move the shot 30 minutes tomorrow too??


Made the mistake of buying a Friskies treat called Natural Sensations (w Real Chicken). It said that it had 4% finer but two of the four first ingredients are corn gluten and rice.

I gave her about 5 treats about an hour ago and 3 just before I realized what Ive just done. Im so mad at myself. cat(2)_steam

I'll test again before going to bed.
 
Re: 2/6 Enana PMPS 189, +1 221 HELP!!!

nice shooting. :smile:

I would say that if Enana is in the 200s at +11.5 tomorrow then you can probably go ahead and shoot. If she's lower or you're not sure, just skip it and get back on schedule tomorrow night.

A good hint is to get a +10.5 or +11 and then when you test at +11.5 you'll know if she is rising and how fast. If she is rising at +11.5 (without food), then you can feel more comfortable shooting because you know the insulin is wearing off.

Something else I have done if I'm a little nervous and I have to leave the house is to feed a higher carb food for breakfast. If you find yourself having to do that all the time then the dose needs to be changed, but if you need to do it occasionally so you can feel comfortable leaving, then it won't have a long term effect.

Have a good night!
 
I'm not familiar with those particular treats, but in theory, it could cause the rise.

You'll figure it out. We all smack our heads sometimes, because there's so much to learn, especially at first. But this is the beauty of testing. You will be able to see how she reacts, and adjust!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top