2/6/2020 New Member Newly Diagnosed 1 1/2 yr old kitty

Status
Not open for further replies.

PumpkinsGrandma

Member Since 2020
Hi all!
My baby's baby is Pumpkin. He is our sweet rescue kitty that we got a year ago, when he was 6 months old. He was bottle-fed growing up, as his mom was killed by a car when he was 2 weeks. He is the sweetest kitty, but was always obsessed with water. Got MORE obsessed with water towards Christmas of last year, to the point where we took him to the vet last week, mostly to rule out diabetes. Whew. Didn't rule it out.
The past 8 days have been a blur. I HATE giving injections, but am finally getting the hang of them. And I SUPER HATE blood testing, did my first curve yesterday. I keep punching a hole though his ear... ugh... trying to be fast because he does NOT sit still well, and once he pulled his ear away when I was trying to puncture the skin, precisely, and he ended up with a 1/4 inch scratch from the lancet... ugh...
Anyhow, his first number was 300 at the vet's office, and she said he had ketones in his urine. So here we are... His lowest number yesterday was 156 I think, so I think that's good. I DO NOT want to risk hypoglycemia, so hoping the vet won't recommend upping his dose at this point... using Lantus. Trying to find cheaper syringes, wow these cost as much as the daggone insulin! No luck yet...
So hi to all of you guys, thanks for letting me join.
Becky
 
Last edited:
Welcome, and sorry you have to be here! :) I don't have any experience with Lantus, but there are a LOT of people who do, so you'll definitely be able to get lots of advice and guidance.

What kind of syringes are you using? They shouldn't be so expensive, although I don't know what country you're from either, so that could make a difference.
 
From the US, and using U-100 3/10 cc syringes. Seems since they're so small, they're harder to find... Thanks Amy and Socks!
 
Hi all!
My baby's baby is Pumpkin. He is our sweet rescue kitty that we got a year ago, when he was 6 months old. He was bottle-fed growing up, as his mom was killed by a car when he was 2 weeks. He is the sweetest kitty, but was always obsessed with water. Got MORE obsessed with water towards Christmas of last year, to the point where we took him to the vet last week, mostly to rule out diabetes. Whew. Didn't rule it out.
The past 8 days have been a blur. I HATE giving injections, but am finally getting the hang of them. And I SUPER HATE blood testing, did my first curve yesterday. I keep punching a hole though his ear... ugh... trying to be fast because he does NOT sit still well, and once he pulled his ear away when I was trying to puncture the skin, precisely, and he ended up with a 1/4 inch scratch from the lancet... ugh...
Anyhow, his first number was 300 at the vet's office, and she said he had ketones in his urine. So here we are... His lowest number yesterday was 156 I think, so I think that's good. I DO NOT want to risk hypoglycemia, so hoping the vet won't recommend upping his dose at this point... using Lantus. Trying to find cheaper syringes, wow these cost as much as the daggone insulin! No luck yet...
So hi to all of you guys, thanks for letting me join.
Becky
So excellent that you are already home testing! I am all too familiar with wiggly, impossible to test kitties :rolleyes: I have found that many cats can be persuaded to cooperate with plenty of treats (or whatever it is that your cat likes!) and patience. Freeze dried treats are a great low carb option.

If you are in the US, many people buy their u100 syringes at Walmart. I believe the ReliOn brand is something like $13, and they come in 3/10 cc with half unit markings, which is what is recommended a lot here
 
Last edited:
So excellent that you are already home testing! I am all too familiar with wiggly, impossible to test kitties :rolleyes: I have found that many cats can be persuaded to cooperate with plenty of treats (or whatever it is that your cat likes!) and patience. Freeze dried treats are a great low carb option.

If you are in the US, many people buy their u100 syringes at Walmart. I believe the ReliOn brand is something like $13, and they come in 3/10 cc with half unit markings, which is what is recommended a lot here
_______________

Shucks, I've checked Walmart online, and they show nothing as far as 3/10 CC syringes. I see a lot of ReliOn products, but no syringes. But, in my search, I see a lot of good deals, so thanks!!
 
Last edited:
Ok you guys, you got me going on some good leads for cheaper syringes! Thanks Amy and Socks, Sarah&Soph and SullivansDad!!!
 
The past 8 days have been a blur.
Oh my! It does make your head spin when you learn your cat has diabetes.
At least your vet is having you use a good insulin for cats. Did you buy the 10ml vial or did you buy the insulin pens? (We have a great place where you can get your lantus at a lower cost next time.)

By the way, you want to find those 3/10cc insulin syringes that have 1/2 unit markings on the barrel of the syringe. Insulin syringes are not something you can always buy online. The drug crisis you know.

Many Wal-mart employees may not even know they carry these smaller 3/10 cc (volume) syringes with the 1/2 unit markings. Have them check the box in there supplies they have behind the counter. You may need a prescription for the syringes, depends on the state you live in.

What else may we help you with?
 
Oh my! It does make your head spin when you learn your cat has diabetes.
At least your vet is having you use a good insulin for cats. Did you buy the 10ml vial or did you buy the insulin pens? (We have a great place where you can get your lantus at a lower cost next time.)

By the way, you want to find those 3/10cc insulin syringes that have 1/2 unit markings on the barrel of the syringe. Insulin syringes are not something you can always buy online. The drug crisis you know.

Many Wal-mart employees may not even know they carry these smaller 3/10 cc (volume) syringes with the 1/2 unit markings. Have them check the box in there supplies they have behind the counter. You may need a prescription for the syringes, depends on the state you live in.

What else may we help you with?
______________
Thanks Deb & Wink! I use the insulin pen at this point... where do you get cheaper?

It has been an awful 8 days, but I am pleased to have gotten this far. I hope that we can just ride on the current injection schedule for awhile, anyway. I'm not functioning with all this stress! The next vet visit is tomorrow. Since the lower number is 150, hoping she won't press to lower the dose.

Thanks again for the support. I really really have needed it. Wish I found this site 8 days ago, but I'm glad that I have it now. ;):coffee:
 
Last edited:
where do you get cheaper?
Ordering Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir from Canadian pharmacies
Saving Money Buying Drugs at Canadian Pharmacies (US residents)

When you get a chance, some information in your user profile signature and setting up our handy dandy spreadsheet are useful. No need to "reinvent the wheel." We have a template you can copy. Only takes a few minutes to do. Instructions are here in this post you should have received as part of your "Welcome" email.

New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

We all have a lot of responsibilities in life. Remember to take good care of yourself so you can take care of those around you.

Any more questions?
 
Ordering Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir from Canadian pharmacies
Saving Money Buying Drugs at Canadian Pharmacies (US residents)

When you get a chance, some information in your user profile signature and setting up our handy dandy spreadsheet are useful. No need to "reinvent the wheel." We have a template you can copy. Only takes a few minutes to do. Instructions are here in this post you should have received as part of your "Welcome" email.

New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

We all have a lot of responsibilities in life. Remember to take good care of yourself so you can take care of those around you.

Any more questions?
______________

Stupid question? I have right now Uticare Insulin Syringes 3/10 cc... The box says the syringes dose up to 30 units. These are TINY amounts, if each is one unit. How on earth can someone (like I see on here) talk about increasing .25 of a unit?? I see syringes that say they mark 1/2 units, and I'm not sure how that can be possible either, since the units, if they're what I'm thinking they are, are SO TINY!!!

Thanks.
 
There are no stupid questions, except the ones you don't ask.
Doses are very tiny, but so are our cats. And human infants. So they need those tiny doses.

Yes, 3/10 cc (0.3cc) syringes hold a maximum volume of 30 units.
Each line on the syringe denotes either 1/2 a unit or a full unit.
Some syringes have only full unit lines on the syringe barrel.
Some syringes have shorter lines on the syringe barrel to denote 1/2 unit increments.
The 0.25U increments are based on plunger placement. You are "eyeballing" the dose.
And you try to be consistent in drawing up those "in between the lines" doses. You are trying for consistency in the dose you are giving.
Yes, the units are very tiny. It's difficult to know if you have drawn up the correct amount of insulin.
You also need to remove any air bubbles, so draw out a bit extra and "twist" the plunger slowly to "Push out" any air bubbles in the syringe.

Take some colored water or juice. Practice drawing the colored water into the syringe and then "Twist" the plunger slowly up to remove the air bubbles. There is also the tap the side of the syringe, needle pointed up, to get the air bubbles to float to the top. You will always waste a tiny bit of insulin to get those air bubbles out of the syringe. But you will get some more consistent doses with practicing that "twist" technique.

Want to know about another complication with insulin syringes? They are not all manufactured well. One syringe from the same box may have the lines in a slightly different place than others. Some manufacturers are better at quality control than others.
Some people use calipers to attempt to get a consistent measurement of insulin for each dose.
Dosing with Calipers

I never got that complicated, The key I focused on was to be consistent with the dose I was giving.

Some pictures to help. Be sure to open the link Fine Dose Pictorial Guide, for more pictures.
Fine Dose Pictorial Guide

Fine dose gradations:
  • 0.5U = exactly half a unit
  • 0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
  • 0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
  • 0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
  • 0.1U = fat zero barely touching the line
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:

someinsulin-1.jpg
01unit-1.jpg

025unit-1.jpg
 
Here is someone selling lantus pens in the supply closet if you are interested
at this price I would pick up a few, here is her into

Lantus pens
Discussion in 'Supply Closet - For Sale or Free' started by Julia Rae, Dec 28, 2019.

Watch Thread

  1. Julia Rae
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I have 4 lantus pens and I am asking 30.00 + the cost of shipping if interested pm me
She gave me the expiration date
Yes your correct, the date is 4-30-2022
Take a look in the supply closet hope this helps

What a handsome boy Pumpkin is, he's beautiful
 
Last edited:
Hi Becky! Your Pumpkin is adorable, and reminds me very much of my own bottle baby, Scooter.

Seen here next to his diabetic best bud, Billy.


I just wanted to say welcome, and you are in exactly the right place to help Pumpkin. So much good information here, and so many experienced members.

I wondered if you were using the lancet by hand? I tried that with my Billy, but I sucked at it. After Billy moved at the wrong time and I notched his ear, I got a lancing device. It might be worth looking into. I got an inexpensive CVS brand one, it has adjustable depth and works for alternate sites. (for example kitty ears instead of people fingers) The best thing is it ended up being pretty quiet. Some kitties don't like the click the device makes. That device combined with bribes (Halo freeze dried chicken is Billy's favorite) and testing went from being a hassle to being pretty easy. I still have to poke him more than once on occasion, but rarely now. I just thought that might help you.
 
Thanks so much Diane!! Tyler's quite handsome there, too❤️

Here is someone selling lantus pens in the supply closet if you are interested
at this price I would pick up a few, here is her into

Lantus pens
Discussion in 'Supply Closet - For Sale or Free' started by Julia Rae, Dec 28, 2019.

Watch Thread

  1. Julia Rae
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I have 4 lantus pens and I am asking 30.00 + the cost of shipping if interested pm me
She gave me the expiration date
Yes your correct, the date is 4-30-2022
Take a look in the supply closet hope this helps

What a handsome boy Pumpkin is, he's beautiful
 
Thanks Juls and Billy, you're bottle baby is precious, too, as is his BFF❤️. Something special about bottle-fed babies!
I am using the lancet freehand. I have a device, will give it a try. I just don't have quite the aim with it, and don't want to miss the ear or hit that vein! But it's definitely worth a try.
Thanks! I'll try the treat idea, too... Pumpkin loves fish...

Hi Becky! Your Pumpkin is adorable, and reminds me very much of my own bottle baby, Scooter.

Seen here next to his diabetic best bud, Billy.


I just wanted to say welcome, and you are in exactly the right place to help Pumpkin. So much good information here, and so many experienced members.

I wondered if you were using the lancet by hand? I tried that with my Billy, but I sucked at it. After Billy moved at the wrong time and I notched his ear, I got a lancing device. It might be worth looking into. I got an inexpensive CVS brand one, it has adjustable depth and works for alternate sites. (for example kitty ears instead of people fingers) The best thing is it ended up being pretty quiet. Some kitties don't like the click the device makes. That device combined with bribes (Halo freeze dried chicken is Billy's favorite) and testing went from being a hassle to being pretty easy. I still have to poke him more than once on occasion, but rarely now. I just thought that might help you.
 
I'll try the treat idea, too... Pumpkin loves fish...
If you're not giving treats now, I would definitely recommend that. Now when Socks hears me pop open the test strip container, he comes running over. He starts drooling too because he knows that treat is coming, and (not always! but a lot of the time) he'll sit still while I poke him.
 
Larger gauge lancets, labeled "For Alternate Site Testing" have a bigger gauge (smaller number).

Marje and Gracie's Testing and Shooting Tips (in Health Links/FAQS, Index, Hometesting Links and Tips)
Have you seen the diagram of the "sweet spot" where you should be aiming?
" Testing
We all know the basics:
  • Warm the ear with a rice sock or a warm washcloth wrapped in a plastic bag.
  • Either freehand or use a lancing device; new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed; then progress to a 31g or 33g which are finer.
  • Be sure to poke in the "sweet spot" and not the major vein that runs along the length of the ear. Poking the vein will not only hurt, but will result in a lot of blood. The sweet spot is on the edge of the ear.
4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119

But did you also know there is a particular way for the lancet to be used? It has one side that is bevelled so the sharpest part goes in first, if used correctly."

Or tried to see better using a light behind the ear? Tiny flashlight, cell phone light, good sunlight, etc.
 
_______________

Shucks, I've checked Walmart online, and they show nothing as far as 3/10 CC syringes. I see a lot of ReliOn products, but no syringes. But, in my search, I see a lot of good deals, so thanks!!

Someone might have already responded to this and I didn't scroll down but they are not available online. :( However, if you go right up to the pharmacy at Walmart they have them there. That's where I've been getting them! :)
 
Hi Becky. You have a young kitty like me. Minnie was diagnosed a month ago at 7 months old! Very challenging to check her Blood Glucose for sure! We are not making much progress with regulating her as she also has Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency, so a lot of other testing plus adding pancreatic enzyme supplements to her food which she HATES. I really need to change her food but the Vet has been fighting me on that, but I really think it will help her blood sugar control. So very frustrating.
What food are you feeding Pumpkin?
 
Hi Becky. You have a young kitty like me. Minnie was diagnosed a month ago at 7 months old! Very challenging to check her Blood Glucose for sure! We are not making much progress with regulating her as she also has Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency, so a lot of other testing plus adding pancreatic enzyme supplements to her food which she HATES. I really need to change her food but the Vet has been fighting me on that, but I really think it will help her blood sugar control. So very frustrating.
What food are you feeding Pumpkin?


Oh Joanna I'm so sorry! That is so TOUGH!! And Pancreatic Insufficiency? Whew... I think mostly our young ones are the ones who got diabetes genetically.... my vet just said that this afternoon. I'm feeding Pumpkin all wet food, no dry. I'm using, at this point, Fancy Feast flaked. His favorite so far is trout, but he likes the turkey, and my vet said the classic, roasted, flaked, chunky, and natural in broth were the highest protein/lowest carb ones. She said nothing in gravy.... but if you have a picky eater, anything wet is better than anything dry. Diet is SO important. Pumpkin's urine glucose was 1000 last week, and is now at 50!! (so definitely try to get your kitty on the high protein/low carb diet.
 
That is awesome that his glucose has come down.
Yes I will for sure. She is currently at the vet getting her Glucose curve done. I will switch from Blue Buffalo kitten to Fancy Feast this weekend and wean off the dry, at this point I only put it down when we are not home as I am afraid she may go hypo. I have an older non-Diabetic cat too and she doesn't love wet food. I have just ordered some Dr. Elsey's dry clean protein (carb free) just to have available when I am gone as I have to leave wet food down for a few hours, plus she would eat it all up!
 
If you're not giving treats now, I would definitely recommend that. Now when Socks hears me pop open the test strip container, he comes running over. He starts drooling too because he knows that treat is coming, and (not always! but a lot of the time) he'll sit still while I poke him.
Amy, I have a Sox too!
 

Attachments

  • SOX.jpg
    SOX.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 135
Home testing when making a switch to lower carb food is so critical. Blood glucose can drop 100 basis points or more with a change to lower carb food. So be careful and monitor when you switch foods.

A timed feeder may also be helpful. They even have ones that work off the microchip in your cat, so the non-diabetic cat can't eat the other cats food and vice versa.

Hi Joanna. Great that you have been commenting on other members posts. Do you have your own thread started so we can give you advice and recommendations specific to your own cat?
 
Home testing when making a switch to lower carb food is so critical. Blood glucose can drop 100 basis points or more with a change to lower carb food. So be careful and monitor when you switch foods.

A timed feeder may also be helpful. They even have ones that work off the microchip in your cat, so the non-diabetic cat can't eat the other cats food and vice versa.

Hi Joanna. Great that you have been commenting on other members posts. Do you have your own thread started so we can give you advice and recommendations specific to your own cat?
Yes I do but haven't posted for a couple of weeks. Trying to figure out both things the diabetes and the EPI, then being told she doesn't have EPI and then told that she most likely does!! Quite a stressful time and still haven't got it figured out!
 
That is awesome that his glucose has come down.
Yes I will for sure. She is currently at the vet getting her Glucose curve done. I will switch from Blue Buffalo kitten to Fancy Feast this weekend and wean off the dry, at this point I only put it down when we are not home as I am afraid she may go hypo. I have an older non-Diabetic cat too and she doesn't love wet food. I have just ordered some Dr. Elsey's dry clean protein (carb free) just to have available when I am gone as I have to leave wet food down for a few hours, plus she would eat it all up!


Hi Joanna! I strongly encourage you to wean off of the dry, and stay off forever. Pumpkin is officially in remission. Hasn't had insulin for several weeks, and his BG is under 100. I credit diet, reducing his stress, and GOD with it!!! Wishing that for you!!
 
Yeah!

So Pumpkin's BG levels stayed < 100 every day for 2 weeks straight after no insulin?

Did you want our tips to stay OTJ (off-the-juice, insulin being the juice), to keep Pumpkin diet controlled and in remission?
 
Yeah!

So Pumpkin's BG levels stayed < 100 every day for 2 weeks straight after no insulin?

Did you want our tips to stay OTJ (off-the-juice, insulin being the juice), to keep Pumpkin diet controlled and in remission?

YES!!!! I'm so happy!!! And absolutely, will do whatever to keep him off of insulin and healthy!! Thank you!!
 
Yeah!

So Pumpkin's BG levels stayed < 100 every day for 2 weeks straight after no insulin?

Did you want our tips to stay OTJ (off-the-juice, insulin being the juice), to keep Pumpkin diet controlled and in remission?
Oops, forgot to ask, how much food (ounces) do you suggest (hi-protein, lo-carb wet, of course) for a 14 lb male 2 yr old cat? He's got a medium/large frame.... the cat food cans say a LOT, but I've been giving him only 2.75 cans of Fancy Feast a day, and he seems hungry a lot.
 
Roughly 15 to 20 calories per pound of "Ideal" weight is about right.

So is Pumpkin at his "ideal' weight, under weight or over weight?
 
So 14 pounds times 15 calories per pound = 210 calories.
14 pounds times 20 calories per pound = 280 calories.
Look on Dr Pierson's cat info food chart to see how many calories are in the food you are feeding.

Multiple by the number of cans.

Weigh your cat once a week, holding him in your arms. If gaining weight, reduce food. If losing weight, increase food. If staying steady, keep the food amounts the same.

Sometimes, cats have come to associate certain actions with food. Like your simply being in the kitchen. Redirect the behavior with some play time, brushing your cat, petting him or talking to him. So he comes to associate different activities with being in the kitchen or elsewhere. And isn't always seeking out food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top