2/6 DC +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13=79 +13.5=91 NO SHOT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC seems to be finally clearing the bounce. A nice low yellow is much nicer to see than the reds and pinks.
He is having a good day. Eating well and playful.
All P's in place.
Starting tonight, I am going to try to move DC's shot time back by 15 minutes per shot to get him back on a more normal schedule.
This schedule is going to do me in if I keep it up. It exhausting. I'm hoping by next weekend to have him @ 10am & pm.

yesterdays condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36091
 
Re: 2/6 DC AMPS=202 +2=178 +6=106

DC has finally cleared the bounce.
He's almost green. I sure don't like the red.
I will try and get a +6 tonight. It means I have to set the alarm for 4 hours after I go to bed.
But I need to know what's happening with his BG during the night.
 
Re: 2/6 DC AMPS=202 +2=178 +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 HELP

Should I shoot or wait. It's time for DC's shot and his BG is 85.
With the way his BG has been lately, I don't know what I should do.
 
Re: 2/6 DC AMPS=202 +2=178 +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 HEL

DC's BG is still dropping. I don't feel comfortable shooting this low when he might be going low during the night.
He's sitting at the food bowl crying right now.
Should I feed him and skip the shot?
Or should I wait longer to feed and retest to see where his numbers are going?
It's now 40 minutes past shot time.
 
Re: 2/6 DC AMPS=202 +2=178 +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13

DC's BG is staying the same.
He's been sitting at the food bowl crying for over an hour now.
I think I will wait 15 more minutes and do 1 more BG test and then I'll have to decide what to do.
At this point, I will either skip the shot and get up early and shoot around 8:30 which is 4 hours early (8 hours late).
Then at least he'll be back on a normal schedule.
Or if the BG goes up a fair bit then I'll give him his shot.
I don't want to wait to much longer to feed him though. It's heartbreaking listening to him cry for food.
 
Re: 2/6 DC +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13=79 +13.5=91 NO

I fed DC @ +13.5. His BG had come up a bit.
It's too hard to be on a 2:15 shot time.
I will get up early and shoot around 8:30 and then we'll be back on track on a normal schedule.
Hopefully it won't mess up the shed too much.
I have no idea what happens when a shot is skipped since I haven't missed one since he's been on Lantus.
At least when I'm on a normal shot time, it's easier to get feedback when I need it.
It's too hard to get advice at 1am PST.
 
Re: 2/6 DC +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13=79 +13.5=91 NO

A skipped or late shot is the equivalent of a DEcrease & you will likely see the #s creep up here in a few hours. Skipped shots are discouraged because Lantus works best with consistency but you have to do with what works best for you if you cannot slowly move the shot time in 15-30min increments.
 
Re: 2/6 DC +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13=79 +13.5=91 NO

Sorry you did not get any advice last night but unfortunately most people are asleep at your shot time.
 
Re: 2/6 DC +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13=79 +13.5=91 NO

Your post caught my eye since I skipped Gandolf's shot last night due to low numbers. Just wanted to say Thanks FOR posting cause it's a big encouragement right now as I check in early for guidance.

Hope things go well for you.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/6 DC +6=106 +8=113 +12=85 +12.5=79 +13=79 +13.5=91 NO

A late shot is like a decrease - you're giving insulin, just giving it into the overlap period. A skipped shot is a skipped shot since you're not giving any insulin and it has a bigger impact with regard to depleting the shed. Most of us have been there either due to a low pre-shot or a fur shot. The good news is it does allow you to get your schedule back to where you want it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top