Re: 2/5 Joe AMPS 351 - First day of testing
Welcome to LL!
Just in case you haven't been overwhelmed with information, I'll be the first to say take a look at the permanent messages ("stickies") that are the starred items at the top of the Board. There is a huge amount of information there about Lantus, our dosing protocol, links to slang, getting a curve, etc.
Great job on getting your SS up and running. A question though -- are you shooting only once a day? You don't have a PMPS test noted or an insulin dose in the evening. I'm concerned because in cats, due to their high metabolism, Lantus is dosed twice a day. If you forgot to fill in the information, could you update the SS when you have a chance? Please take a look at the
dosing protocol that we use for more information. At some point in the near future, you will want to get a curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours during one 12-hour cycle) so you have a better sense of when Joe's nadir is and how Lantus is working.
Mel & Joe said:
Looking for advice on when to start the food switch. Tonight and watch him closely?
Pat was lucky that her kitties were easy to shift to canned food. I was lucky with Gabby, as well. Not all cats understand that the dry stuff or high carb (HC) food is bad for them! If you look at Lisa Pierson, DVM's website on
feline nutrition she discusses how to transition from dry to canned food. Mixing the two is a gradual way to make the transition and offset some cat's tendency to reject the canned food (if they are dry food "crack" addicts). You might want to give Joe a snack/sample of canned food and see if he inhales it or walks away. It will give you a better sense of how to approach switching over and whether you need to do a slow transition. (I'm presuming you've seen
Janet & Binky's Food Charts and know to select the foods that are less than 10% carbs.)
You will need to keep a close eye on BG levels as you get rid of high carb (HC) food. Many cat's numbers will drop considerably once the HC food is out of the picture.
Please ask questions! The front end of the learning curve is a bit overwhelming and we're here to lend a hand.