2/5 Harley and Hadley - A Long Night Ahead...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
HaRley
AMPS=368, Shot 1.3u, +6=120, PMPS=244, Shot 1.3u, +4=87, +5=71


The drop on 1.4u last night was too fast for his body so I'm dialing back this AM. We'll see what this does. ETA: PMPS was not all due to insulin, we did his SubQs at AM+10.

HaDley
AMPS=96, Shot 1.5u, +6=106, +8.5=71, +10=67, +11=69, PMPS=86, Shot 1.5u, +4=37, fed LC +5=38, fed MC +1 drop Karo, +5.5=39, fed MC+1/2 tsp Karo, +6=69, +7=130


He hit 37 at PM+6 overnight so I'm shaving back the dose a bit today. Perhaps he bounced the other day because 1.5u is still too much...ETA: and 1.5u is too much, it's going to be a long night.
 
Re: 2/5 Harley and Hadley

Thanks Marcy! Paws crossed, so far so good. (Anti-jinx!)

Hey, what happened with Klinger's toofer? Were you able to get to the vet before the big snow arrived?
 
Re: 2/5 Harley and Hadley

Looks like a great day for both boyz. :thumbup

Klinger saw his regular vet and from what she could see everything looked fine - no infection, no remains of a broken tooth. She recommended we see the dentist that did Klinger's extractions last year; we've a little bit of a wait for that appt. 2/25. Klinger's had some nice numbers recently and has been playful. :-D Thanks for asking!
 
Re: 2/5 Harley and Hadley

Looks good, Laura. Sometimes you have to balance the highs and lows - looks like if HaRley goes too low (for him) he bounces higher, but maybe if you dial back for a while you can increase very slowly and he will not drop too far and start the swings again. I am thinking let the dose settle 5-10 days before increasing by .05u.

HaDley is looking good! I do think backing off the dose was a good idea and I bet he was about 35-38 yesterday between the 50ish number and 43.
 
Re: 2/5 Harley and Hadley

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Looks good, Laura. Sometimes you have to balance the highs and lows - looks like if HaRley goes too low (for him) he bounces higher, but maybe if you dial back for a while you can increase very slowly and he will not drop too far and start the swings again. I am thinking let the dose settle 5-10 days before increasing by .05u.

0.05u? I can barely measure whole #s like 1.2 and 1.3! Where's the blind as a bat with glasses emoticon when I need it. :razz: :lol:

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
HaDley is looking good! I do think backing off the dose was a good idea and I bet he was about 35-38 yesterday between the 50ish number and 43.

He's had a GREAT day! If I could pick a day to put on Groundhog Day repeat - this would be it. :mrgreen:
 
+6=69 - Karo kicked in. Maybe I can get a nap in before the next test...have no idea how long this cycle will last...or what to shoot in the AM.
 
Sorry - went to test/shoot J and then started quartering B's methimazole....

Are you going to get a +7? Hopefully, the carbs from the food will kick in as the Karo wears off. As for the dose tomorrow AM, he may bounce high, in which case shoot 1.5u or 1.4 to deal with that one bounce. But I think his shed is not emptying fast enough with just a reduction from 1.6 to 1.5 - so maybe 1.4 - or you could try going all the way to 1.25u. - if there isn't any bounce.

If he is near his right dose, but just a little too high that might be too much, but if he is stepping down it will probably be fine. I think you are in for a balancing act/fine tuning either way you look at it - so lots of tests, weird numbers and late nights.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Sorry - went to test/shoot J and then started quartering B's methimazole....

LOL, I did all my pill cutting, and gelcap stuffing while watching the Puppy Bowl this afternoon. Before I knew what happened I'd quartered an entire box of Pepcid AC for Princess and her entire bottle of methimazole.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Are you going to get a +7? Hopefully, the carbs from the food will kick in as the Karo wears off. As for the dose tomorrow AM, he may bounce high, in which case shoot 1.5u or 1.4 to deal with that one bounce. But I think his shed is not emptying fast enough with just a reduction from 1.6 to 1.5 - so maybe 1.4 - or you could try going all the way to 1.25u. - if there isn't any bounce.

Yes I'll get a +7, but he's fighting me with testing now. We've never done so many test in a day and he's pissed. Thanks for the dosing advice. It'll give me something to mull over here as I'm waiting for +7.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
If he is near his right dose, but just a little too high that might be too much, but if he is stepping down it will probably be fine. I think you are in for a balancing act/fine tuning either way you look at it - so lots of tests, weird numbers and late nights.

I'm glad to have this problem, - it means his pancreas just might be pitching in a little. We can only hope. The timing sucks though. In 2 weeks I have to be away for a business trip and I've got a petsitter who will stay with the cats and do all Harley and Princess's meds. But she won't home test (non-negotiable) and will be shooting blind. That worries me with Hadley being a bit unpredictable right now. Of course I'd reduce the boys doses for her before I go. Just hope we get him figured out before then.
 
Oh, I wish I lived closed to you so I could test him while you are gone, but Des Plaines is a bit far for two trips in a day.

Well, I hope you can get to bed soon. I'm headed off myself now - falling asleep at the keyboard.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top