2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 +13 128 +2 90 +4 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member Since 2010
Hello Everyone,
SO last night Dillan hit into the greens for the first time. I know these numbers are good but we are unsure of what the diet change has fully done to Dillan's numbers yet. I'm wondering if we should decrease the dose to 0.5 and then we can always increase it after he has stabilized on his new diet? Also a new thing that has been recently happening just since last night is that Dillan's ears are harder to get blood from. I don't know why this is but it is becoming harder. I warm his ear with the rice sock, put Vaseline on his ear and then I poke and get my sample. Thanks everyone. I'm waiting on the shot to see what someone thinks about my dose change.

Ronnie I did get a number last night +6 was 74

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5337
 
BUMP DOSE Q

:RAHCAT

I'll tell one thing - the diet change has done WONDERS for his numbers!! :mrgreen:

If u can get a good bunch of spotchecks in this cycle that would be awesome!
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

Yeah I'll be getting some tests today, with his numbers being the way they have been I should probably do +2 tests but his drops are worrying me just because the last diet change affected his numbers twice in two different drops I think. Plus last night he was at around 250 and dropped down to 68 in a couple of hours. So because of these reasons I wonder if I should drop his dose.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

are you home today to monitor? Do you have high carb wet food on hand in case it is needed later to guide the cycle?

Personally I would hold this dose and do some testing today, to see if he earns the dose reduction. I would hate to see Dillan lose momentum right now. That's just my opinion, and it is based on whether you can test today or not.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

Yes I'll be able to test today and I do have a can of Friskies meat chunks and gravy. Its just his numbers are so low right now I'm unsure if the diet has really fully changed his numbers yet and last night was just a mid way change.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

You'll prob know soon enough :mrgreen:
Post your updates as u get them for feedback
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

shoot whatever makes you comfortable, that's just my suggestion but you need to do what works for you. :smile:
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

Hi,
those numbers last night don't quite qualify for a dosecrease, although your rightly point out you've changed his food (no dry now).

You haven't got a great deal of data yet, so if your more comfortable shooting a lower dose, go with .5u.

If you get higher numbers through the day, you can look at increasing again tonight.Not normal to dose hop, but can see you have a dramatic number change (albeit only 1 number)

Alternatively, you could go with .75u if your home to monitor and confident to intervene with HC if necessary.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

I think I will do the .75u and I know he didn't qualify for a dose change but his numbers changed quite a bit last night and I just don't think we've seen the full change due to the diet. But everything should become clear by tonight.

Thanks for the advice everyone and I will have the next test in 1.5 hours. Should I just let him free feed on the food that he has left after the morning?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 *Dose Advice* Waiting to do shot

It seems like you picked the compromise position!! It's important to understand the protocol but you also need to be comfortable with the dose you're shooting. Right now, it's hard to know what the "best" option may be since you're still collecting data. I would suggest making sure you get checks early in the cycle -- definitely a +2 -- and then decide from there when to test next.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167

Yeah I picked the alternative. I know he didn't really earn the change and I do not want to affect his progress just because I want to drop it. So the small change should be able to tell me after today if it was right or not. Has anybody else ever started to run into problems with getting blood from the ears after a little while?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167

I suspect that every so often even the long time users have trouble getting a test - that's the case for me with Gabby. On the whole, it gets better and their ears bleed more easily.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106

Dillan's new number is looking good. I will do another test in 2 hours.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106

if that was ur +2 that is very good, if it's not too late a +3 would be really neat to see! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +5 79

Sorry Ronnie I didn't see your post or I would have gotten one for you. His numbers are still looking good :-D I meant to get a +4 but I fell asleep ohmygod_smile thank god nothing happened.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +5 79

Thanks Ronnie, I'm thinking that I might have been wrong with the decreased dose because his tests today would be based on his dose yesterday. But I guess we will see.

Also a strange thing is that Dillan didn't eat his treat that we gave him after his test, but his number is good :?:
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +5 79

Actually, I think your gut was good on the decrease.. looking good! You might see some bounce, but don't be too quick to re-increase. Give at least 6 cycles at this dose okay?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +5 79

Yes for sure Carolyn, I will stick with the dose until it shows one way or the other where his numbers are going.

I just wanna say again how thankful I am for all of you in LL. Its nice having everyone here for reassurance on things that I'm doing. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72

Well I think DIllan is surfing right now with some nice greens :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67

He's still dropping/surfing, I thought he would have been starting to go up by now. I have to go out for a few hours should I feed him a teaspoon of LC? Or should he be safe because there is still some room to move and he is pretty much surfing?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67 *Advice Please*

we usually do give a snack before the +10 mark, so yes, LC is fine here in my opinion....after that u dont want to give food - or u will see a food spike in PMPS usually.

will be around for a preshot number before tonights dose?


nice + 8 by the way - very very good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67 *Advice Please*

Yeah I will for sure be back for the PMPS and I'll be around tonight to do testing, I'm expecting some low low numbers tonight. Ok I will give him some LC right now. Thanks for the advice Ronnie
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67

If he's a late nadir kitty, he's not going to come up yet.. hopefully there will be an obvious upswing by +12 so you can shoot without thinking about it. Great data collection!
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67

yeah for sure. Are you going to be available tonight to be on here Carolyn for I can get advice from you about to shoot or not I should have my test result in around 3 hours for the PMPS.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67

there should be someone here later Mike - just post ur PMPS when u get it and we go from there! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +2 106 +4 79 +6 72 +8 67

Yup lots of people will be here and Ronnie is very good about making sure we all know something is going on -- plus she's pretty good at this stuff too. :smile: I'm watching another condo right now so I'll try to keep an eye on yours too. No advance advice for ya, can't say anything until we see where he goes and when. Just looks so pretty though!
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

Hello Everyone,
SO I got a 117 as a PMPS, should I be shooting the normal 0.75 dose here? It was hard to get the PMPS test done Dillan isn't co-operating very much tonight cat(2)_steam must be getting annoyed with the ear pokes
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

Hey Mike.. what a beautiful cycle. You are nowhere near data ready to shoot this number though. How many hours are you going to be up? Do you have high carb canned in the house? If you have hours of awake time and HC canned, you might try it, or even a reduced dose of .5u.

If not, perhaps we could get a concensus of ideas as to what, if anything, to shoot.. the way I'm seeing things, the removal of dry food has really changed the entire playing field and we might be better off reducing again and bumping up if/as needed?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

I agree Carolyn I think if we shoot this number it could definitely bring him down into the 40's. I do have HC canned food and I can be up as needed. But do you think that its better to do a reduced dose instead of bringing him down to these numbers?

I think that Dillan's diabetes could definitely been brought about from his CD food which was 38% carbs and now that we have a total diet change maybe he will be regulated? Have you seen this before on the forum?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

Dillan420 said:
I agree Carolyn I think if we shoot this number it could definitely bring him down into the 40's. I do have HC canned food and I can be up as needed. But do you think that its better to do a reduced dose instead of bringing him down to these numbers?

I think that Dillan's diabetes could definitely been brought about from his CD food which was 38% carbs and now that we have a total diet change maybe he will be regulated? Have you seen this before on the forum?

I've seen it hundreds of times. He's an absolute candidate for regulation, however I think he's headed for diet-controlled. No need to rush it IMO. I do not like this cycle on a reduced dose with a drained meant to say questionably filled shed. Don't get me wrong, it's absolutely a dream cycle, it's just that we don't have any data to support shooting the newly lowered full dose at such a low preshot. I am concerned that you will be up all night feeding HC every 15 minutes. I am waiting to see what the others have to say about this but I am really leaning towards reducing the dose again.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

it is really a nice number, under 120 is very good, that with the wet food diet of low carb, really helps.

its up to u - if ur willing to stay up for spotchecks, may be as late as +6 so u know.


Carolyn gave u good options.


if u go with the reduced dose, u should grab a +1 for sure and be prepared with the LC, MC and HC foods

if u skip it, grab a couple of tests to see where he goes.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

Ok I will just wait for you to get back to me. I agree with you that if we shoot this number then maybe it should be 0.5 or 0.25.

Its possible that it will be past +8 I think just because of his AM cycle

Is 0.25 a dose that I should even consider?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

how much time have u lost since u took the 117 test? has Dillan eaten since?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

45 minutes, I would think that his number is going up just by looking at his +8
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

he has licked the fork, but other then that he hasn't had anything. We usually give him his insulin when we feed him
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

has he eaten since the 117? and if so how much?



can u retest him now?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

question, when the weekend ends will you be back to not being able to monitor as often?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

New test 128. He did lick the fork but he shouldn't have had more then a quarter teaspoon if that.

I won't be able to test during the day until probably a +9 or so, during the weekdays and a +4 for the PM shots. With the odd test that the GF might be able to get
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

Jill, its been just over an hour now since the 117


Mike, when u update please hit REPLY, ur thread doesn't BUMP if u just EDIT to ADD ok?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 +1PMPS 128*Advice Please*

Yep, I try to write something everytime anyways
 
clarification

+12 PMPS was 117 stalling now past an hour

+13 was 128 Mike because there is no shot yet - u say +13 and so on okeydokey?

What do u feel comfortable doing?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 *Advice Please*

I like that he's gently going up. I think that warrants a minimum of .5u and perhaps the whole .75u. If you've got BOS, and you're interested in data collection, go for it. I don't want to see you go backwards. These are the rules I play by when advising and treating my own:
1. Do no harm
2. If you're gonna be home and awake do it or you'll never know where you need to be

Treating diabetes is all about data collection.
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 +13 128 *Advice Please*

what does BOS mean? I'm guessing I probably do not have it if I don't know what it means. Is there a real benefit by dropping him down to 40 instead of 70?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 +13 128 *Advice Please*

I think I'll do the 0.5 shot. I don't want to get rid of all of advancements we have made, so I think this will be the best, or at least better then no shot.

Should I do a +1 or a +2? Also what do I do in the morning now that I'm an hour behind?
 
Re: 2/6 Dillan AMPS 167 +8 67 PMPS 117 +13 128 *Advice Please*

shooting 0.5u is fine. since this is the lowest number you've shot, you'll want to get a +1 for starters, k?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top