2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82, +1 55, +1.5 77, +3 58, +5 93, +11 226

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monica and Atticus (GA)

Member Since 2011
396 at AMPS. Poor Atticus.
Here's yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62894&p=681783
Yeah, I kinda wish I'd shot last night, but he'd never been that low at shot time and bf and I were really trying to leave the house for dinner for the first time all day. (I canceled a spa afternoon with my girlfriends yesterday to monitor him when he got down to 77.) I'd texted the vet last night; she'd wanted me to start with .5 u this morning, but I think I'm going to go with an even .75 instead. I'd been doing a "fat" .75 and calling it .85. I'm hoping that the .75 will be enough of a difference so that I can comfortably shoot twice a day. I really don't want to do the test every 30-minutes thing every evening, and that's what we have to do with the "fat" dose. Every now and then I can handle, but we can't do it every evening. I can't operate on 4-5 hours of sleep every night.
The vet thinks he may be starting to correct. I'm not counting my chickens yet.
I'll be able to come home today and lunch for a test.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396

It may not be chicken counting time, but Atticus is looking good these days. I hope the bounce is a short one.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396

Morning Monica and hope you and bf got out for that dinner. Atticus will break the bounce and with the dose sometimes you need to do what is comfortable plus taking care of yourself and getting enough sleep so that you can keep on caring for Atticus. I sound like I am rambling. Have a good Monday.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396

Monica and Atticus said:
I'm hoping that the .75 will be enough of a difference so that I can comfortably shoot twice a day. I really don't want to do the test every 30-minutes thing every evening, and that's what we have to do with the "fat" dose. Every now and then I can handle, but we can't do it every evening. I can't operate on 4-5 hours of sleep every night.

The vet thinks he may be starting to correct. I'm not counting my chickens yet.
I'll be able to come home today and lunch for a test.


Oh I do understand the not wanting to poke every 30 minutes and not getting sleep. Many here in LL can empathize.

It is the trade-off though for using TR and working to getting your kitty "off the juice." So many beans won't even attempt testing...let alone TR. I do think every cat should get a shot at OTJ, before deciding that regulation is the only answer.

That said, You and Atticus are doing awesome and while it is a daily challenge at times, it proves out to be so worth the effort for many new diabetic cats. Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396

Hi guys .. ok atticus, down from the pink floor please! I have to agree with Beth .. the tight regulation is a lot of work but it can be so worth it when you see all the numbers start clicking in place .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267

267 at +5. I'm glad he rode down to the yellow floor nice and easy today. Hopefully the high dive competition is over for everybody.
I'm going to stick with the .75 for the rest of the week. With the exception of Thursday evening (choir rehearsal), I'm prepared to stay home and monitor in the evenings all week.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

It's okay. Breathe.

You'll probably want to stall. Do not feed.
I'm going to look at your ss. brb
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

PMPS means you shot the insulin. Did you? We usually use just plain +12, when you're stalling and haven't shot, yet.
Have you fed, yet? I'll try to get some more help for you.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Good. I would stall for 30 minutes, to try to get a rising number on your next test.
How flexible is your shot schedule? Meaning, if you end up shooting at +13, tonight, can you adjust your shot schedule tomorrow, so that you shoot 12 hours after the last shot?

Don't worry, you're not alone. We're here with you, okay?
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

OK, I'll do another test at 7:10 CST. I can shoot at +13 and do 12 hours later in the morning, but that's the absolute latest I can go and still shoot 12 hours later. I know I can do 15 minutes earlier in the morning if I have to.

I don't know why he all of a sudden started getting these weird lows at +12 every evening. It's driving me nuts!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Hi Monica:

Dyana has given you good suggestions....stalling is the best thing to do right now. The idea is to try and catch him as he rises so you can get insulin in him and hopefully get some overlap of cycles.

So...do you have plenty of test strips, HC food/gravy, can you be there to monitor tonight, and as Dyana asked...how long can you stall and not have it throw your schedule out of balance for the next few days?

Good work not feeding!!!!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Do I shoot as soon as he rises, even if he's still in greens or barely into blues?

I do have plenty of supplies. I can stall as much as an hour without throwing off the morning schedule.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Atticus is giving you a double dip.

I see you've skipped the last two nights of shots and you are choosing to delay this evening. Let's see where this goes this evening. Yes, if he starts to rise you want to shoot at that point. You are shooting to get the overlap of duration from the insulin.

Shoot low to stay low. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

The 87 and the 88 are basically the same number, so he is surfing. Hopefully, we'll see a rise at +13. Come on blue, Atticus.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

You can do one of two things:

1. shoot as soon as he has a rise....if you consider that the meters can have up to 20% variance, then anything under 100 will be within that variance.

2. pick a number you are comfortable shooting but you may have to stall a while to get to it. I think the lowest you have shot is 131 the other night.

As we've said, you have to shoot low to stay low. This 88 is a very shootable number; the only variable here that we don't know is how fast he was dropping.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Hey Monica:

Do you think you could shoot the 88/87? I'll be around to help you with what comes after. Dyana is right that he's surfing. We'd sure like to see you get the insulin in him tonight.

I've got to go shoot Gracie....Dyana and Beth are here to help with the shot and then I'll be back.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Let me just make an observation...

The past 2 nights you skipped because you were uncomfortable shooting. By +15, Atticus was well on his way up and continued up until AMPS. It looks like your onset is in about 1.5 to 2 hours after you shoot. Atticus is going to keep going up until the insulin kicks in.

If it were me, I'd shoot.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

He's still surfing along nicely. He will go up, once he's fed, and you have HC if you need to intervene, later. How do you feel about shooting his dose?
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Monica, you said you have plenty of supplies on hand and Sienne is right...Atticus is going to rise if you totally skip again tonight and that is really going to wonk out the 'shed' at this point.

You have 3 of the LL best looking in on your condo tonight too! Sienne, Marje, and Dyana...

My Atlas did this and does this a lot and I have personally found shooting to be the best course of action. Even the protocol says to try skipping, then delay(stall), and that the best course is to have courage and shoot.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

OK, I did it (I did do kind of a "skinny" .75).
Tiki's SS is inspiring- I just hope I don't see a 35 tonight. nailbite_smile

The vet had wanted me to go ahead and start with .5 unit this morning, but since he had only been at .75 a couple of days, I thought I should reduce more incrementally. Maybe I should have gone ahead and reduced to .5 this morning, but everything I've read says to hold each dose for at least 3-4 days.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, AMPS 396, +5 267, PMPS 88 Now what???

Monica:

I'll stay with you....you can get a +.5 after you shoot if you want to make sure he's coming up and we can start working on some food management. You can do it!!

We all had to shoot that first low number so we understand.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

Now, you can change the ? icon to the green smilie icon in your first post.

I'm proud of ya. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

number-one-dance.gif


Great job!!!! Can you let me know when you want to get the next test? It should at least be a +1....no later than that. Thanks, Monica!!!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

Actually when you stall it is like taking a dose reduction.

I think you are going to be just fine this evening. Once they flatten out on the curve the big drops from bouncing all over the darn place go away too!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

I was going to do +30 minutes, which would be in a couple of minutes, but I'm sure Atticus would appreciate it at +1 instead. That would be 9:00 CST.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

Way to go! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Surf Atticus! Stay green awhile, but don't scare Monica!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

Just stoppin' in to say nice 'hooting!!! It is nerve-wracking to shoot green for the first time but you're in fabulous hands - you'll be fine. I'll be watching from the sidelines!!!

~Amy
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, +5 267, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!

Monica

Up to you on whether you feel better about the +.5 or the +1. I would hope he'd get a food spike but he doesn't always. I'll check back in a few to see what you decided and also at 9CST.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!, +1 55

Good job. Guess we should have gotten that +.5 ;-)

How about you retest in 30 mins and make sure he's headed up? Just a little MC...we don't want to make him full but I do want him to come up before he onsets.

Doing ok???

ETA: eating dinner but monitoring from my ipad. Will be checking in for sure at 9:30CST.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82 First time shooting green!, +1 55

Well, that is not from this evenings shot yet.

That looks like Mr. Pancreas is working on some level! ;-)

Now up you go Atticus!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82, +1 55, +1.5 77

time for wine :lol: You want him up before onset without getting him too far up. Does he usually eat now? You could just give him a small amount of LC and test in one hour. K?

I'll keep checking in.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82, +1 55, +1.5 77

Monica and Atticus said:
He's 77 at +1.5, but that's after having some MC at +1.

My neck and shoulders have gone awfully tight tonight!


Actually he is looking pretty good. Very nice use of MC food!

Remember to breathe....you both are going to be fine.
Marje is on board with you and you are in great hands.

That little drop at +1 just tells us his pancreas is working, which is awesome news! I highly doubt that big of a drop was due to lack of food. It is a combination of feeding and the pancreas doing a jig at the sight of food to work on.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82, +1 55, +1.5 77

3939684.gif


GO MONICA!

dancing_cat

Way to go!!! you're not going to be sorry - this is the path to OTJ! a little bit nerve-wracking, yes, but you've got the tools and Atticus is telling you he's ready to do this.

just so ya know - i've seen several cats off of insulin who test in the 40's. i think of that as a safety zone. the protocol has us pulling cats up beginning when they drop below 50, and that's very safe. so no worries, you're doing fabulously!
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82, +1 55, +1.5 77, +3 58

that's great! i'll just share my philosophy on this - i'd feed your regular food, just like you usually do and if atticus drops below 50, then prop him up with some high carbs until he's past the nadir and take another .25 reduction in the morning shot.

i would save trying to steering the cycle with food for the cats that don't hold their reductions well. so far atticus is doing just fine.

he seems to be eager to be done with shots! antijinx we don't like to say that out loud but, hey, atticus seems to be yelling it.
 
Re: 2/6 Atticus, PMPS 82, +1 55, +1.5 77, +3 58

I agree with Julie....just let him have LC unless he falls below 50. I imagine the 58 is onset....just stay on top of this because he has a way to go to nadir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top