2/5 Stu AMPS 394,+3 301,+6 341 Dose increase tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=51081#p51081

Good morning everyone,
After actually getting a blue number at +6 yesterday (151), we seem to have bounced back. This evening begins a new 3-day period and I think that Stu's dose should be raised by .25 to 2.50 units bid Lantus. Please have a look at Stu's spreadsheet and advise. Yesterday Stu was grooming his coat more vigorously than usual and then spit up a sizable hairball. Otherwise nothing new in his cat behavior. He's a big, good natured lug of a cat. I worry about his ears, however. It gets more and more difficult to get the drop of blood. This weekend his ears should get a bit of a rest because we are having houseguests and our testing schedule will have to be more flexible. AMPS and PMPS will be at the usual times, but +6 may not always be at +6 and some of the other spot tests I've been able to get might not get done. We'll see what the weekend brings. Thank you all for helping us!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 2/5 Stu AMPS 394 Dose increase tonight?

IMHO I think you should wait till tomorrow to increase dose--I am not a fan of raising doses at pmps, as then we are up a lot of the night...If you are having company, see if you can get a +2, +4 & +6 if you increase the dose--Are you giving treats when you test?? dried chicken treats or real chicken?? It distracts them while eating & that's when I test..Be quick & calm & it gets easier as they associate the ear prick with food :mrgreen:
If I can help any, believe me Moonie was the WORST with the testing!! :evil:
My suggestion is to increase tomorroe, as sometimes the cats wait for the last second of the cycle to come down--The blue yesterday is inspiring :-D .. You are doing great--Dont worry about the ear--I use neosporin +pain or vaseline sometimes to care for the ear every time I test..They do heal sometimes by evening..
Please also wait for others opinions, but I would increase after waiting out the full 6 cycles--Paws & fingers crossed!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/5 Stu AMPS 394 Dose increase tonight?

I have a different spin than Roni. I've often increased dose at the PM cycle especially before a weekend. In many cases, it takes a cycle or two for the shed to fill on an increased dose. I do think that you need to consider if you are increasing a dose, there will be a need to check BG over the next few days. It may be perfectly fine to check at variable times -- in fact it's always a good way to fill in your SS so you don't have checks that are always at the same times and because the nadir can vary. I'm just a tiny bit concerned that you're wanting to raise the dose but may not be around to get checks.
 
Re: 2/5 Stu AMPS 394, +3 301 Dose increase tonight?

Thanks Roni & Sienne,
The insulin shot I gave this morning was the 6th of the cycle, so this evening would actually start the new 3-day cycle. But I do appreciate the advice that it would be good to wait and begin the new cycle with tomorrow morning so as to permit more frequent monitoring. Yes, I do give treats (a little tuna in water) immediately after the test, and Stu loves that and is always hanging around at test time. I use vasoline before the test to make the drop of blood bead up, and a dab of Neosporin creme with pain killer after the test. Stu's numbers today are running high (they have been mostly in the pinks throughout this 3-day cycle), so I think I need to increase the dose soon. (In December he was at 7 units of Lantus as prescribed by the vet. He almost hypoed. I took him down gradually to 4 units before beginning all over again at 1.50 units in the evening of January 27th . Now we are at 2.25). Thanks again for the good advice. We will be in and out of the house tomorrow (not gone all day), so I don't think that getting checks at various times will be a problem.

Ella
 
Hi again. Stu's +9 number is 330. The "curve" today is really flat (and high). It may be delayed wonkiness! According to the modified Tilly Protocol I should increase the dose by .5 of a unit, but since yesterday's numbers were lower, I think I will increase the dose this evening by .25 of a unit. I would rather do the increase this evening rather than tomorrow morning (this evening is the beginning of the next 3-day cycle). Roni and Sienne have already given considered advice. Would anyone else weigh in on this issue? Many thanks!
Ella & Stu
 
Roni and I may offer an opinion; I wouldn't necessarily qualify it as advice. Hopefully, some others will stop by who are experienced with dosing issues.

I can't imagine what it must have been like to have had Stu on that much insulin especially if he hadn't been gradually worked up to that dose. It sounds like it was more than a little scarey.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top