Re: 2/5 Samwise AMPS 479
Hi, Sue ~
That 479 (or 467?) at AMPS is likely bounce off that lower yellow 266 at PMPS yesterday, since Sam hasn't been in the yellows for a while. In fact, Sam could have gone lower last night and be bouncing off that low number, no way to tell. Bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear, not always that long. Sue, you need to hold the 1.0U dose allowing time for the bounce to clear. Even though you're seeing those higher numbers, you don't want to increase the dose now in the middle of a bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you'll be able to see how the 1.0U dose is working for Sam.
"I will try an increase if he doesn't start coming down consistently." -- Since Sam does tend to bounce and bounce fairly high, you want to be sure you're not reacting to higher numbers caused by a bounce when you make the decision to increase the dose. For now, stay with the 1.0U dose, Sue.
On 1/29, you got an AMPS of 283 for Sam and a 101 AM +6, both nice numbers. But then at PMPS, you got that much higher 544 and the 563 at AMPS the next morning on 1/30. It's hard not to react, I know, by increasing the dose when you see such high numbers for your dear furguy, but those numbers were bounces off your lower numbers in the AM of 1/29 and should have been given up to 72 hours to clear. Since you increased Sam's dose to .80U for AM 1/30, you don't know how he would have responded to the .70U dose after the bounce. It's possible that the current 1.0U dose is a bit too high and that you'll be able to work with .75U or a skinny 1U, but for now, I think it makes sense to stay with the 1.0U dose until the bounce has cleared to see how it works for Sam.
Hope you and Sam have a good afternoon, Sue.
Eva