2/5 Sandy AMPS 163, 120@+2, 47@+4

That would be great if you could get a ketone test Liza.
And can you scan the meter and tell us what the BG is as well please?
I am talking to someone about what we should do with Sandy today.
Try and stay awake a bit longer til we get it all sorted if you can:)
 
Hi Liza,

Bron asked me to stop by.
I take it you haven't shot yet?
Once you get a ketone test, let us know and maybe grab another test after that pmps, I'm guessing you are about 30min beyond shot time?
Hi, very ruff night and having hard time staying awake even with alarms st every half hour. It’s bee 1 hour past **** time. I just scanned and he’s at 149
 
That would be great if you could get a ketone test Liza.
And can you scan the meter and tell us what the BG is as well please?
I am talking to someone about what we should do with Sandy today.
Try and stay awake a bit longer til we get it all sorted if you can:)
He’s at 149 at the moment, just about 1 hour past hit shy time.
 
Hi Liza,
I have discussed your situation with @Gill & George and we think you should skip this dose, because you are so sleep deprived and exhausted.
So give him a good feed of ordinary low carb food now and leave some more out for him for later or maybe your hubby could give him some if he is around. Or if needed you might need to set the alarm to make sure he does eat during the cycle. You won’t have to worry about him dropping low as he is not going to be getting any insulin.

For the next dose, can you move the time back a bit so he gets it around maybe 5 or 6pm. Would that work for you?
That way he won’t be going the full 12 hours without a dose.

You will need to test at that time and that will be your new preshot time. You will need to post and ask for help about the dose. I will tag @tiffmaxee to keep an eye out for you.
How does that sound?

Also get a ketone test when you can ...that is really important because we are skipping a dose.
 
We are both concerned because he has a recent DKA episode but equally he has been really difficult to keep out of those lime greens and you are clearly exhausted.

If we just had the DKA to worry about and you hadn't just pulled 24 hours of intensive monitoring and feeding, I would be thinking along the lines of reducing the dose to just a drop (you may need to do this in the morning).
But that is not where we are.
She's been difficult to maintain above lime green, she's on a tiny dose already (so shooting a token dose is not really feasible.
That 149 is influenced by the food 1 1/2 hours ago, so she's not exactly high.
And you may not be able to wake in the middle of the night and are exhausted from the last 24 hrs.

I think that the drop you have seen on the 0.1u cycle may well be influenced by the prior 0.25u dose, and may have resulted in those hard to shift lime greens. Especially if the 0.25u depot got overfull as we attempted to hold onto the dose for a few more days.


He ate a little bit 1 1/2 hours ago. He is asking for food at the moment
This is good.
and Bron tells me Sandy has seemed well and active, she's not lethargic and has been testing negative for ketones. So as long as that next pee test is negative for ketones, on balance, I think the skip may be the better/safer option in your case tonight. It will mean that you can feed him his normal low carb food which I believe he prefers.

Both Bron and I felt that if you can possibly bring the next shot time forward so she doesn't go as long without insulin, it might mitigate the skip somewhat.

For the pee sample, if you go and scrabble the kitty litter, that might make him go, I know my lot all flock to the litter tray when they hear me cleaning it out.
 
Hi Liza,
I have discussed your situation with @Gill & George and we think you should skip this dose, because you are so sleep deprived and exhausted.
So give him a good feed of ordinary low carb food now and leave some more out for him for later or maybe your hubby could give him some if he is around. Or if needed you might need to set the alarm to make sure he does eat during the cycle. You won’t have to worry about him dropping low as he is not going to be getting any insulin.

For the next dose, can you move the time back a bit so he gets it around maybe 5 or 6pm. Would that work for you?
That way he won’t be going the full 12 hours without a dose.

You will need to test at that time and that will be your new preshot time. You will need to post and ask for help about the dose. I will tag @tiffmaxee to keep an eye out for you.
How does that sound?

Also get a ketone test when you can ...that is really important because we are skipping a dose.
Ok sounds good thank you
 
We are both concerned because he has a recent DKA episode but equally he has been really difficult to keep out of those lime greens and you are clearly exhausted.

If we just had the DKA to worry about and you hadn't just pulled 24 hours of intensive monitoring and feeding, I would be thinking along the lines of reducing the dose to just a drop (you may need to do this in the morning).
But that is not where we are.
She's been difficult to maintain above lime green, she's on a tiny dose already (so shooting a token dose is not really feasible.
That 149 is influenced by the food 1 1/2 hours ago, so she's not exactly high.
And you may not be able to wake in the middle of the night and are exhausted from the last 24 hrs.

I think that the drop you have seen on the 0.1u cycle may well be influenced by the prior 0.25u dose, and may have resulted in those hard to shift lime greens. Especially if the 0.25u depot got overfull as we attempted to hold onto the dose for a few more days.



This is good.
and Bron tells me Sandy has seemed well and active, she's not lethargic and has been testing negative for ketones. So as long as that next pee test is negative for ketones, on balance, I think the skip may be the better/safer option in your case tonight. It will mean that you can feed him his normal low carb food which I believe he prefers.

Both Bron and I felt that if you can possibly bring the next shot time forward so she doesn't go as long without insulin, it might mitigate the skip somewhat.

For the pee sample, if you go and scrabble the kitty litter, that might make him go, I know my lot all flock to the litter tray when they hear me cleaning it out.
Ok. He didn’t eat very much when he did eat, he usually takes 3-4 licks of food and he’ll be done. But yes probably why his number is up little higher now. He is up at the moment but he’s not walking around much just sitting with all his legs tucked in. I will tray and feed low carb food now.
Thank you for your help
 
brons headed to bed, I'm around for the next couple of hours, if you need anything.
Then I have to walk dogs/feed the gang, and I'll check back in after all that
Ok. I’m feeding Sandy now and am going to try and get a quick 30 min nap now while my husband is walking dogs, he will be gone soon for about 3 hours and I’ll be watching over the pack too. These furry kiddos are so much work aren’t they.
Thank you for your help
 
Nice to see him still in the blues. Hopefully he is still acting fine?

Just a house keeping note.
In the dose column notate the skip with a NS.
Then the +13 will go in the +1 column.
Then the +18 in the +6 and so on for any other tests you take.


Get some rest.
 
Nice to see him still in the blues. Hopefully he is still acting fine?

Just a house keeping note.
In the dose column notate the skip with a NS.
Then the +13 will go in the +1 column.
Then the +18 in the +6 and so on for any other tests you take.


Oh ok! I will fix that!
I have a question also.
Sandy has only had about a table spoon of ff pate in past 7 hours and not all at once he’s just grazed at it over the hours. Since his shot time will be around 5-6pm today (about 3 hours away) and given the past drops. What should I feed next? What percent carb should I feed to help prevent another low drop?
Trying to figure it out now in case I need to go out and grab something different than what I have
 
What is he at now?

He has come up a bit, we don't actually want him to come up too high. I would stick to the LC. and don't feed him anything after +10.
Do you think he is full from all the steering in the earlier cycle? Has he had a good amount of food in the last 24hrs?
or do you think he's feeling icky?
 
What is he at now?

He has come up a bit, we don't actually want him to come up too high. I would stick to the LC. and don't feed him anything after +10.
Do you think he is full from all the steering in the earlier cycle? Has he had a good amount of food in the last 24hrs?
or do you think he's feeling icky?
I’m the last 24 hrs he’s probably had 2oz of food tops. And few temptations as snacks when I couldn’t get him to eat anything else. Maybe 10 total(2 calories each).
Trying to give him some of the ff pate that is LC now but he doesn’t seem to want it anymore. He will probably eat the other ff that I have with gravy but that’s about 12% carbs. I know he needs to eat so I’m trying to figure out what’s best and try that but if it fails give him what he will eat. This has been my daily struggle with him.
Or do I wait until it’s shot time to see if she will eat before I give it maybe his appetite will be a little better?
I’ve been giving small snacks and I’m starting to think this is why he just won’t eat because a couple of licks will be enough for his belly to be content throughout the day.
He seems ok, I just woke him up he’s been sleeping since the morning just got up to pee couple of times. He went for the food but smelled it and walked away.
So should I just not give him anything now for another 2 1/2 hours so he will eat then?
He’s only hit a 30 minute window now as it is to eat something anyway and I doubt he will
 
He will probably eat the other ff that I have with gravy but that’s about 12%
give him that if he will eat it, it's important to get calories into him.
Perhaps avoid the temptations for now unless he ends up in lime green or you are desperate, I have one kitty that sometimes needs persuading to eat his food by me sprinkling some treats on his food. They are really high in carbs. I've seen just one or two send kittis BG through the roof, though some kitties are more carb sensitive than others.
What time are you going to shoot? BTW the dose should be 0.1u.
(I see you have a +20 (+8) and he is flat)
 
give him that if he will eat it, it's important to get calories into him.
Perhaps avoid the temptations for now unless he ends up in lime green or you are desperate, I have one kitty that sometimes needs persuading to eat his food by me sprinkling some treats on his food. They are really high in carbs. I've seen just one or two send kittis BG through the roof, though some kitties are more carb sensitive than others.
What time are you going to shoot? BTW the dose should be 0.1u.
(I see you have a +20 (+8) and he is flat)
I was planning on 6pm. It’s 4:20 here now. That puts him at about +10.5 from last shot. The plan was to do it prior to the +12 so he wouldn’t go too long after skipping dose.
He only took a couple of bites btw so now he’s got ruffly 1 1/2 hours to go for shot.
 
He only took a couple of bites btw so now he’s got ruffly 1 1/2 hours to go for shot.
That's good that he ate a bit more.
Next time he heads for the LB do you think you might manage another ketone test, seeing he has skipped an insulin dose.
Next shot we think a 0.1u, though he dropped when you shot that it was only the first cycle, so it was the depot from the 0.25u that was driving that cycle.
I hope you got some sleep today.
 
I didn’t really get straight rest but took small naps here and there and it helped. Hopefully will be a good night for him so I can rest easy. Crossing fingers
 
I didn’t really get straight rest but took small naps here and there and it helped. Hopefully will be a good night for him so I can rest easy. Crossing fingers
I hope so too.
It's important to catch the drop early, and feed to keep him from dropping. You may need to use the higher carb food especially in the earlier part of the cycle.
I'd get a first test no later than +2.

It's past midnight here for me.
You're in good hands with @Christie & Maverick
Good Bob shooting.

I'll look in tomorrow.
 
I hope so too.
It's important to catch the drop early, and feed to keep him from dropping. You may need to use the higher carb food especially in the earlier part of the cycle.
I'd get a first test no later than +2.

It's past midnight here for me.
You're in good hands with @Christie & Maverick
Good Bob shooting.

I'll look in tomorrow.
Ok thank you for all your help I really appreciate it. Hope you have a good night!
 
@Liza Morales I see in your SS that Sandy has come down at +1 to 114, so if you haven't already, I would suggest you give her a teaspoon or two of LC. If the +2 is lower yet, then I'd say we need a little of the HC food to slow her down a bit. I'm trying to catch up on some history, but if I understand correctly, you needed to use HC before.
 
@Liza Morales I see in your SS that Sandy has come down at +1 to 114, so if you haven't already, I would suggest you give her a teaspoon or two of LC. If the +2 is lower yet, then I'd say we need a little of the HC food to slow her down a bit. I'm trying to catch up on some history, but if I understand correctly, you needed to use HC before.
I gave him a teaspoon of food @+1, then he had a few licks of food at +2, now at +3 he dropped to 58.
It’s 9:30 at night here and e is sleeping I’m going to try and wake him up to see if he will eat. I don’t understand why he keeps having these drops at such a low amount of insulin.
 
There are a few FF chicken in gravy foods, so I'd say we have 12-15% carb. Ideally we want him to flatten out now, so can you squeeze a little more of the gravy for him? It is harder when they aren't that interested in eating.
 
There are a few FF chicken in gravy foods, so I'd say we have 12-15% carb. Ideally we want him to flatten out now, so can you squeeze a little more of the gravy for him? It is harder when they aren't that interested in eating.
He’s had about 3 ounces of food since hit **** time. He has now dropped to 47. Somethings not working here. He’s had these drops even when I was giving .25 and BG was over 200
 
Okay, he's going to need to get up above 50, so can you give him a little more of the FF chicken with a drop of syrup or honey? How is he acting otherwise?
 
Okay, he's going to need to get up above 50, so can you give him a little more of the FF chicken with a drop of syrup or honey? How is he acting otherwise?
He’s actually hungry and eating, he had some more of the chicken in gravy I looked it up and it’s 13% carbs.
He is acting fine, he walked over to the food bowl and started to eat. But I’m worried he’s going to back to sleep and it’s just going to get worse
 
The early drops tend to have a little more speed to them, I'm glad he's eating. Liza, I know it is a bit of a chore, but can you update your title to show this evening's numbers so far?
 
Liza, I'll be back shortly, I just need to check on my sugar kitty, if you can see where Sandy is at 20 Minutes from the carbs please?
Ok I just scanned him again and he’s up to 65. But this is exactly what was going on last night to and he’d come up and drop back down. Will scan in 20 minutes again
 
If I recall correctly, the previous time you had also used syrup by now? Syrups are good at bringing up the numbers, but do tend to wear off quickly. The FF is technically MC food, of course depending on how carb sensitive your cat is.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top