2/5 Sandy AMPS 163, 120@+2, 47@+4

Have you checked the BG again? Wendy mentioned that the Libre sometimes reads even lower than the human meters when under 50.
The libre will give you a reading above 40. If lower than 40. It will say LO, I looked it up and it said it’s too low to read. It will also only go up to 500 anything above that will just said HI won’t give you a reading.
I’ve been afraid to shoot when he is under 200 because I keep struggling to keep his number steady, if I don’t stay on him he drops. My worry is if I fall asleep and he drops. I honestly don’t know what I’m going to do at this point because I can’t take many more of these nights and have the result be the same. I was asked yesterday when I asked this same question and my concern why I’m aiming to stay above 200.
Here’s the thing. He will eat fancy feast pate, but his numbers will come down which is good, so if no DKA this would be his way to remission.
But because he had DKA I can’t stop insulin.
But when u give it under 200 he has drops similar to this.
I’m seriously at a loss here.
 
I’m back. Sorry I was so long. I see you have been battling to keep the BGs up this cycle.
Yes really struggling, I’m setting my alarm to 1/2 hours because I’m also struggling to stay awake. He went up a little and now back down to 53.
He is asleep and I tried to feed just now again and he’s not interested and went back to sleep.
 
Liza, would he eat the FFpate with a bit of honey in it?
I’ve got about 4 plates of different foods including classic chicken pate. He had a couple of bites of ff beef in gravy just now. His numbers don’t seem to be changing much. Bouncing in low still.
His next shot is in 5 hours and I’m already stressing out about that one. I really don’t feel comfortable giving him any more insulin when he’s in lower numbers. This is happening too many times now.
I understand Falmouth of carbs in foods matter and important to stick to wet food but Sandy just isn’t cooperating with any of it. My biggest worry is he will drop lower next time so if there is anything else I can do besides given insulin when numbers are low I’m open to it.
is it possible to give 1 shot a day?
 
Liza I am waiting to hear back from the moderators about Sandy.
We know you are exhausted and having trouble getting Sandy to eat enough to stay up in normal numbers.
Hang in there. I will stay with you now. Elise is heading to bed. Thanks so much Elise!
 
You are doing well.
Its hard to function when you are so tired.
:bighug:
It sure is, im not exaggerating I’ve gotten about 20 hours of broken sleep past week.
Even when I can lie down for few hours I’m awake with worry and have even woken up in a panic over Sandy.
He is just the sweetest cat and I love all my pets so much I can’t stand the thought of something happening to him again.
 
Great! Don’t feed him this time and let’s see if he can stay up on his own.
I’ll watch for your next test.
Have you managed to get a ketone test in this cycle?
I got one this morning. I usually try and get it early in the day. Is AMPS & PMPS a cycle together? So 24 hours? Or is a cycle counted as every 12? If so should I be testing his urine twice a day?
 
What time is it there at the moment? the reason I’m asking is because I’m thinking it is probably in the early hours of the morning...is that correct.
 
What time is it there at the moment? the reason I’m asking is because I’m thinking it is probably in the early hours of the morning...is that correct.
It’s 8:30 am over here. And I’m here just getting up with alarms because I’m falling asleep right away sorry for th Edelman in answering
 
Liza I was concerned you had fallen asleep. I know you are really tired after days of close monitoring.
And I know you have been trying to get back to a better schedule for the shots.
What I was going to suggest is, because you have had such a hard time getting Sandy up over 50 and keeping him there today, you skip this dose, get a few hours sleep and then shoot around 8 am tomorrow but it’s already past that time.
You don’t sound in any fit state to be trying to monitor Sandy today.
When did you last test for ketones?
 
Liza I was concerned you had fallen asleep. I know you are really tired after days of close monitoring.
And I know you have been trying to get back to a better schedule for the shots.
What I was going to suggest is, because you have had such a hard time getting Sandy up over 50 and keeping him there today, you skip this dose, get a few hours sleep and then shoot around 8 am tomorrow but it’s already past that time.
You don’t sound in any fit state to be trying to monitor Sandy today.
When did you last test for ketones?
Sorry I really am struggling
I’m going to try and see if I can test him soo if I manage to catch him using the litter box.
 
Hi Liza,

Bron asked me to stop by.
I take it you haven't shot yet?
Once you get a ketone test, let us know and maybe grab another test after that pmps, I'm guessing you are about 30min beyond shot time?
 
Back
Top