2/5 Java AMPS 281, newbie questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
Morning everyone, this is my first post in here. Yesterday was the first day of insulin for my little Java. Its going ok but I am a little sketchy on a couple of things. We gave his first shot at 8:45 at the vet so I am trying to stick to the 12 hrs religiously. How soon before the shot do I do the AMPS and PMPS? This morning he let me do the AMPS and I used the freeze dried chicken as incentive but then he took off and hid under the bed and I had to pull him out to give the shot. I felt AWFUL! that was the only thing that made him cry, getting pulled out from under the bed. I think tonight I will have everything ready to go so he can start eating right after the BG and then he will be distracted. Any ideas on how I can make this better for him? Oh and he has been on canned food for a long time, I switched him to FF classic two days ago from DM. That is mostly so I can have both kitties on the same food. Thanks for any input.
 
Welcome Steph & Java to Lantus Land! Sorry that you have to be here but you've found an incredible community of people who will help you learn to manage Java's diabetes.

You've gotten off to a great start. Thank you for getting your spreadsheet (SS) and Profile set up. It helps enormously!

As you're settling in, please read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Topics section. There is a HUGE amount of information in those notes.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in German and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

To answer your question, most of us test, feed, then shoot while our cats are eating. It probably takes me under 5 minutes to do this. I have my kitties food prepped and the insulin is drawn when I test. When Gabby has her head in her bowl, she gets her shot. The food acts as a distraction. Since I feed several small meals, I often test before she gets her food, Gabby has learned to associate getting tested with food (or treats). Positive reinforcement works!

It will take 5 - 7 days for you to really evaluate how well Lantus is working. It takes this long for a shed (insulin depot) to form. You will want to hold your dose at the 1.0u you're giving until this point (unless numbers drop below 50 and Java earns a dose reduction). You will also want to be testing fairly often during these early days. The dosing protocol we use suggests you try to get mini-curves (i.e., testing every 3 hours) whenever you can.

From your profile, it looks like you're feeding low carb food. Many of us have found that breaking up our cats' meals into smaller portions and feeding over the first half of the cycle puts less pressure on the pancreas. It may be worth considering this for Java.

I also hope you've purchased syringes that are in 1/2 unit increments. Our dosing is done in 0.25 unit increments. It is less eye strain to use syringe in 0.5 units and this type of syringe will give you better accuracy.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge. Please visit our condos (what we call our individual threads -- one condo, per cat, per day) and read our SSs, it's a great way to learn. I hope you'll continue to post regularly.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Welcome Steph & Java to Lantus Land! Sorry that you have to be here but you've found an incredible community of people who will help you learn to manage Java's diabetes.

You've gotten off to a great start. Thank you for getting your spreadsheet (SS) and Profile set up. It helps enormously!

As you're settling in, please read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Topics section. There is a HUGE amount of information in those notes.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in German and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

To answer your question, most of us test, feed, then shoot while our cats are eating. It probably takes me under 5 minutes to do this. I have my kitties food prepped and the insulin is drawn when I test. When Gabby has her head in her bowl, she gets her shot. The food acts as a distraction. Since I feed several small meals, I often test before she gets her food, Gabby has learned to associate getting tested with food (or treats). Positive reinforcement works!

It will take 5 - 7 days for you to really evaluate how well Lantus is working. It takes this long for a shed (insulin depot) to form. You will want to hold your dose at the 1.0u you're giving until this point (unless numbers drop below 50 and Java earns a dose reduction). You will also want to be testing fairly often during these early days. The dosing protocol we use suggests you try to get mini-curves (i.e., testing every 3 hours) whenever you can.

From your profile, it looks like you're feeding low carb food. Many of us have found that breaking up our cats' meals into smaller portions and feeding over the first half of the cycle puts less pressure on the pancreas. It may be worth considering this for Java.

I also hope you've purchased syringes that are in 1/2 unit increments. Our dosing is done in 0.25 unit increments. It is less eye strain to use syringe in 0.5 units and this type of syringe will give you better accuracy.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge. Please visit our condos (what we call our individual threads -- one condo, per cat, per day) and read our SSs, it's a great way to learn. I hope you'll continue to post regularly.

Thanks so much for all the info. I got organized tonight and had everything ready and it went very smoothly! Java is a grazer, I have tried to meal feed but I am gone all day 4 days a week so I end up just leaving the food out. I add water to it and it seems to help it not dry out. He has had pancreatitis, thats what brought us in four weeks ago when this all started. He was on steroids for IBD and then got the pancreatitis. He does get enough food though for the insulin dose. I did not get those syringes but I will pick some up. My vet called it in and my SIL picked them up. I hadn't found you guys yet so I didn't know. thanks again for the welcome and the info!
 
Just another welcome to Lantus Land! This is such a wonderful place. You're going to get all the help you need.

You're starting off with a huge advantage -- a vet who supports home-testing!

The testing gets easier. I used to calm Kitty by having a warmed (microwaved) rice-filled sock available. I rubbed it on his back a few times to help him relax. If you follow each test with a treat, you will win enthusiasm! Many of us use freeze-dried chicken as a little reward.

Read your profile. With apologies to my Pittsburgh friends here, may I say, GO PACK GO! :-D
 
Just stopping in to say hi and welcome to LL. My cat, Simon, was diagnosed last November and without all the support I have received from this board, I don't know what I would have done. From the very first time I posted, I got great feedback and advice. I am glad your vet supports hometesting, because mine did not think it was necessary. Needless to say, if I hadn't found this forum, Simon would have been getting way too much insulin without me knowing. Simon was not thrilled at first with the testing, but now that he associates testing with food, he even waits on his "testing blanket" at the times I usually test because he can't wait to get the treat. I also give him his shot of insulin while he is eating and he doesn't even notice. I'm glad your 2nd time testing went much better. It definitely will get even easier. Good luck and welcome!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Steph and Java!!! You are off to a great start with lots of info to read. Pls be sure and ask us questions any time. You'll be amazed at how
much you'll learn quickly. We're here for you!
 
Welcome, Steph and Java! You've found the best place for support on this journey. I'm so glad I found this place!

Way to go on getting your spreadsheet/profile and everything underway. You're doing awesome! There's a definite learning curve, but we're all here to help. The stickies that Sienne posted are invaluable. I still go back and read the protocol, etc.
 
Welcome to LL! Willie was Dx two months ago this week, and this place has been a godsend! You're in great hands here, and you're off to a great start!

Have a great weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top