2/6 Davidson surfing PMPS 127 +3 105 +8 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterdays Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113206

looks like Davidson is still surfing this morning in the GREEN waters of Lake Erie.............

QUESTION: Do I still shoot if he is still in these numbers - I would think so as he is not under 50 yet and he gets the shot at 09:30am.

THANKS to those who stayed up during my PJ party. aamzing what's on TV at those times. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

I need some HELP ASAP..........I am wanting to know if I give Davidson the shot in an hour?? I am here all day, but at 10:00 I have a conference call for over an hour that I cannot miss.

PLEASE ADVISE IF I SHOULD GIVE THE SHOT, knowing he will start to drop at +2 or later and wondering after surfing all night if it is still recommended. YES - I have syrup, test strips, etc but may not be able to be with him while on my phone call so wondering what to do.

UPDATE: +11 131 Okay, I will be okay to shoot as he is moving up and done with surfing for the day................I will monitor him closely as I did yesterday

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

Hi Shawna,
I think it is safe to give the shot this morning. I'm not good at making the conversion from World to US, but judging from your spreadsheet, those numbers are shootable. As long as you are going to be home to monitor, I think you should go ahead. Be sure to get a +1 and +2 to get an idea of where he might be heading. If the number at +2 is about the same as AMPS or lower, it may be an active cycle and you should be sure to monitor.

I won't be around after 10 A.M., but there will be lots of folks on the board by that time to give you guidance.

Have a good, green, day!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Happy Sweater Day!
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

I agree with Ella. He may have already risen some more since the PMPS +11 test that you took. I'm glad you'll be home to monitor him. It seems like you're having a good run of the green #s these past few days. Good job!
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

THANKS! I'm pretty good at judging the SS and at times there are certainly anxieties building when treading in new territory.

Today is C10 from when he first hit 100 or under. Looking at his SS I would think keep the same dose and ONLY decrease if he reaches <50 or stays <130 for a week.

I'll try to get a +1 but on an overseas conference call that I cannot get out of, and will test as soon as I can - or maybe if I am luck can do it while on the phone.........I can multi task well.

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

Sounds good. And I agree that you should stick to the protocol with regard to when to lower Davidson's dose.

Have a great day,

Ella
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

Hoping you'll be able to get those +1 and +2 tests. Those are the good indicators of what type of day you may be facing.
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

AMPS 136

Will monitor closely, but no guarantee to get the +1 due to urgent conference call...........for sure +2 and possibily +1.5........however, if I see duress in Davidson at the +1 then I will absolutely put the phone down

Thanks again,

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

I'm back now for the day.........although never really left the building (Elvis did that)

+2 119

Dropping slowly and will see another drop at +4 I am sure

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

Good Morning ~O) ~O) :cool:

Well would ya look at Davidson - he is still rockin' this dose ! \M/ \M/ \M/
Two consecutive cycles of nothing but blues and greens! Another milestone! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

GECKO said:
UPDATE: +11 131 Okay, I will be okay to shoot as he is moving up and done with surfing for the day................I will monitor him closely as I did yesterday
Good job!

GECKO said:
Will monitor closely, but no guarantee to get the +1 due to urgent conference call...........for sure +2 and possibily +1.5........however, if I see duress in Davidson at the +1 then I will absolutely put the phone down
This was his lowest AMPS to date :-D , however not his lowest PS ever. You have assembled an excellent SS full of data to guide you. You can see by Davidsons SS he does not appear to be prone to deep dives early on - the data you have collected so far supports that. It is highly unlikely that he would have gone from 136 to 40 in 2 hours. So on a day like today skipping the +1, knowing you can get a +2 is OK. On the outside chance that he did drop like a rock, you were prepared to take corrective action at +2. This is an example of how to use the data you collect on the SS. It gives a level of confidence for decision making and planning a strategy when you are faced with the unexpected.

GECKO said:
Today is C10 from when he first hit 100 or under. Looking at his SS I would think keep the same dose and ONLY decrease if he reaches <50 or stays <130 for a week.
True, according to protocol for a newly diagnosed (<1yr) kitty, a dip under 50 signals it's time to reduce. That should be uppermost in your mind at this stage.
Down the road the time may come when his BG is maintaining at normal levels - 120 or less - but that's a different phase in the journey :cool:

Let's see if Davidson has his surf board at the ready today. . .

Oh, please post numbers in mg/dl - it makes it so much easier for those of us in the US to quickly size up the situation - thanks!
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

oh oh ..........did I not post in US numbers.........forgot again, damn ADHD haha............

UPDATE - yes, I saw the thread topic and it was in World numbers,,,,,,,,,sorry..........changed now and must be cuz it was the middle of the night and no sleep.

AMPS 136
+2 119
+4 88

It appears Davidson is quite the Californian Dude who prefers to surf all day rather then snowshoe..............

He's doing well

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing AMPS 136 +2 119 +4 88

Thanks for converting the numbers :cool:

GECKO said:
He's doing well
From where I'm sitting, he is doing remarkably well!

As Angela pointed out - it is a team effort - You and Davidson :cool:

Looks like another trip to the beach today . . . . :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing AMPS 136 +2 119 +4 88 +6 89

That's some wave Davidson is surfing on............

+6 89

Seems to be duplicating yesterdays numbers.

Rgds

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing AMPS 136 +2 119 +4 88 +6 89

Nice surf for Davidson! What a beautiful slide :mrgreen: Have a great rest of your day! :-D
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing NEED HELP +6 4.7 +9.5 5.1

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Good Morning ~O) ~O) :cool:

GECKO said:
Will monitor closely, but no guarantee to get the +1 due to urgent conference call...........for sure +2 and possibily +1.5........however, if I see duress in Davidson at the +1 then I will absolutely put the phone down
This was his lowest AMPS to date :-D , however not his lowest PS ever. You have assembled an excellent SS full of data to guide you. You can see by Davidsons SS he does not appear to be prone to deep dives early on - the data you have collected so far supports that. It is highly unlikely that he would have gone from 136 to 40 in 2 hours. So on a day like today skipping the +1, knowing you can get a +2 is OK. On the outside chance that he did drop like a rock, you were prepared to take corrective action at +2. This is an example of how to use the data you collect on the SS. It gives a level of confidence for decision making and planning a strategy when you are faced with the unexpected.

i just want to reaffirm this part that Sandy said - one of the huge benefits of having a spreadsheet is that you can learn over time how Davidson's body reacts in different situations. She's just explained it so well that i wanted to highlight it.

great job today - remember that we don't normally base dosing decisions on the preshot (unless it's very low and you don't have data to support shooting low yet, or are going to be unable to monitor) but on the nadir. by holding the dose, you're getting these awesome healing surfs. this is great for his pancreas. As he settles into this dose, his needs may diminish - and you'll see that when he goes below 50, and then you'll reduce the dose by 0.25u. in the meantime - enjoy having these super numbers. everyone here would love to have Davidson's cycles from the past day or so.

:mrgreen: Mr Greenie always appreciates being invited out to show his stuff when the kitties are in his range! go Davidson!!
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +2 119 +4 88 +6 89 +8 93

THANKS everyone.........

I'm so new to this that although I read various condos and look at the SS's it's hard to tell just how good Davidson is doing since we cannot compare our kitties since ECID (I'm catching onto the lingo). I also keep an Excel spreadsheet and with this one and mine it's easy to see a bit of a pattern and I can almost predict where he will be next test. I'm now testing every 2 hrs and he actually loves it since he knows he gets treats, so jumps up when called.

FYI - +10 6.5 so still in the blues which is what we want.

The only problem I have is Harley - he is a bit upset that I'm spending part of their inheritance on Davidson's diabetes supplies and he's not getting anything. I assured him that if I happen to go before them that I would make sure that Harley got a bit extra since Davidson had some pre-spending while he was dealing with his FD. All good now and all it takes when I get the look is a few extra treats thrown Harley's way and he's happy. ;-)

It's not an inconvenience to do all the testing and as long as I know YOU WILL ALL steer me in the right direction then that is all that matters.

Oh, my Vet is VERY happy with the progress and I should say that the other day he did not tell me to reduce the dose, merely suggested that I could if I wanted to. He is fully aware that everyone here has all our kitties in mind and that I am getting some VERY good advice, education and assurance that things are going well.

So, thanks again and I'm hoping Davidson stays this way for a while and doesn't take a turn and start increasing. Perhaps we found the DX fast enough before it did any damage........

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +4 88 +6 89 +8 93 +10 117

I have just been looking up some articles for Elise/Max and referred her to Davidson's ss the past 2 days. Davidson is just where we hope for! Newly diagnosed cats have the best chance at going OTJ (off the juice) but we have had cats as long as 2 years post-diagnosis go off.

Tonight as long as he's over 50, and you can monitor, go ahead and shoot the same dose. at some point he's going to go below 50 and get that reduction, but in the meantime, yes, he's doing super!
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +4 88 +6 89 +8 93 +10 117

WOW, What a beautiful day of surfing for Davidson, I think you're doing magnificent and absorbing it all in very well. I have to say that owning a 2006 HD softail myself, that I could not help but get a tickle at your kitties names.. Priceless :-D
Keep up the gorgeous numbers Davidson :mrgreen:
Harley, don't you worry, mommy hasn't forgotten about you, I'm sure she loves you just as much!
Have a great evening Shawna and thank you for visiting today ;-)
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +4 88 +6 89 +8 93 +10 117

julie & punkin (ga) said:
everyone here would love to have Davidson's cycles from the past day or so.
This is indeed quite wonderful :cool:

It's true, ECID and everyone has a different journey.

Although on his way to the falls BK passed through the neighborhood where Davidson is currently hanging out, he took the long and winding road.
It was 6 months before he saw a green number, 10 months before we saw 2 consecutive cycles of only blues & greens and 11 months before he had his first taste of HC (and it wasn't on 2.75u)

I would have given my eye-teeth for a 3 cycle long, beautiful gently rolling wave of blues & greens when we were 3 weeks into the dance. . ..
I would not wish the long and winding road for anyone-

We all hope every kitty can take the shortest route possible to regulation.

Go team Davidson ! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +8 93 +10 117 PMPS 127

Thanks Sandy and everyone for their well wishes. I'm too new to have known how well Davidson is doing as it's all foreign to me, but with the help of everyone watching over us I now begin to see that Davidson is really doing well on the insulin and for what ever reason it is certainly working well with his body.

Tonight's PMPS was 127 and the start of Cycle 11...........not sure if we go back and start Cycle 1 again or if we just keep counting?? I know we are not increasing the dose, and will have to wait until he hits <50 to start the decrease - or as Wendy said if he goes a week in the greens/blues then we decrease .25. Well, he's almost halfway there and no doubt you will guide us along the way.

Next test is at + 3 and then +8 unless you think he needs something different. Judging by his SS he will drop in a few hrs and then slowly rise up again.

If I could pass on Davidson's secrets of working with the juice, I certainly wood so that all of your kitties can experience the same results.

Shawna
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +8 93 +10 117 PMPS 127

probably one of the secrets of Davidson doing well is that he likely doesn't have a concurrent condition. many kitties are more difficult to get regulated if they have pancreatitis, hyperthyroid, dental infections, blah blah. it's not uncommon for a kitty to have something else as well. Look at people's signature lines and you can see what else their kitties are dealing with.

There's a ? icon on your post - i wasn't sure if there's a new question or if that's leftover from earlier. If you don't have a particular question, you might remove the ? post icon.
 
Re: 2/6 Davidson surfing +8 93 +10 117 PMPS 127

GECKO said:
Tonight's PMPS was 127 and the start of Cycle 11...........not sure if we go back and start Cycle 1 again or if we just keep counting??
At this point just go with the flow and watch for the next signal from Davidson. This is a great place for him to hang out - in 'the healing numbers zone' :cool:
GECKO said:
Haha..........I have an 08 Street Glide and named them after the HD.
When I was a kid, my father had a full dresser he purchased in the 40's or 50's - the style that had a 'suicide shifter'. Good times.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top