2/6 Angie amps=137 pmps=164

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

I had a few prick's of Angie's ear this morning with no luck. She got quite cross with me. I have her a treat and decided to try again in half an hour. Can I give her low carb breakfast or will that ruin the test? She knows that it's breakfast time.

I'd like to be able to give her insulin still so do want to get this ambg.

Has anyone faced this issue before?

Thanks
Grace

Yesterday's condo is here.
 
Re: 2/6 Angie - failed am test angry kitty - can I feed her?

LC will still influence her numbers. Do you have an no carb treats around to calm her for a while? I have an extra stash of pure protein treats I can break out if I ever need to delay PS.
 
Re: 2/6 Angie - failed am test angry kitty - can I feed her?

She eats cat mince normally. I don't think it has any carbs in it. The ingredients are meat and organs. Is that OK? If not, what's a no carb example?
 
Re: 2/6 Angie - failed am test angry kitty - can I feed her?

I have some chicken neck pieces, or freeze dried meats (chicken, turkey, quail necks, duck tongues, chicken hearts) as zero carb snacks. Neko is on raw food too, but there is a little bit of veggies added in, so it is around 4% carbs (depending on the protein). Do you have anything like some boiled (or raw) chicken?
 
Re: 2/6 Angie - failed am test angry kitty - can I feed her?

No, I don't. I even ran out of treats last night and had to use cheese this morning. I let her eat because she was getting really worked up, knowing that there was food in her automatic bowl.

She just jumped back on my bed all purry so I tried again, got her BG and was able to shoot.

Thanks for your help, Wendy.

Where do you buy freeze-dried meat from? I've never seen it and am wondering if we can even get it in Australia.

Grace
 
Re: 2/6 Angie ambg=137 - where to buy freeze dried treats?

I just googled freeze dried pet treats australia and found a couple of hits. Natural Pet Store and Australian Pet Treat Company are two of them. You have to look at the ingredient list, but you are looking for a single ingredient treat. Sometimes you can use the dog treats and break them into smaller pieces. I try to stay away from too much fish treats (can be higher phosphorus) but on the websites I found kangaroo, lamb, beef, chicken. I find the best selection here in pet food stores than sell raw food. But even some of the major chains like Petsmart carry some.
 
Re: 2/6 Angie ambg=137 - where to buy freeze dried treats?

Thanks Wendy. Single ingredient is a good tip. I've been scared of buying treats from pet stores because of carbohydrates. I'll look into those two.
 
Re: 2/6 Angie ambg=137

Hi my wonderful mentors,

I was hoping for some thoughts on the best way of me looking after Angie. I am really worried that I am going to hurt her by following tight regulation and sleeping through when she should be earning a dose reduction and needs high carbs to keep her safe.

I'm sorry to bring up my health troubles again. I just think that it might not be safe to keep going. I have an auto immune disease that is on the mend and hypoglycaemia troubles that I am just learning to control. I just can't stay awake as much as is needed to test her.

I've been staying up to test her at night and then waking up for her am shot, setting an alarm for her next test and going back to sleep. Every now and then I just can't wake up. This morning I shot a fairly low ambg and then slept through the alarm for another 6 hours! I didn't test her again as it was past her nadir and I was running late.

She seems OK today and that sleep will keep me going for a few days but what if she goes hypo the next time I sleep in?

She's only getting 0.25 IU but she managed to go below 50 on a 0.1 IU dose last time.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Grace
 
Re: 2/6 Angie ambg=137 - request for advice on protocol/dose

Grace

I'm sorry you aren't doing well. I hope you can start to improve for your own QOL.

You can take her dose down to .1u for now. Her numbers will likely go up but it's important to keep her safe. Others might have some ideas, too....I hope.

Thinking of you....
 
Thanks Marje for your help. I've given her a 0.1 IU dose tonight. I'll trial it for a bit. I might be able to manage better soon and I'll go back to the right dose.

I've just been out to see my cousin and his wife who have just announced that their having a baby. It will be the first of the next generation in our family so everyone is very excited for them. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top