Deb and Tiger
Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-4-tiger-amps-481-5-215-7-25-116-8-25-98-8-5-87.286344/
Good morning,
Hope everyone has a good Monday.
Good morning,
Hope everyone has a good Monday.
Beautiful cycle last night, Deb! Even with the reduced dose. I hope you managed a little sleep, but I’m guessing probably not since you’ve had to be up to scan Tiger.https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-4-tiger-amps-481-5-215-7-25-116-8-25-98-8-5-87.286344/
Good morning,
Hope everyone has a good Monday.



Ty! Yes but the trampoline is out this morning.Good morning Deb! He went down fast after his bounce yesterday evening, that's great. i hope you have a good day.
Beautiful cycle last night, Deb! Even with the reduced dose. I hope you managed a little sleep, but I’m guessing probably not since you’ve had to be up to scan Tiger.
Sending you wishes for strength today. I hope he feels well and eats well for you today![]()
Hi Deb,Ty! Yes but the trampoline is out this morning.
You are so right Staci, he did have a beautiful cycle but being he’s so unpredictable lately, I went to sleep about 5am. The appetite enhancer seems to be waning a bit. TG poor baby actually threw up from eating food so fast. I only used less than 1/2 a dose too!
Don’t think we will do that again, it was like he was starving, crying for food. So tough to say no to him .
somewhere today I have to get some sleep today but afraid we will have a big dive coming today….
Wishing you both a great day!





Hi Deb,
Just a suggestion...give him a teaspoon or two at a time so he can't gobble so fast. Have yo tried that yet? I guess it's all; trial and error, we kwarn what works as we go, and what doesn't work.
I hope you can sleep a bit today. Hoping for a more stable cycle for Tiger, and for you, too![]()
Me too! Last night I knew I had one shot since I couldn’t give him much food so I I used the 20%. I don’t think this is the right dose but maybe it will help him settle down. Last nights trouble was accentuated by using the appetite enhancer…..my mistake!You can also get slow cat feeding bowls for wet food. It would force him to slow down a bit.
I hope you can get him to a dose where you don't have to feed the 20% you've been doing. See if you can see if that's contributing to his upset tummy.
One step forward. Two steps backward. It’s a slow process of up and down. Their body has to learn to be in lower numbers again. Get your “patience pants” on as they say around here. Mine are fugly and tattered (seriously, you should see the sweatpants I wear to hang out with Ivy fur 3 hours each morning at 5:30 am. My husband looks at me like….really is this what I’m married?)Ok so I have a question…..with SLgS you reduce the dose anytime he goes under 90. Then gradually reducing to zero and remission ideally. But at this point with Tiger it seems to just causes bouncing and more drops and reductions. What will ever stop this?
we seem to go along good at a dose and then he drops and we reduce. Doesn’t seem like we get anywhere?
I just want to understand better what we are striving for?
Thanks for helping me learn!
I was thrilled when she only bounced to pink. Oh thank you so much! That makes it so much clearer to know where we want to end up! Thanks for keeping it simple for me.Eventually (and the timing is up to Tiger), cats will see enough normal blood glucose number that they will be comfortable with them, and not bounce as much. Note, it took Neko a year to stop bouncing to reds.I was thrilled when she only bounced to pink.
Some cats it takes hardly any time at all. The saying ECID or every cat is different is so true.
Anyway, once they settle down they'll start to flatten out and the range of numbers will be a lot less. When following SLGS, you want to get to a place where his nadirs are in the 90-149 range all the time, ideally in the lower of that range. I personally found that will nadirs in the 70's for Neko (I was following TR), she only bounced as high as low 200's when she did bounce.
The next step for Tiger is to try to find a dose where he can safely get nadirs in the 90-149 range and hopefully he'll be better regulated. Regulation is a prerequisite to remission. And regulation is a lot more predictable cycles. You'll sleep better and get more of your life back. A lot of cats don't go into remission, but regulation is a pretty good place to be too.
As Staci says, it's not all up in dose then turn around and go straight down. We call it the FD (feline diabetes) dance. It's like a two step. You are dealing with fragile pancreatic beta cells that are trying to heal. Sometimes they heal for a bit, but then need more support. It's very common to have to circle up and down in dose for a while. Just follow what the blood glucose numbers tell you to do. It's worked for hundreds of cats so far.
Wendy, this is such a great explanation! So clear and concise!!Eventually (and the timing is up to Tiger), cats will see enough normal blood glucose number that they will be comfortable with them, and not bounce as much. Note, it took Neko a year to stop bouncing to reds.I was thrilled when she only bounced to pink.
Some cats it takes hardly any time at all. The saying ECID or every cat is different is so true.
Anyway, once they settle down they'll start to flatten out and the range of numbers will be a lot less. When following SLGS, you want to get to a place where his nadirs are in the 90-149 range all the time, ideally in the lower of that range. I personally found that will nadirs in the 70's for Neko (I was following TR), she only bounced as high as low 200's when she did bounce.
The next step for Tiger is to try to find a dose where he can safely get nadirs in the 90-149 range and hopefully he'll be better regulated. Regulation is a prerequisite to remission. And regulation is a lot more predictable cycles. You'll sleep better and get more of your life back. A lot of cats don't go into remission, but regulation is a pretty good place to be too.
As Staci says, it's not all up in dose then turn around and go straight down. We call it the FD (feline diabetes) dance. It's like a two step. You are dealing with fragile pancreatic beta cells that are trying to heal. Sometimes they heal for a bit, but then need more support. It's very common to have to circle up and down in dose for a while. Just follow what the blood glucose numbers tell you to do. It's worked for hundreds of cats so far.


