2/5 - Trixie - AMPS 196, +3 169, +5 144, +7 157, +9 184

Kat & Trixie

Member Since 2025
Hi Everyone,

Hope you and your kitties are all doing well! :cat:

Trixie had been doing so well with Nadirs in the low hundreds but the last couple of days they have been a bit higher and I'm not too sure why? Maybe a bounce from the low blues on 1/31...

I know I have read in other posts that doses can be held for too long sometimes, how do we know when that is the case? She has been on this dose for over 10 days now. She does get nadirs between 90 and 150 but I guess I'm wondering about the inconsistency.

Sorry if this is a silly question.

2/2 - Trixie - AMPS 229, +2 189, +5 108, PMPS 189 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Hi Kat! I can't answer questions about dosing, but I'm wondering...if you're doing slgs, why are you continuing to hold the dose after ten days?? Also, is there a reason you're not doing TR? Just curious.
 
Hi Kat! I can't answer questions about dosing, but I'm wondering...if you're doing slgs, why are you continuing to hold the dose after ten days?? Also, is there a reason you're not doing TR? Just curious.[/QUOTE
Hi Mary, it is my understanding from the SLGS if nadirs are between 90 and 100 you hold the dose and only increase if the nadirs are above 150 and Trixie's nadirs although close to 150, have been below that. Maybe I am not understanding it properly. (I'll go back and read the sticky)

Regarding TR - I have been testing her as much as I can to try to gather lots of data and look for patterns while I can since I work from home, but that will soon be changing as I am required to return to work in the office and I won't be able to test and monitor like I am now.
 

Okay, thanks--now I understand your TR vs. SLGS protocol rationale. You are certainly testing enough for TR, so I wasn't sure why you aren't following it. Once I switched Jude to TR, it seemed that his numbers got better. I think this is because I didn't have to hold doses so long AND because I could allow him to go lower than 90 and not give a dose decrease. Given that we are on TR now, what has happened is his numbers are getting close to regulated which means they are going lower, of course, but lower numbers and not being home to test don't go together. As his numbers have decreased, I've resorted to sneaking Jude into the office many days of the week, but not everyone can do that (and if someone reports me, I may not be able to do it anymore, either).

I'm not sure about the SLGS dosing question; I'm sure someone will weigh in for you on that.
 
The goal when following SLGS is to get nadirs in the 90-150 range, which may also mean preshots are outside that range periodically. Trixie is still getting those nadirs which would mean continuing to hold the dose. And since you’ve just recently stopped feeding dry, I’d let that work itself out of her system.

You could consider TR now that dry food is out of the mix but since that’s a recent change, it would be worth waiting to see what effects removing the dry completely has on her BG.

I follow TR and work full time ;). Have a peek at this info: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full-Time Job
 
Thanks Christie! We shall see what the next few days hold to see if getting rid of the dry will show in her BG numbers.

TR definitely sounds like the way to go, I just don’t know if I’m brave enough :nailbiting: to try it when I return to in office work and out of the house from her +2 to +8.
 
Hi Kat & Trixie! I understand your trepidation with TR and working. I do it and it can be nerve wracking. But once you learn the patterns and carb sensitivity, it gets easier. Take a look at this
Hi Kat & Trixie! I understand your trepidation with TR and working. I do it and it can be nerve wracking. But once you learn the patterns and carb sensitivity, it gets easier. Take a look at this
Thank you Angela! :bighug:

That was my reasoning for all the testing I’m doing now. To learn how her day flows and what to expect so I could eventually switch to TR but I’m quickly learning no two days are alike :rolleyes:

I know with time and more experience I’ll get there.:)
 
Back
Top