Re: 2/6 Elise/Max AMPS311Vets says hold+5=346or287
i think wendy's given you a good commentary on why your vet would want you to hold the dose. most haven't had the experience of cats going into remission and off of insulin.
another possibility is that most vets change doses by 0.5u or even 1.0u increments. the 1.0u was getting Max in the ballpark and a larger increase might've been too much. i think the 0.25u increase was absolutely appropriate - and needed. i don't have any doubt about it at all. if we saw it was too much, we'd be the first people suggesting you reduce the dose. None of us wants to be responsible for a cat being overdosed, so those of us willing to give advice are going to be cautious. The TR Protocol provides a good balance of moving the cat into better numbers while monitoring so that it's done safely.
usually we can see what a dose is going to do within the 6-10 cycles and if it hasn't brought a cat into good numbers consistently by 10 cycles, it probably isn't going to.
Take a look at
Davidson's spreadsheet, just today and yesterday, and notice how flat the numbers are and how they are primarily under 120. That's what you want to get to in order to head towards remission. He's at 2.75u right now. The size of the dose is far less important than the BGs that the dose produces. of course, not every cat goes into remission, even with a good spreadsheet. our first goal is to get the cat into numbers that prevent organ damage, under about 200ish. but the next goal is to get them under 120 and give the pancreas an opportunity to heal.
When you get to a good dose, the cycle will flatten out like davidson's is doing, bringing the preshot numbers down. we haven't gotten Max to a good dose yet, but he'll get there. Going back to 1.0u is counterproductive, in my mind, if you are wanting to try for remission. if you were a person who couldn't monitor, then just keeping Max safe and in decent numbers is a good goal. but you do monitor enough to follow the TR protocol and try to get him off.
Here's a couple of articles that you could read and if you think they would be helpful, pass on to your vet. They support getting a cat tightly regulated in order to achieve remission:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286
http://www.uq.edu.au/news/article/2009/05/new-management-treatment-diabetic-dogs-and-cats
There are others on the yellow starred sticky for Tight Regulation Protocol at the top of this forum.
that's my 2 cents worth! if i were you, i'd either stop sending the vet his ss and follow the TR protocol, stop asking him about dosing advice, or tell him that you're committed to following the dosing protocol of the Tight Regulation Protocol, because that's what is best for Max.