2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54 +4.5~60 DOSE .25 quest

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/5 Webber +11~73 AMPS=87

Good morning, Paige! Get much sleep last night? :mrgreen:

I bet you're happy it's Friday and you will have the weekend to hang out with Webber, DH and the other kitties. :smile:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

My DH got a test in before he left and Webber is already down to 65 from his AMPS. I am useless here at work and soooo scared for the same thing that happened last night to happen again. I will be going home in 3 hours for a +5. Do you think I should go earlier?
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

If you can, I think you should. If anything, to put your mind at ease. Do you work close to home?
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

Hey Chris! No I did not get much sleep last night ;-) Woke up at 3am to go find him scared that he might have dropped again. He was in the *edit* (he was 55). I do live fairly close to work (15 minutes). I have been going home during my lunch break about every day for the last month. Always +5 because that seems to be his nadir. But with the progress he is making I just can't tell anymore. This is hard!!!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

(((Paige))
Thinking of you.. keep us updated & I know you will..
How awesome that DH is now testing too - you are so Blessed. Do what you need to ... to feel better...
Can you just leave for the day?
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

That was DH first time....proud of him. He was out last night when Webber surprised me and he understands how I freak out. I think that is the only reason he did it. :smile:

I am just about ready to just leave for the day. I know I don't have to be home for the whole day, but what can I really get done here? I cannot focus :lol:

I am sure Webber is at home night now harrassing Lacey and I am a basketcase.

ETA- Nicole my manager just reminded me of my testing I have to do this Sunday morning and said "remember that" (wink wink). Interpretation - take off early!!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

How much food did you leave out? (I'm assuming a fair amount.) From what I remember, Webber will go eat if he's low.

If you're making yourself crazy at work, I'd say take an early lunch to reassure yourself. Also keep a bit of perspective. This is not a huge drop between AMPS and +2. It's not like Webber has dropped 200 points in 2 hours. This is slow and gentle. You saw how his numbers came up easily with LC. I completely understand wanting to run home -- and I've done it, too. If you will feel better, that may be more to the point.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared!!!

Sienne you are right. I am over-reacting (imagine that :lol: ). It made me worrysome that he was just chillen last night when I got the 33! I ran to the kitchen to get him his HC food and then he show's up to eat. Made me wonder how long he would have just stayed laying there :?: Sometimes cats can be a little too laid back for me :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared

Well, I am glad you are going home...let us know how he is when you get there....
My Shadow can be unpredictable and I know how you feel right now...that's so nice that your manager understands! you are lucky...Webber is doing so well too...so it's all good...hope your day goes really well...you are doing a great job!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared

I understand totally too - Baby just chills when she gets low & looks at me.. or if I am home.. she stares at me to feed her.. it is like.. would she get up on her own? Ugg.. it will all work out.
Are you leaving, or did you decide to stay?
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 Nervous and Scared

I am going to leave at in an hour (10:15 here) that will get me home at +4.5. Will stay as long as I need to for him to be safe (if needed).

Thank you all LL family for all your encouragement. I love this place. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65

((((Paige)))) if you're worried when you're home, just give him a good sized bloof HC. It's not the end of the world, he's doing so well that he'll clear the HC out quickly. Sometimes you have to do things that aren't strictly according to protocol so you can maintain your own sanity.

He's on a tiny dose of insulin so it won't take much food to bump him up, I'm sure he'll be able to take care of himself but I understand wanting to check because I would have done the same thing.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 DOSECREASE?

:YMSIGH: I would not think that his shed was still causing this? However, this is only his second cycle on 0.50U from 0.75U yesterday morning.

I need some advice please *again*....

ETA - I am not feeding at this point. I am going to recheck in 15 to see if this is it for his dropping. He is not interesting in eating either.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 DOSECREASE?

I'm not sure what your ? is........ Theoretically yes a 48 would mean a decrease, but it is to soon to tell if you should take it or not. Webber may bounce in which case you may want to shoot the higher dose one more time till it clears. If he doesn't bounce then being that the low has occured before nadir (which means it wasn't caused by the insulin entirely but perhaps from a helping pancreas combined with insulin) then you could go ahead and try the decrease if his PMPS is low or lower. Rmember if it doesn't hold you go right back up, no harm done. These last steps often take the longest.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 DOSECREASE?

Paige...those pictures are wonderful...and Baby Webber is such a cutie patootie! Awww...so sweet. And I love how Webber finds the one spot on the floor where the sun is shining in... :lol:

Just wondering for the future...do you or can you get from your vet a larger plastic syringe...one that they use for meds and stuff? Reason I ask is that my Shadow sometimes just stares at the food when I would like him to eat...uh...when his BGs are around <50. :shock: So if he doesn't attack the food on his own right away, I syringe some gravy into his mouth. It is a good standby approach for me. It's good if they will eat when they are low, but if now then at least you will have that to use.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 DOSECREASE?

I was questioning how long a shed can have an effect after dosecrease. I was thinking that perhaps his 48 was due to the shed. Thank you I understand what you said. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 DOSECREASE?

Thank you for the compliments Pat. I do have some of those syringes and that is a great idea. I used one last night to give him some water with miralax. Still no pooh! Humf. I don't know where he puts it. Maybe I need to start searching corners, :lol:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 shed question

Update - he did go eat a little on his own. Good boy cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 shed question

Sometimes the oil from a can of tunafish works too....some people even put a dab or two of vaseline
on their paws (they don't really like that so they lick it all off and it works for some)
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 shed question

Cute pics. I really love the ones where he is sunning himself.

Amazing, how he wants to run down the dosing scale. all the way to a party!

What a ride you're having. This is what it's all about. It's scary and thrilling at the same time. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 shed question

You said it Hillary! Scary but exciting.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 +5.75~50

I am over on the feline diabetes yahoo group trying to help a lady whose cat went DKA after the vet stopped the insulin because his numbers were so inconsistant. They are telling her that her cat has a 20-30% chance. I don't think they are feeding or giving insulin. I could scream!!!

I have given all of the info that I have learned here in the last month and then some. She is contemplating putting him down. But I am asking just what all of you would be asking.

BTW - are any of you on that yahoo group? I started there before I found this place. Never went back but still get the emails.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 +5.75~50

Hi Paige -

I haven't posted in your condo yet - but I stop by every day! Webber is doing so great - I bet he's ready for an OTJ trial REAL soon....

About that woman on the Yahoo group - can you contact here and get her to come over to the FDMB? Sounds kinda scary - I would hate to see her take her vet's adice to pts just because of DKA!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 +5.75~50

Hi Jennifer. Yes I gave her the link and alot of other stuff. I have not heard from her in a while and I hope it is because she is reading and taking in everything I told her (including a second opinion!!!) :evil: I will contact her again :mrgreen:

Thank you for posting!! I loved your update the other day on Porky! That name is so cute----was he a little chunky cat?

I sure hope that Webber will be ready for a party soon. But not too soon, I want that pancreas to heal FOREVER!!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 +5.75~50

Those low numbers sure take your breath away dont they--Part of these numbers are from the shed..still being full--If you had skipped a shot you would have to refill..I cant walk out sometimes & leave Moonie, even though I do..But I always leave out lots of food..she will eat when she goes low. You are doing great..
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 +5.75~50

paige said:
I loved your update the other day on Porky! That name is so cute----was he a little chunky cat?

Paige -

His name came about because I was trying to describe his antics to my sister one day, and I told her he was "Perky". She thought I said "Porky", and the rest is history!

He is, um, a "big" boy - last check at the vet he was 19.3 pounds! He's big overall, though - large feet, head & tail - he's kind of built like a pro wrestler - or a bull dog! :lol:

Just more to love & squeeze! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +2~65 +4.75~48 +5~50 +5.75~50

Pooh!!! I came home and just saw that I left the lantus pen on the kitchen counter for the last 10 hours. I am guessing it is toast and I need to throw it out? :?
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 Left pen out all day on counter-trash?

I'm not so sure that the pens, once opened, require refrigeration. Check on the box or call your pharmacist. If I'm remembering correctly, Monique had posted about this on the old board in the tech forum when there was a discussion of how long an opened cartridge could be used. Apparently, the pens are more constructed in a more durable manner (maybe because of the negative pressure) so diabetic beans can travel without having their insulin refrigerated. I think we keep it refrigerated since we use so little for a cat in comparison with a human dose.

I just looked at the Solostar pen box and it says that a pen "in use" must not be stored in the refrigerator. Interesting!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 Left pen out all day on counter-trash?

Should be fine :) I do it all the time LOL If his numbers start climbing about 24 hours from now you'll know if you need to toss it.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber AMPS=87 +4.75~48 +5.5~50 +11~83

Paige -- thanks for the sweet note in my condo! As if you have nothing ELSE to do today!! :-D

These low numbers get the pulse rate going. But heck, sleep is overrated. (Only people who sleep say that!)

Webber is doing great, and so are you! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/5 Webber +11~83 PMPS=79

We are leaving right now after his shot to go meet family for dinner. Will be back in time for a +2 or +2.5 god willing. Wish Webber luck with being home alone. Plenty of LC food out.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 What to do w/next dose?

Back from dinner and got a BG of 42. He now going to town on the LC food I had left out. So I am not sure if he was reading even lower before we got home. Will test again soon to see if he is naturally rising or still dropping this early in the cycle.

So this is the 3rd cycle on 0.50U dosecrease. Does this drop to 42 warrant another dosecrease? Please advise. Since we are close and making so much progress I do not want to move to fast. Please let me know what the best thing will be for Webber's AM dose; if it is not too early to tell.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 What to do w/next dose?

Hi Paige. If this was my kitty, I would take the dose down to 0.25u tomorrow morning. Webber hasn't been bouncing after going low and to me that says he can handle a smaller dose now. I know this seems fast to be getting another reduction, but you have to go with what the kitty does and the current dose of 0.50u seems to be too much at this point. BG of 42 = reduction.

There is no 6 cycle rule for reductions - that guideline is for increasing the dose only. Reductions happen when they are needed.

Two things to go with this suggestion:
1. If by chance there is a bounce, you can hold the dose one more time before reducing. (I bet there will be no bounce.)
2. If new dose doesn't hold, you can go back up as soon as needed. (I bet it will hold.) :-D

Ok?
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 What to do w/next dose?

Thank you CD for explaining that to me. Up until this point I was always focusing on the protocol for increases and was not sure about decreases. That sounds good good to me if there is no bounce :mrgreen:

Now I have to get those pics for 0.25U from Chris ohmygod_smile

BTW - WE HAVE POOP!!! flip_cat party_cat
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 What to do w/next dose?

(((Paige)) I know I have said it a hundred times.. but anything below a 50 calls for a dosecrease!!
Congrats!
I am not commenting on the bodily functions.. I don't go there.. although I know you all like to... LOL
Happy Friday!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 What to do w/next dose?

Nicole---- haha_smiley I know you have told me a hundred times. It just seems so fast. I don't want to go down to fast @-) Just like you don't want to go up too fast.

Haha - aren't we a pair. angry(2)_cat :mrgreen:

Thank you for knocking some sense into me and giving me the "wet noodle". :dizcat


Happy Friday to you too drinking24
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 What to do w/next dose?

Here you go!

25th-unit-syringe.jpg
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54

Thank you but I don't have the syringes with the 1/2 marks. Are there any other pics? Hehe
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54

There's your new dose, Paige. :smile: CD gave me that same picture when Mally went down to that dose and it really helped a lot! I spent some time looking at the picture and practicing with a syringe and colored water. :smile:
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54

Okey dokey. Thank you CD and Chris. I don't have the 1/3 marks but I get the picture. Yay Webber!
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54

paige said:
Thank you but I don't have the syringes with the 1/2 marks. Are there any other pics? Hehe
Oh. You know I don't think we have any like that. But we should photograph some for peeps that don't have the syringes with 1/2 markings.
But hey, your kitty is micro-dosed, you need those! I guess you didn't expect Webber to get to a low dose so fast did ya? :lol:
Are you having trouble finding the 1/2 syringes? I have some extra if you want some.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54

I did not expect this so fast is RIGHT!

I am going to go tomorrow and try to pick some up. Thank you for offering. I will also play around and see if I can get some pics with my syringes that may help others if the future.
 
Re: 2/5 Webber PMPS=79 +3.25~42 +3.75~54

So I am playing around with 0.25 dose and it seems to be two drops. Does that sounds right? confused_cat
 
Two drops, three drops are about it. It really depends on what your other dose was... if your 0.50 was about 5 drops, then you got it right.
It's all relative since each person views their syringes a tiny bit differently. I guess basically you are aiming for about half of what you shot previously. That probably didn't help, but you know what I mean? Just shoot as close to the same amount each time and call it your 0.25u. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top