2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5 +2 178 +3 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88399&start=50

yesterday's condo < who's catching on :smile:

amps 373
shot .25u
eating breakfast ( holy moley)

dont know what happen last night, i would have thought it would have been higher this morning? oh ruben get it together :-D

i know i wrote it already but he is still eating (maybe today will be better ) i cant tell you what this feels like, he was feeling so bad yesterday, he just finished. ate at least 1/4 a can (WHAT? WOW!)

well gonna get a +2 and then hoping to maybe go shopping, no food and broke, can't eat anymore pasta or raman :lol: :lol: :lol: oh fresh veggies here i come-
fingers, paws, tails crossed that his thing is running its course so i can focus on the diabetis(is it bad i hear wilfred brimmley saying diabetis my head when i type it :razz: )-its snowing here so so so beautiful. i LOVE snow and ruben and i are looking out the window together. no one in the world gets me like ruben ;-) my best friend

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88433-put this link so my mom could read
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

Morning Sam and extra sweet Ruben - you too Maple!

Yep girl, you got it goin' on now!!! I can tell that you're getting over the scared part of this and moving to 'understanding' - 'comfortable' will come soon!!! LOVE that!!! PROUD OF YOU!

YOU can keep all the snow - I can do without it, give me 90 baking degrees instead!

BIG HUG! HAPPY DANCE with you too!!!
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

Glad to hear Ruben is eating ... being normal. :-D

I'll take the snow... we need all the moisture we can get before fire season... :shock: :roll:

Hope you can enjoy getting out ... getting some fresh food...
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

Hi guys .. well looks like ruben is giving you permission to get out and go get some fresh veggies and fruit! Hoping afterwards he comes back down for you .. have a great day and be careful in the snow!
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

Squeaky and everyone here- you. are. great.!! love love your uplifting attitude- im am happy girl too< ive been told im annoyingly happy :lol: :lol: for some reason this thing with ruben has shook me. working hard to get back. hoping for a great day for ruben. still seems off but so far not as bad as yeasterday.
and i feel the same way about 90degrees that you do snow...ugh!! its so pretty here right now. a nice thing to focus on to stay mindful when i start going down the "what if" path.
sending you virtual sqeezes today :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
and belly rubs for your furr kid.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

I'm so happy to wake up to this very uplifting condo and news that Ruben is eating and better and Sam is getting out :-D

You are doing great! A +2 is a very good idea...proud of you for how fast you are learning.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

Sam

Just read through "The Late Late Show with Sammy and Kay" :lol: :lol: aka yesterday's condo with the last posts.

One thing...it's a myth that surgery can cause something to get worse by exposing it to air. What can happen is that the person/pet being operated on most likely already has a compromised system and the surgery further compromises it in many cases because it is hard on the body.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343

thats good to know marje- i'm really hoping it doesnt come to that, im going to pick up more bupe (about 4 days worth) figure if he's not improving significantly by then he needs to go back.
hoping the +2 isnt a big drop - its gonna take about 3hr or so to run all my errands so i need him to be safe b4 i leave
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312

+2 312
colors were so good, hoping the pinks are b/c maybe he's eating more? will check him when i get back which would be around +5-+6 hope thats okay
leaving food out for him, seems really sleepy. ugh hate not knowing what's going on. love you guys
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312

Sam,
Did you see my comment early this morning in yesterday's condo about possible dental issues?
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156

+6 156
how should i interper this number? wasn't here to test, does this mean he dropped low somewhere earlier since this is near the nadir time or should i think its been a gradual drop? and is it safe to test at +8 or +9 since im assuming this should be the upswing?
lil confused, but trying to take this number as a good thing, he greeted me at the door when i came in- hasnt done that in 2 weeks (in his defence i havent really left anywhere lol) but can tell he still doesnt feel great, but ill take what i can
am i an over analyzing fool? :-D

hi carl- i did see that and had asked the vet last time i was there and they said they didn't think so (tho they also said on an earlier appt(oct) that he had dental issue...go figure
if i dont see improvement in the next few days, i'm taking him back in and will def bring it up.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

+8 216
hum....wonder if he's eating more? he seems a little better today, not by much, but better is good, ill take it.
couldnt get on to FDMB for a while/ can't tell you how lost I felt. thank goodness its on again. love you guys way too much to not have access to you all.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

Glad to hear Ruben is starting to feel better!

Yes, the board went down tonight...it happens once in awhile...
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

I don't think you have to worry about him having gone too low. Looks to me like that was his nadir and then he started slowly back up. Good that he can get down to 156!!

Hoping he ate well and is doing better tonight and you got everything done.

I'll be on for your shot but I have to work tomorrow so I might make your +2 but after that I-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

I love seeing that +6 being a nice blue. It'd be nicer if it were green, okay Ruben? :mrgreen: Silver lining is at least you didn't have to worry about him going too low today. I wonder if the higher numbers might be because he's eating more today? If so, that's actually kind of a good thing.

RubenTheCat said:
stupid nightmares
apparently sleep isnt evenan escape, good thing is i jumped right on here and saw ans flet the love from here
cant say it enough, thank you guys. you have no idea what this place has been for me.
big deep breath and back to dream land to have dreams of kittens in baskets hatching out of freakin cupcakes, come on brain lets make it good dreams :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I had a nightmare, too! I dreamed that I had an upstairs balcony that I had forgotten about and out on that balcony were 3 feral cats I'd been taking care of...except I'd forgotten about them for a year! :o They were still alive and seemed fine, but I was freaking out because I hadn't fed them or changed their litter boxes in over a year and was so upset with myself that I actually woke up. Of course, I immediately checked outside my window to make sure there was no upstairs balcony I'd forgotten about :lol: and then gave Mikey and Henry some loving before falling asleep again.

Marje and Gracie said:
Sam

Just read through "The Late Late Show with Sammy and Kay" :lol: :lol: aka yesterday's condo with the last posts.
haha_smiley I'm sure it didn't help that I was on the bottle last night and I have a tendency to ramble. drinking24 (Belated birthday celebrations with the brother.) drinking09
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

Samantha,
Sorry for not being around much the past couple of days. My schedule got changed and I had to work early mornings, so no late night antics for me. :smile:

Today's numbers look good, and it sounds like he's eating better? That's good. Once he gets back to a normal eating routine, you'll be able to get a much better picture of what this dose is doing. He might need a little bit more insulin, but if that's so, that's fine. Let's get through this rough patch and worry about deal with that later.

Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

well im hoping his numbers are higher cause he's eating more and not the latter.
oh you guys are great-that is a nightmare!! poor kitties..lol

Kpassa- better dreams for us tonight and if for some reason you dont, come find me I'll be here. maybe we can meet up in dream land and sit in a basket big enough for us, our cats and 2 dozen kittens and just bath in the cuteness while the purring makes us deaf... :razz: :lol: :razz: <only child, i have an active imagination...lol

Marje-im just happy to see your post, if you could make it for my +2 that would be awsome, with the numbers i've been getting who knows what kind of night im in for.

why is thank you the only words i can come up with when thinking of you, marje. i know its wrong to play favorites but theres a comfort i recieve from you that makes me feel safe. i'm sorry i've latched onto you, it comes with no obligation. i dont mind sharing you with others but to me your mine and ruben's gaurdian angel. i truely believe that. i prayed and wished and hoped for help when i knew my vet wasn't taking this serious enough and then i found this wonderful place and poof there you were. my gut knew i was in the right place with the right people. gratitude is not a big enough emotion

(((((((((((((((((((((((((FDMB))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT amps 343 +2 312 +6 156 +8 216

dont know if this makes a difference but i havent test the pmps buts he's eating(yay) almost 2 cans (holy moley) :-D :-D enjoying the moment
im gonna est when he's done and shoot and post. (pending there isn't some weird number) then ill post first
brb
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222

pmps 110 tested again just to be sure on other ear and got 222?
what the heck is that about. not real comfortable shooting 222 let alone 110 (last time i shot that low had awful night) ugh....wt heck
should i delay?
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222

not there yet, why so differnt? should i test again?, really nervous to shoot 110- actually dont want to. nervous of the drop, he hasnt had consistancy enough for me to feel comfortable
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222

also i thought you were supposed to feed then shoot?

breath, sam breath no panic mode-you can do this.had to type this so i can go back and look at it. this needs to be my inner dialog,.....lol nailbite_smile why am i such a nut job when it comes to ruben
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222

he got up ate around 1015 i'd say he ate about 1/4 a can...tested left ear and got 110, paniced tested right ear and got 222 (tested about 5 min after he ate) now its been about a half an hour after he's eaten, im waiting to shoot cause im worried about his drop ( he drops 50 almost always it seem, especially at night) ugh now theres gonna be that food spike? what should i do...delay a few hours?
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222

How much time between eating and that test?
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222

Nevermind. Crossposted. Test him now?
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

I'm inclined to think the 222 was closer to reality given the rest of the AM cycle. And the 261 probably is the start of the rise from eating. Just curious which ear that number came from. I used to get different numbers from each of Bob's ears, and his left ear always bled better.
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

110 was on the left 222 was on the right and this 261 was on the left
ugh...should i shoot?
not asking anyone to stay on with me, but will there be someone here if for my +2 if i do shoot?
it was a scary night last time i shot this low...
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

Sam,
I can't scream "shoot" at you because I've got maybe an hour at most before I have to crash.
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

what do yo think? shoudl i delay an hour test/ skip to be safe, looking for an opinion?
when you say scream are suggesting i should, not catching on? i know the tools if no one here and always have the er vet, just dont know what to do?
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

shoot and test like crazy? its been 45 since he's ate. is that bad? hve i missed my window?
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

No, not saying you should or shouldn't shoot. Inside joke but Marje wasn't here to see it. ohmygod_smile

I don't think you gain anything from stalling though, since he already ate. You can stall without food to see if the number is rising on its own...

I think it's okay to shoot because you know what to look for at +2, or +3, and how to react if need be. But it's your call, Sam. I think you can "do this", but you have to believe it.
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

kk im gonna do it and test like crazy
i can do it...breath sam breath nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

kk, done. commited now. i honeslty wasnt sure, my hunch was delay and test, but knew testing should happen, goodness, can you imagine what it will be like, if i ever have to shoot a green...def would stroke out...lol already going tingley whole left side. im such a baske case....hate it. :oops:
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

Shoot.

I'm sorry...I was watching for you and then smelled burning chicken....I put chicken on for Gracie and forgot about it :twisted: just got brand new stainless steel pans :evil: :evil: :evil:

I can't stay up either but You know what to do, Sam. You know the drop you are watching for, when to feed, how much, how often to test. You can do it...I know you can. And he's eating better than he has in several days.

Ok..so we test, feed, shoot. Most of us test and then while they are eating, we shoot. No feeding between +10 and +12 so you don't shoot a food spike.

I think the 110 was probably a bad test since you got two others that are much closer together.

Just get a +2 ok?
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

By the time you need to shoot a "green" you'll be ready for it. :-D And so will Ruben.
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

I really think it's safe to shoot. And I can be here with you if necessary.

MJ
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

oh this place is to much goodness for me. unbelievable.
i shot and commited, i would love eyes for the +2 MJ but no pressure. i wouldnt be so nervous if i knew he drops slow, but he always tend to drop fast, thats what makes me so nervous.
breath, inhale exhale.....i can do this. have no choice. i have to remember that the vet would have me still shooting 1.u without checking at all. i just love him to much, i let that get in the way of my confidence. im looking for the definite safe answer and apparently with this disease its a feel around kinda answer
its like trying to find the light switch in a dark room.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

We all walk unchartered territory with FD. We can follow the protocol (which we aren't even doing with Ruben right now) but still the cats bodies are calling the shots.

You don't even realize how much you are already understanding Rubens patterns. Your confidence is in the fact that you can feed him, give him gravy, and if you have to, rub karo on his gums to keep him safe. The first time I got a 39 on Gracie, I didn't even post for help. I just grabbed a syringe, loaded up 0.5ml of karo and gave it to her and she loved every drop :lol: :lol: :lol: whoa.....a little drama queen because it was BOING!

Since you stalled, I wont be here for your +2. But MJ said she can help you ....bet you can figure it out, too!
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

thank you...i do know the tools, dont know why i cant trust myself, im a work in progress but i am in a forward motion. the votes of confidence are so appreciated and exactly what i need. i have such high regaurd for all of you here, that when i feel your confidence in me, i know it must be true. sorry for needing the validation :oops: but i'd be lying if i said i didnt need it. im not there yet, when he's better and on the protocol i think it will be easier for me. just want him to ge over this hump...
love you.
MJ- if you cant make the +2 (1:15am) ill understand, just say goodnight so if i go looking for you i'll know your in dream land.
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

I'm gonna wish you a good and quiet night, Sam:-)
I'll check in when I'm drinking the wake up cup of coffee in the AM.

Hugs,
Carl
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

yup, 1:15 am is doable.

Hey Ruben: think FLAT. Pretty blue or yellow flat numbers. That'll make your Mom happy.

MJ
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

oh yay Mj; yes ruben flat numbers, i will be 1:15 on the dot, promise. thanks mj
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

Sorry I won't be up but if I wake up, the suspense will be killing me :lol:

Thanks, MJ. \M/
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5

Ruben needs his own reality show.. :lol: :lol: :lol: more action and drama then the crap thats on t.v. lol
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5 +2

+2 178
gonna give some gl just to slow it down Marje-i know your sleeping but i sill hear you saying to try ff first but he wasnt interested thats why i went with gl, think i should get +3 or test in half hour?
fast drop but feeling ok as long as i can slow it down
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5 +2

This rate is not unusual for him. It's no faster than the night of 2/2 and 2/3, so if he holds true to that pattern, he'll be fine. Grab a +3 if it will ease your mind.

MJ
 
Re: 2/5 Ruben AT pmps 110/222 +261 +.5 +2 178

thanx mj- never thought i'd be so grateful for cat food...yay gl
the second pair of eyes makes a world of difference, thanks for reminding me about the other nights
((((((((((((((mj))))))))))))))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top