2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208,+4.5~76,+6~58

Status
Not open for further replies.
I thought for sure Alex would be a lot higher this morning after last night's 33 but this is good. Decreased his dose this morning and hopefully it will be a good one.
Alex is hungry and feeling AOK...seems to be waiting for the snow to start in NYC. (It's going to screw up MY plans) grrr.

BTB for me for a while I-) .

Morning everyone ~O)

yesterday
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267

Looks like Alex has moved up a row in LTS! Not bad at all. Hope he keeps going on this pattern. I'm having complaints about the weather too, where do I file? :mrgreen:
 
Question...

I have to go out tonight at about 5;30 and won't be back until about 1:00AM. Alex got his shot at 8:30AM

Should i just skip his PM shot ? (there is no way I can get back to check on him)

Should I give him any insulin when I get home?
 
Re: Question...

Caryl and Alex said:
I have to go out tonight at about 5;30 and won't be back until about 1:00AM. Alex got his shot at 8:30AM

Should i just skip his PM shot ? (there is no way I can get back to check on him)

Should I give him any insulin when I get home?


I don't think it would be good to skip the shot, he's doing really good in the past couple of cycles,..wait for experienced feedback on options ok?
other than that - I bet he is going to have another good day!
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

Looking at Alex's spread sheet and no predictability, I wouldn't shoot 3 hours early.I wouldn't recommend a reduced shot either, especially as it would be +7.5 before your home.

I assume this has come unexpected? Beans normally move shot time gtadually when they know they are going to be out.

Skipping a shot is not ideal either. Is there really no way you can come back just to give shot?

If not, don't see you have any choice but to miss. No point in giving any insulin at 1am because then all your times are off again.

Expect a high preshot in the morning and with the shed empoty, numbers may wel be flat while it refills.
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

kate and lucky said:
Looking at Alex's spread sheet and no predictability, I wouldn't shoot 3 hours early.I wouldn't recommend a reduced shot either, especially as it would be +7.5 before your home.

I assume this has come unexpected? Beans normally move shot time gtadually when they know they are going to be out.

Skipping a shot is not ideal either. Is there really no way you can come back just to give shot?

Yes it's unexpected as of yesterday...and yesterday I thought it would be called off because of the expected snow that didn't happen. I can't come home because I'm in NJ and I'm going to Manhattan. I really feel guilty as it is but I don't want to lose all of my friends either :-|

If not, don't see you have any choice but to miss. No point in giving any insulin at 1am because then all your times are off again.

Expect a high preshot in the morning and with the shed empoty, numbers may wel be flat while it refills.

I understand what high preshot means but not quite sure what 'numbers will be flat' means....
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

I understand it's hard sometimes finding a balance with meeting kitty's needs and beans having a life.

Yiu can see what others think but for me, just too much unpredictability.

When I said flat numbers, I mean that you may get a cycle where the numbers across 12 hrs aren't much different from the pre shot number. It's only a possibility.

Alex isn't prone to keytones is she?
Check on her when you get in, in terms of her behaviour.

I'm off line now as bean life too :smile:
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

kate and lucky said:
I understand it's hard sometimes finding a balance with meeting kitty's needs and beans having a life.

Yiu can see what others think but for me, just too much unpredictability.

When I said flat numbers, I mean that you may get a cycle where the numbers across 12 hrs aren't much different from the pre shot number. It's only a possibility.

Alex isn't prone to keytones is she?
Check on her when you get in, in terms of her behaviour.

I'm off line now as bean life too :smile:

Yes, he's very prone to ketones..although thankfully he hasn't had any.
as 'luck' would have it I am getting a ferocious migraine so this may all be moot
But I really want to know how to have a life where I can go out
and take care of my cat? Does this mean I'd have to get up at 5:00AM every day to shoot?
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

Caryl,
I'm sure you will get experienced eyes on this soon - dont panic ok? it'll be ok! :razz:
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

of course you can have a life! It just requires some adjustment. Remember how we always say "it's a marathon, not a sprint"? I doubt you'll lose all progress if you fiddle with the schedule every now and then. It might slow him down by a few days, but if you're already running a marathon anyway, will you really notice if somebody moves the finish line by another 50 yards?

Here are the options:
1. Shoot 3 hours early. No way, sorry, too scary especially if you're going out.
2. Shoot something when you get home, about 5 hours late. That can work, especially if you can keep that shot time (or something close to it) for a few days. It would require some juggling and some inconvenient shot times maybe.
3. Skip the shot and move on. Definitely the easiest. You have R that you can cover tonight with if he's high (use ONLY a teeny tiny amount and only if he is high, as you know Alex can respond to a teeny bit of R so don't get too reactive even if his number is red).
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208*Question***

Libby and Lucy said:
of course you can have a life! It just requires some adjustment. Remember how we always say "it's a marathon, not a sprint"? I doubt you'll lose all progress if you fiddle with the schedule every now and then. It might slow him down by a few days, but if you're already running a marathon anyway, will you really notice if somebody moves the finish line by another 50 yards?

Here are the options:
1. Shoot 3 hours early. No way, sorry, too scary especially if you're going out.
2. Shoot something when you get home, about 5 hours late. That can work, especially if you can keep that shot time (or something close to it) for a few days. It would require some juggling and some inconvenient shot times maybe.
3. Skip the shot and move on. Definitely the easiest. You have R that you can cover tonight with if he's high (use ONLY a teeny tiny amount and only if he is high, as you know Alex can respond to a teeny bit of R so don't get too reactive even if his number is red).

Thanks, Lib :smile:

So if I DO go, start tomorrow and if he's high just deal with it until he comes back down? That's what I would do...I don't really think it would take that long. Last time he missed a PM shot was Oct 9th when I went to a concert all day and the result wasn't horrible...see ss
 
Big drop in 2 hours?

is that a cause for alarm? I read it on Jan and Buddy's condo and it seems as if people are nervous about that. Or is that just a "Buddy specific" worry?
Just curious....
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208,+4.5~76

I don't think it's a problem, he is getting close to the time where the insulin is working harder. Think you wanna test again soon and if it's lunch time when he eats he it should help him to stay surfing. It's a nice number anyway!
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208,+4.5~76

Monique & Spooky said:
I don't think it's a problem, he is getting close to the time where the insulin is working harder. Think you wanna test again soon and if it's lunch time when he eats he it should help him to stay surfing. It's a nice number anyway!

thanks..only reason I asked is because there seemed to be concern over Buddy dropping 200 points in 2 hours. Alex does that every so often....
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208,+4.5~76

It wasn't concern so much as pondering where the drop came from. Buddy has IAA and when the antibodies "disappear" then he would have a big dose of insulin in there and no more antibodies to block it. That is what we want for eventually, but not in a matter of 2 hours. It was concluded that the drop was because the rebound hormones were clearing out and the insulin had started working.

Did Alex just earn a decrease? If so you want to try to keep him in the greens but not dropping to low just yet. We want decreases but not to quickly. Try and keep him right there as long as possible, and this will also reduce the risk of bouncing somewhat.

Sounds like he's gonna get a mini reduction tonite anyway. It's not ideal but sometimes things happen. Just call it a fur shot and have a good evening!
 
Re: 2/6 Alex AMPS 267,+2~208,+4.5~76

Monique & Spooky said:
It wasn't concern so much as pondering where the drop came from. Buddy has IAA and when the antibodies "disappear" then he would have a big dose of insulin in there and no more antibodies to block it. That is what we want for eventually, but not in a matter of 2 hours. It was concluded that the drop was because the rebound hormones were clearing out and the insulin had started working.

Did Alex just earn a decrease? If so you want to try to keep him in the greens but not dropping to low just yet. We want decreases but not to quickly. Try and keep him right there as long as possible, and this will also reduce the risk of bouncing somewhat.

Sounds like he's gonna get a mini reduction tonite anyway. It's not ideal but sometimes things happen. Just call it a fur shot and have a good evening!

Yes, he was down to 33 last night....

fur shot..okay :)
 
Jill & Alex said:
sorry your plans were canceled. hope they'll be rescheduled for sometime soon. beans need to have some fun!


Thanks,Jill. I'm sure I'll have some fun soon. I've decided to, so I will. Jeez..I washed my hair with WEN tonight for the first time...I WANTED to see how that worked. THAT was fun :lol:
I must have gone into the kitchen 20 times to pick up things that "Dennis The Menace" knocked over...That was surely fun ohmygod_smile

Truth is, I love spending time with the cat_pet_icon 'furballs' cat_pet_icon ..I was almost happy when my plans got canceled...THAT'S why i GOTTA get out .... nailbite_smile

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top