2/5 - Sabian (new Prozinc) AMPS-313, +11-418

Status
Not open for further replies.

patrick_777

Member Since 2011
Reference to my initial dx thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35957

Just got another reading on her, and it's still high 330 at +4. AMPS this morning was 313 and I gave 1u during a meal and then we took a nap. Not sure I can infer much from this one reading yet though so I'm going to take another in a couple of hours and see if the number changes. I'm also much less stressed about the high number as I was the low.
 
Re: 2/5 - Sabian (new Prozinc) AMPS-313, +4-330

Yes, it is just one number. You need enough numbers to see trends. You are doing great.
 
Re: 2/5 - Sabian (new Prozinc) AMPS-313, +4-330

These are the higher numbers that I was suspecting you would see today. If kitty drops quickly from a very high number to a double digit number the liver will usually panic. Even if that double digit number isn't a hypo number, her body isn't used to experiencing a drop like that and will try to protect itself. The liver has glycogen stores that it will use in cases like this. So, do not be discouraged if the numbers don't drop below 300 today. Give it a few more shot cycles to see what this 1u will even out to. If after 3-4 days of 1u you are still seeing high numbers, then you can increase the dose.
 
Re: 2/5 - Sabian (new Prozinc) AMPS-313, +4-330

Like others have said I wouldn't be too worried about her being in the 300s today after that whopping dose yesterday, since we really don't know how far she actually dropped. Let her settle in to that 1u for a few days and see where she goes from there, your doing great.

Mel< Max & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/5 - Sabian (new Prozinc) AMPS-313, +7-347

Updated the thread title. She just tested 347 at +7 hours. I'm planning on keeping the 1u going at least through Monday to see what her levels do. I'm not going to test her again until before tonight's PM shot though. Although, she does like the treats and the attention now. I did this last test with just the lancet (no pen as a handle or anything) and she seemed to take it easier. I did have to poke a few times to get it deep enough to draw though.
 
Thanks!

Another test an hour before her PM shot, 418. High high high...still just 1u though.

How normal is it for me to be so scared to give her a shot a few hours before I'm to go to sleep? I'm so frightened that I'm going to sleep through something horrible happening and never forgive myself.
 
Hey Patrick...you're doing great with the testing. With a diet change and a little insulin maybe Sabian can go OTJ (off the juice) soon. Fingers crossed.

If you need anything just holler.
 
Patrick, the likelihood of her going down too low overnight is remote. You gave her one unit today and it did not take her down too low from the 313. I think you can sleep with no worries. Be sure to test and come on in the morning, giving people enough time to respond.

Tomorrow I would get some ketone strips and do ketone testing. This is another way to keep her safe: ketones
 
Hey Patrick,

I think it is very normal, given the stressful day you had yesterday to worry about everything right now, but with that last number and only 1u today you shouldn't have to worry about a thing, and you can get a good night's sleep.
Its the folks that don't worry, that concerns me. Any good parent worries when their child is sick. But Sabian is in very good and loving hands....YOURS!

You are doing a fantastic job, so early in this dance.

Thanks Sue for the Ketone reminder, I forget about that since my Max went OTJ so quickly with the diet change.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
patrick_777 said:
How normal is it for me to be so scared to give her a shot a few hours before I'm to go to sleep? I'm so frightened that I'm going to sleep through something horrible happening and never forgive myself.

A before bed test is often helpful, so you know what she is doing. If she is dropping fast or lower than usual you could stay up, or set an alarm to check in the middle of the night. Its often a good idea to leave a little food out at night, just in case. You can use a timed feeder, or freeze some ice cubes of wet food that will thaw thru the night. You will both be fine. She will probably let you know if she needs anything. Cats are good with that.

Testing time tips (you dont ALWAYS have to do ALL of them):
AMPS/PMPS (ALWAYS do)
+1 - good to do if shooting a lower number than usual
+2,3 or 4 - often times people are leaving for work or going to bed around these hours. Get a test before heading out the door or hitting the hay
+6 - Nadir time (however, note nadirs can be different on each cat and change around. Good starting ground). These can be hard to get as most people are sleeping or at work. Weekends are a good time for them.
+11- If you get this test you will see if kitty is rising or dropping come shot time. This can be really good information if you are suddenly given meter shock with a low number at shot time. It can help you to decide on shooting regular dose, reduced, or skipping.

When you do a curve, you can switch up the + hrs so you get more of a full picture (+2, 4, 6, 8, 10) or (+1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11).

I used to test HEAVY in the beginning of the cycles because I had a diver, then lay off near the end. Some people have to focus on mid cycle nadirs, or later. Its really whatever the cat dictates. They are in charge! :lol:
 
Thanks everybody. I'm not poking her tonight before bed (sharpish), I'm going to hold off until tomorrow. I think we've both had enough of the pokes and prods for the day. I've been using the ice cube in the food dish technique because I don't have ice cube trays. It seems to work, mainly because the food doesn't really last long anyway, there are 4 other cats in the house.

I'm going to have to work up to the ketone testing because she doesn't like me or any of the other cats watching her pee, much less poking around down there while she does it. It's been enough of an invasion for her already with the shots and the ears and everything, I don't want to really throw her off.

Although she likes the treats and the attention, I'm going to have to revise what I'm using to entice her. Right now, due to not having much else tasty in the house, I'm using about 10-15 kibbles of the Purina DM food the vet gave me (she LOVES it). It gets her really excited, so I'm hoping I can grab something low-carb that's tasty like that soon.
 
Patrick,

Oliver wouldn't pee while we were watching either. We got aquarium gravel and put it in a litter box. Then we put him in a room with the box and he'd go. Only way we ever got a sample.

Hope you can find a lo carb treat. Some cats are really carb sensitive and even a few kibbles will raise bg levels.
 
One trick I learned for ketone testing with my Muse ( she was a modest girl too). Was to stick her in a room with food and water, and a litter box filled lightly with aquarium gravel instead of litter and then wait her out. I would check on her every so often and then once there was a puddle I would check that.

As for treats, one thing that I found that my gang dearly loves is chicken jerky that is sold as dog treats at Wal-mart. The Brand name is Waggin Trail. It comes in both chicken and duck. I just take scissors and cut them up into little bite size pieces and store them in a plastic air tight container. They are nothing but pure dried muscle meat and I now can't open a bag of croutons in the house without the furry kids thinking it is their treats...lol. Okay so the neighbors look at me funny for standing on the porch to open croutons, but they have been looking funny at me for years. :lol:

Mel. Max & The Fur Gang
 
Sue and Oliver said:
We got aquarium gravel and put it in a litter box. Then we put him in a room with the box and he'd go. Only way we ever got a sample.

That's a fantastic idea. Thank you for that. She has always gotten special treatment by getting to go into parts of the house (theater and bedroom) that the others aren't allowed, so sequestering her away for an afternoon is not a problem.

Thanks again.


MommaOfMuse said:
One trick I learned for ketone testing with my Muse ( she was a modest girl too). Was to stick her in a room with food and water, and a litter box filled lightly with aquarium gravel instead of litter and then wait her out. I would check on her every so often and then once there was a puddle I would check that.

Ditto!
 
freeze dried treats are low carb-
*Halo
*Pure bites
*Grandma Lucy's (a bit less expensive, probably have to order online)
*Pet Smart has cheap fd treats, but *made* in china (makes me nervous after food recalls, but to each his own w/no judgement)
*boiled chicken cubes

There is a woman in the Lantus group who gives her kitty shrimp when he hits a green number, for a treat. :lol:

Here is a link to other treats (all freeze dried, I think) someone on the site compiled:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9172

I never had a problem with ketone testing. My girl would peed so much (renal disease, diabetes)...she got in her box and stuck her tush OUTSIDE, then peed. I took out stock in puppy pee pads just to make my money back ;-) . Then again, we were two single gals living the life together. No secrets, no modesty! :lol: Hope you can figure out a way to get them. I liked the suggestions!

So for tomorrow - new thread? Link this one. Same subject line (maybe lower numbers tho?? :mrgreen: )

Hope you all have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top