2/6 Chi Chi AMPS 316+5 191 PMPS 309 back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...51-5-5-135-9-125-pmps-166-2-298-3-229.132621/

Good morning! I found a couple of vomit puddles this morning. It was just a little clear liquid. Chi Chi was the closest to it but not sure it was her. At first she wouldnt eat, but I put a little food on my finger and she licked it off, then proceeded to clean her plate. One of the civies however, didnt eat her food, so maybe it was her that vomited. At least Chi Chi ate and I gave her shot, so I will leave mom a note to watch them today. Im off to work, and then taking off Saturday too. Have a great day everyone!
 
Hi Laura,
Good to hear that Chi Chi decided to eat. Rusty likes to have the bowl held for him!

Have a good day at work.
Vines for the vomiter, whoever it is!

Ella & Rusty
 
So..I had to leave work and come home because Chi Chi was hiding under the bed and mom couldnt get her out to test all morning. She tried treats, and food..nothing.Being there was vomit this am, and her initial reluctance to eat, I was worried. I had to pull her out and she wasnt happy..growled at me. I put her on the bed and mom said she thought she saw her limping on her leg that she always limps on anyway, but said it looked like the limp was more pronounced. I got her to eat some tuna fish, and when I tried to examine the leg, she gave a fit, and growled again. I got a test and she was 191, which is a bit high, so perhaps she is in some pain. I eventually was able to pick her up gently and bring her to my room and she is on my bed now. She ate some fancy feast and is sleeping at the moment. Im thinking maybe she jumped off of somewhere and hurt her bad leg again(its an old injury and has limped for years). Im trying to decide what to do. I can stay home if I need to, but not sure if there is anything I can do, besides take her to the vet. Im not even sure what they would do if anything, but examine and do test? And, it doesnt seem that its anything related to food/tummy issue, since she is eating well. Hmmmm.....whats a mother to do?
 
Laura, I have to leave for an appt quickly here, but I just have to say that awhile back I stepped on Tiger's paw- I got her into the vet an hour later. They were able to give her bupe right away and do a damage check. Was it necessary for me to panic like that, maybe not, but it sure put my mind at ease that she was xrayed and treated and not in any pain. Hope Chi Chi feels better soon.
 
She got up and tried to walk and took a step or two and all of a sudden just fell back and yowled fiercly with her paw up in the air and was just looking at her paw.....omg..I called the vet and I can take her in, but if she needs xray, she has to be scheduled to be sedated, which means fasting..ugh
 
I am going to take her in and at least get her something for pain. I guess we will see what the Dr. says. I will update when I know something..my poor baby..the look on her face from the pain..and the yowl just disturbed me alot..:(
 
They have to anesthetize her for an X-ray? I hope they can give her some pain meds and she will feel better. I think you are smart by getting her in, Laura. Sending healing vines.
 
Thats what I was wondering too Marje. I mean..if it is broken, then what? do they put a cast on a paw? And Im wondering why they cant just sedate without putting her out..
 
She has not moved an inch from where she was when she yowled and laid down. So, I dont think she will try and move at all. Im gonna sit her down in the carrier from the top.
 
Sending good thoughts and vines for Chi Chi. I hope they'll be able to do an x ray without anesthesia--maybe with just a mild sedative. Poor kitty. Good luck at the vet's. It's good that they can see you right away, since we're heading into the weekend.

:bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
Max has never needed to be sedated for an x-ray either. I'm hoping that will be the case with ChiChi. Maybe she sprained her leg trying to jump. I hope that is all and she gets some bupe for pain. Vines.
 
Sending tons of good vetty vines. for Chi Chi. These are for you Laura. :bighug::bighug: Even my feisty stranger hating Buster (GA) never needed anesthesia for X-rays.
 
Just got home! She didnt need x-rays after all. Dr palpated the entire leg and was fine but then Chi Chi cried out when she got to the metacarpals(fingers), and when she put her down on the floor to see how she walked, she did fine and didnt seem in pain or bothered(she has limped for years). She gave me Onsior? for inflammation, once a day for 3 days. She felt that she didnt need narcotic. Then she checked her ears and saw alot of debris and did a culture and said she had alot of bacteria and yeast infection, so I got ear drops for that. Her nails were very long, so she trimmed them, and said that she couldve got her claws caught in the bed slats when I pulled her out today(she actually did) so that might be what happened. I dont know though, because she was hiding all morning under the bed before that, due to something. So she is home and seems ok, but she is hiding again under a small table in the living room. I gave her one of the pills already(wrapped in cheese). Im keeping my eyes on her for sure! Im off tomorrow as well, so I will be updating with any news. Thanks so much everyone for the vines and nice comments, it means alot!:)
 
Good news but quite the traumatic day for Chi Chi so it's not surprising she feels like hiding. Sending more vines for a quick recovery
 
I'm so glad the vet didn't find anything seriously wrong. I wouldn't be at all surprised if the problem is just what she said. Maybe the infection in her ears was making her feel poorly, and that's why she was hiding.

Sending lots of healing vines for her and :bighug: for you!
 
Sending more prayers for Chi Chi. I am glad that it wasn't anything serious. It is tough when they can't talk and we try to figure it out.
 
Thanks Tricia! I guess we'll just really never know..I do know her paw was definitely hurting after I pulled her from under the bed, and she yowled in pain. that got me! I thought I might have to skip her shot tonight, as she was way under the bed again, but as I was typing this, she came out as mom was getting ready to feed the clan. I just tested her and she was 309. She ate and is doing ok.
 
I'm so glad that it's nothing serious. Maybe treating the ears will help her BG as an extra bonus. These cats sure like to drive us crazy. I hope she's feeling great tomorrow so that tou can enjoy your day off!
 
Thanks Elise! I know..she has been rubbing her left ear for a long while now..I think I noted in her notes on her ss..and the doc said left ear was worse. I just thought it was the pokies bothering her, as I only noticed her rubbing before I tested and sometimes after. I have tried to keep her ears cleaned as best I could, but there was quite a bit of stuff she got out today..yuk!:eek: The ointment/drops I got is called Entederm. 4-5 drops each ear for 10 days, but only starting after she is finished with the Onsior for 3 days. The Dr.(not her regular) was also impressed with how much I test and monitor her. We talked a little about FD. I liked her alot:)
 
It sounds like a "good" vetty visit (always a relative term!). I'm glad it doesn't seem like anything serious, but I know how this sort of thing rattles your nerves! We're still sending prayers that whatever went on today is a thing of the past.
 
Whew! So glad everything's working out without too much trouble. Probably a good thing she saw the vet to get the ear cleaning and meds. Might, in time, help her feel better and bring her numbers down.

Just whew!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Unless directed not to do so, you may find cleaning the ears easiest if you take a cotton ball per ear, saturate it with a pet appropriate ear cleaner, and for each ear, insert the cotton ball into the ear, massage the ear from the outside, then remove. This helps the cleanser get to all the nooks and crannies. Then, you take a fresh tissue or cloth and gently wipe out the moisture and goop.
 
Thanks for that tip BJM..!! I will do that! Well, no test for +pmps tonight. She is under moms bed again, and I aint gonna drag her out..that would be too stressful, and may hurt her. I just gave her some ff , which she ate it all,and hopefully all will be better tomorrow. Paws crossed..and thanks again everyone!
 
One of the components of Entederm is a corticosteroid. There have been recent studies which show that topical steroids can affect blood glucose. In fact, it was a topical steroidal eye drop that pushed Gracie "over the edge" to become diabetic. Don't be surprised if Chichi's BG goes up. Hopefully it won't....ECID...but it might.

Do you know if her kidney values are all normal? NSAIDs are not recommended for cats with any kidney or liver impairment.

I hope she's feeling better tomorrow. Sending many vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top