2/6 Baby AMPS 67+1 77+2 50+2.5 50+3 43...+7 83 +8 124 PMPS 212+3 232 +6 146 +9 50 +9.5 58 +11 76

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Yesterday
Good morning,
Baby has been green since at least +5 yesterday and is at 65 this morning. I am trying to move up her shot time by 30 minutes again, so maybe that's affecting her BGs?

Am I right to stall and not feed and retest? I don't need to move her time if she's this low, so I could recheck 30 later and keep her time from yesterday. What's the lowest PS number I can safely shot at? I'm unclear at this point what her nadir time is so I'm still unsure about making the hard choices :/
 
Last edited:
Good morning,
Baby has been green since at least +5 yesterday and is at 65 this morning. I am trying to move up her shot time by 30 minutes again, so maybe that's affecting her BGs?

Am I right to stall and not feed and retest? I don't need to move her time if she's this low, so I could recheck 30 later and keep her time from yesterday. What's the lowest PS number I can safely shot at? I'm unclear at this point what her nadir time is so I'm still unsure about making the hard choices :/

I'm not a moderator, but wondering if there's a typo in the AMPS at 365.... do you mean AMPS is 65?

I know it's unnerving to shoot when low. I don't have the sticky URL copied to paste to help guide you. Definitely don't feed yet until you know which direction you are going as it will artificially increase Baby's BG.

@Bandit's Mom
 
I'm not a moderator, but wondering if there's a typo in the AMPS at 365.... do you mean AMPS is 65?

I know it's unnerving to shoot when low. I don't have the sticky URL copied to paste to help guide you. Definitely don't feed yet until you know which direction you are going as it will artificially increase Baby's BG.

@Bandit's Mom
Thank you, good catch! I've changed it now.
I haven't feed yet. I'll test again in a few minutes.
 
I'm adding your post from yesterday:
2/5 Baby AMPS 268, +3 212, +5.5 79, +6.5 88, +7.5 95, +9 108, PMPS 149, +3 106, +5 58, +6 56, +8 58
You should read this sticky if you did not yet: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
Test her again soon to see which direction her numers are going. And as Leo said, make sure you are able to test today and have everything you need in case she goes low, before you decide to shoot.
I hope a more experienced member sees your thread, I will tag some people.
@tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Did you have a condo yesterday to share the link here? Include it in each daily condo. Like the SS, it helps to see what happened yesterday. :cat:
Oops! I've added that to today's original post, thank you! Trying to get her shot time moved as I start work (from home) right at the time she needs to be tested, fed and given her AM shot, so trying to do too many things at once!! Oh Mondays :/ lol
 
I'm adding your post from yesterday:
2/5 Baby AMPS 268, +3 212, +5.5 79, +6.5 88, +7.5 95, +9 108, PMPS 149, +3 106, +5 58, +6 56, +8 58
You should read this sticky if you did not yet: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
Test her again soon to see which direction her numers are going. And as Emily said, make sure you are able to test today and have everything you need in case she goes low, before you decide to shoot.
I hope a more experienced member sees your thread, I will tag some people.
@tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy
She's gone up 2 points, so at least she's going up! I work from home today so I can test. Any suggestions on when to do her tests to keep her safe? I'm unclear on her trends yet in her cycle as we are new.
 
I think you should leave the first number (65) and then add the next ones with +12.5, +13, so we can see how she goes, rather than changing it with just AMPS, if that makes sense?
You should test at least at +2, if you shoot so low I would test earlier too, maybe +1. The onset is sometimes later, with Bella it's not until +3 or even +4, so you also want to be sure you can test until she starts going up again.
You can also shoot a smaller dose.
And feed her at +1, +2, +4, smaller amounts more often, so she does not "crash".
I think it would be good to wait until a more experienced member answers you :-)
 
I think you should leave the first number (65) and then add the next ones with +12.5, +13, so we can see how she goes, rather than changing it with just AMPS, if that makes sense?
Yes, this makes sense, I have changed it, thank you!
You should test at least at +2, if you shoot so low I would test earlier too, maybe +1. The onset is sometimes later, with Bella it's not until +3 or even +4, so you also want to be sure you can test until she starts going up again.
Ok, I will test at +1 as this is the lowest I've ever had prior to giving her shot.
You can also shoot a smaller dose.
I did her normal amount, I hope that's ok! I am home so I will be here if she goes low...
And feed her at +1, +2, +4, smaller amounts more often, so she does not "crash".
I think it would be good to wait until a more experienced member answers you :)
I will give her snacks at those times, thank you! I went ahead with the dose as she was higher than 50, which the link about Low Numbers said to go ahead... I hope that was correct!
 
Sorry, I'm only just seeing this. Glad Joni and Cecile were around to help :-)

Congrats on shooting your very first green preshot (for Baby)! Here's you BoS award!

balls_of_steel.jpg


It's possible she might head up from here. Don't fill her up at breakfast. Feed some meals and since this is your very first green PS, start testing and feeding from +1 itself.
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 316
Sorry, I'm only just seeing this. Glad Joni and Cecile were around to help :)

Congrats on shooting your very first green preshot (for Baby)! Here's you BoS award!

View attachment 66320

It's possible she might head up from here. Don't fill her up at breakfast. Feed some meals and since this is your very first green PS, start testing and feeding from +1 itself.
No worries, we made it through and I'm also thankful for Joni and Cecile's advice/encouragement
HAHAHA Thank you! I needed that giggle right now!!! :D
She doesn't typically eat much at one sitting so she only ate a bit at her AMPS. I will give her a snack and test at +1.

Thank you!!
 
No worries, we made it through and I'm also thankful for Joni and Cecile's advice/encouragement
HAHAHA Thank you! I needed that giggle right now!!! :D
She doesn't typically eat much at one sitting so she only ate a bit at her AMPS. I will give her a snack and test at +1.

Thank you!!

It IS unnerving the first time to shoot low! Congrats for the BoS award! I received mine, 3/15, when Leo was at 64. I've even shot lower. Eeek. Staying prepared is everything to keep kitty safe.

Good job, Emily. ♡
 
Not much of a food bump at +1. Feed a little LC and let's see the +2.
What do you have in higher carbs? What carb%?
I have 12% and 13% for mid-level carbs and 23% for high level. I have a bunch of other kinds that I'm unsure of the carb content as I'm in Canada and they aren't listed on the Food Chart unfortunately...
She just had some LC, should I give her some mid or high?
 
She's down to 43 at +3. She ate a little bit of the LC food with honey but not much. Should I use straight honey or give more temptations?
Test again in 15, 20 or 30 minutes?
 
She's now at 45 at +3.33. I offered more LC with honey but she isn't interested. Test again in 20? Give anything else to eat?
 
She's at 43 at +4. My mom gave her some hamburger because I had to run out... I'm assuming that's a LC option? Should I be giving any syrup/honey?
 
It's almost 1 am for me, so I'm off to bed. Tagging @tiffmaxee to watch out for you. Just feed and test every 20-30 mins till she's comfortably over 50. She should start heading up soon. Her nadir seems to be around +5.
 
Hi Emily. I’m so glad you are over on the Lantus page now where there is more help. What a time you have had.
How are things going now?
Your new dose is 0.75 U
 
Hi Emily. I’m so glad you are over on the Lantus page now where there is more help. What a time you have had.
How are things going now?
Your new dose is 0.75 U
Me too! Yes, today was a very busy day!
Things are going better. I took Baby back to the vet this evening for another pain medication injection as the last one wore off and she seemed to have discomfort in her abdomen again.
So happy that she's responding so well to the insulin and gets a reduction! Worth all the stress and sleepless nights to know she's healing :D
Thanks to everyone for all your help today!
 
I see Baby is bouncing from all the greens. She doesn't look as if she bounces for long though.
looks like she is eating well.
Have you tested for ketones lately?
Yes, looks like just a little bounce? She's back in blues early this morning. She's not eating much this cycle, tried to give her the cerenia but she hates it and spit it out. It makes her drool a ton and she runs and hides. I'll try again in a bit. Negative for ketones, forgot to put that on her spreadsheet. Going to try for a bit more sleep.
 
Last edited:
Yes, looks like just a little bounce? She's back in blues early this morning. She's not eating much this cycle, tried to give her the cerenia but she hates it and spit it out. It makes her drool a ton and she runs and hides. I'll try again in a bit. Negative for ketones, forgot to put that on her spreadsheet. Going to try for a bit more sleep.
The cerenia is probably bitter. Can you put it into something so she cant taste it?
Great neg ketones!
Try and get her to eat a bit more.
 
The cerenia is probably bitter. Can you put it into something so she cant taste it?
Great neg ketones!
Try and get her to eat a bit more.
I will try again but she's eating right now so I think the bit she got helped.
She's down to 50! Giving LC with a little honey as I'm not sure how much she ate as I was asleep :/
 
I'm wondering if you want to go down in dose to 0.5U. While the numbers you are seeing this morning are still the higher 1U depot at play, it looks to me that she was living on Temptation treats (which are 40% carbs) till a couple of days back and still dropping to the 50s on the 1U dose. Considering how fast she cleared the bounce and the diet change (from Temptation to LC), I wonder if a larger reduction is in order.

Unfortunately @Bron and Sheba (GA) would be in bed by now and @Wendy&Neko will not yet be up. Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) will see the tag...
 
Back
Top