2/5 Enana PMPS 145, +1 222, +2 160 Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

can you add question marks to your subject line so it gets attention?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

Just a question, which I couldn't tell from your SS: How long after the breakfast feeding did you test and shoot? I'm wondering whether there might be any food in that AMPS.

Enana may be approaching nadir, though it is hard to tell without more data. What kind of meter are you using? If it is a human meter, I wouldn't find the 53 scary. But you do want to keep testing. How about another test in 30 minutes?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53?

Thanks for your quickly reply. I am new.

Tested for the first time at 7 am GB 180, didn't shoot. Gave her something to eat (I didn't know I shouldn't have)
Tested again an hour later (8 am) GB 244 and gave her 0.5 u.
Tested her again at 11:25amGB 85.
Tested her again 2pm GB 53.

Precision Xtra meter.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

Welcome to LL. I have not posted to you before. Normally, we do not feed for 2 hours before AM of PM BG. If we test and get a low number we usually stall and retest in 15-20 minutes until we get a number we are comfortable shooting.

Are you feeding this 53? Small frequent meals may keep Enana on the "surfboard". With lower than usual numbers we usually feed small amounts and retest (1/2 to 1 hour) depending on how low the number is, we try LC first and if that does not cause the number to rise we use HC gravy. Some cats do not respond to LC others do it is trial and error.

Post often. Help is available to answer any questions.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

No reason to panic.

These are safe numbers. I'd just give Enana a teaspoon or so of her regular food to help her keep surfing. Test again in 20 min. after you feed. You want to make sure that the numbers don't keep dropping or if they do, you're on top of them.

Please post with the next test data.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53, +8 59!

She ate about 1.5 oz about 2:30pm CST. I tested her again at 3pm +8 GB 59
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

It really helps if you can post times in +hours.

So far:

PM +12 180
AMPS 224
+3 85
+6 54
+7 59

The first test, at your usual shot time was 180. Since you didn't shoot, it's not your AMPS. That test was 12 hours after your last shot. When you actually shot, Enana's BG (it's blood glucose -- BG not GB) was 224. Your next shot is due 12 hours after the time you last shot (8:00). I adjusted the rest of the times to be in sync with your AMPS. (I know -- this is really confusing in the beginning! We use the +hours because everyone is in different time zones and it's the only way to keep track, in a sensible way of where your kitty is in the cycle. It gets easier! Promise!!)

The 50s are normal range BG. You just don't want your cat to be in numbers lower than that for too long. Remember, according to the dosing protocol, a dose reduction is earned if a cat within the first year of diagnosis drops below 50. Numbers below 50 aren't something to be frightened of -- we manage them with food. If you haven't done so, please make sure you have a stockpile of gravy-based, high carb food (e.g., Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties) and/or Karo or maple syrup or honey if you need bigger guns.

Also, bookmark or print out these posts:
Managing Low Pre-Shot Numbers
Handling Low Numbers
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

Very nice, Natalia!

As you go forward, you may want to get the test, then feed the snack. That way, you'll know whether the BG is rising on its own, or because of the food. But this looks like a very pretty curve.

I would get another test in one hour, but maybe someone else will drop by with another opinion.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

Thanks everyone for you feedback and patience. I am a little pain :embarrassed:

Thank you for explaining the time and food to me! Nice :)

Question: Where do I post +12 in the spreadsheet?

I do have FF Gravy, Temptations, Karo and Honey. All instructions printed and taped to the wall. Color coded. Low carb, High Protein stocked up.

Thank you All for all your help.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

:lol: :lol: no need for embarrassment! the folks here are great for guidance and support, and no question is silly...

believe me...i know...binks and i are the silliest pair here!
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

All instructions printed and taped to the wall. Color coded.

When they're taped to your forehead like the rest of us, you'll be an oldtimer!! :lol: Kidding, just kidding. You're doing great!
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

No need to be embarrassed. This all takes some getting used to.

People handle the SS in a variety of ways. Take a look at Gabby's -- I put the info in the +11 column. You can adjust the width at the top by moving the alphabetical letters at the top if you need more space. If you want to retain the colors, you'll have to do that manually if you add the BG value and the time to the cell. Others will put a note in the "comments" section of their SS.

How are Enana's numbers? And don't be surprised if her numbers bounce up high. Enana's not used to being in normal BG ranges.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

It went up to +9 93. Not bad isn't it?

It is below 200 at the +12 my Vet told me not to shoot her. What should I do if that is the case?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

I would suggest you test at +11, and then post your number to get some feedback.

93 is a great number. All around, Enana has had a wonderful day.

What time zone are you in?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

I would suggest you get a +11 and PMPS and post prior to shooting. That will tell if the number is rising. Also dose information.

You can also edit your original post
2/5 Enana AMPS 180, +11---, PMPS ---. and add Help or Question to draw attention.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

@Kathy I'm CST.

Thanks Barbara, I'll do that.

I'm immensely grateful for/to all of you.

Thanks :)
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

Just remember, you shot late this morning. You PM shot is 12 hours from the time you shot this morning. If you need to adjust the time for the work week, you can move a shot time by 15 min. twice a day or 30 min. once a day.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana AMPS 180 ,+1 224, +4 85, +7 53

Very, very nice day, and you handled this complex thing called FD very well indeed. Brava! Welcome to LL!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

THANKS EVERYBODY! I couldnt have done it without you!

What should I do Give her 0.25 or wait?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

can you stall for 1/2 hour and test again? Don't feed yet. She should be heading upward, and she looks like she is, but with so little data I would rather wait just to be sure. With such a recent DKA, I wouldn't want to see you skip a shot, but waiting a little bit is fine.

It sounds like she is eating well today, correct?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

hmmm. I would wait another 1/2 hour. We can help you get back onto schedule later.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Im sorry I couldnt tolerate her meowing for food. So I gave her some. Should I give her any insulin? .25 u any?


I need to leave for work at the latest at 7:45

Im so stressed out.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

I don't have any dosing advice, but just wanted to say hello! Enana is looking great! You are in good hands! :)

Have a great night!
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

you're going to work tonight, in a few minutes? How long will you be gone?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

oh good! We can work with that.

Technically she has not earned a reduction to 0.25 units, and with a ketone prone cat there is quite a bit of risk in reducing the dose too far. It is better to wait a little bit, shoot a bit more insulin, and control the curve with food. Do you have lots of test strips on hand, and a selection of high carb and low carb wet food and some karo syrup just in case?

I haven't caught up with your previous threads. How long was Enana hospitalized and how long has she been home? Was she showing symptoms of diabetes before her DKA?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Thanks everyone for welcoming here! :smile:

She was hospitalized for 3 days. She had a cold at the beginning of January, after sneezing for about a week or more she started loosing weight, not eating as much and barely drinking water. I guess they were diabetic symptoms but I didn't know.

I have test strips. I have high carb, low carb and karo.

How long should I wait? Am I going to be able to send the schedule back that much?
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

I'll wait for Libby to talk to you about shooting. But on the schedule issue, you can safely move the time 15 minutes per shot. In the morning, you'd make up 15 minutes, tomorrow's shot, move up another 15, then Monday morning, another 15. Cutting it close... you can probably make that 20 per shot if you have to.

Let's get tonight taken care of.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

it has been about 20 minutes since you fed her, right? Maybe if you get another test now she will be surfing or rising. Then we can possibly shoot something.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Listen to Libby for the final input, not me, but I think you could start drawing that syringe. Just don't shoot until you hear from Libby! :-D Or Sienne. Or someone else. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

good, I like that number better. It is food induced, but at least it is a big enough bounce that hopefully the jump isn't all caused by the food (we're looking to see that the last shot is wearing off before we add more insulin to the situation, if that makes sense).

I would shoot and then get a +1 and +2 to be extra sure that she is on the rise. What + hour do you usually go to bed? If you would feel better shooting 0.25 tonight then that should be ok if you promise to get another ketone test before bed. ;-)

Then get a +11 in the morning and post for advice. If she is high in the morning due to stalling and reducing tonight's shot, then you might be able to shoot 1/2 hour early to start making up some times. Folks should be able to help you with that. Since she just came out of the hospital, my opinion is that it is important to get some insulin into her tonight. If that means we have to skip or reduce a shot tomorrow or Monday to fix the schedule, then so be it, but we want to do our best to keep the ketone monster at bay.

Good job today!
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

I know how hard it is!

What you really did today was start her on the road to health, with strength and courage. Hugs.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Lol!! I've got you beat. Gabby's been poked 11 times today and has lots more pokes in her future this evening. The trick with testing is to associate it with positive reinforcement -- treats, food, scratches, brushing, praise -- whatever you cat likes. Gabby gets treats or food and always praise and a hug. She also gets a bit ticked off if my other cat is in her testing spot.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Thanks Kathy :cry:

Libby I gave her I would say .25u. I'll check at +1 and +2 and ketones :cry: Today I'll go to bed around 12, usually is 10:30.

I'll test her tomorrow at 8:15 am and post.

Can I give her more to eat or not? How many times should I feed her? I used to have food out all the time. Both Enana and Gordo (my civvie) are freaking out.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

I sing to Kitty. Strangely, he finds this an incentive! (Of course, he IS in remission. Maybe to avoid the singing??) :lol:
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Sienne, I guess I have not been very good cause Enana looks at me and hides! I have hugged, brushed, petted. I have not given her food or treats because I thought I couldn't :Isad:

I dont have hold of the pricking thing just yet either :sigh:

I hope this gets better. I'm exhausted and its been only 48 hours.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

you can feed normally now that she has had her shot.

Sorry about the extra tests, but her health is delicate now and we have to keep her safe.

Sienne is right, she will get used to it. Cats love routines, so make testing a routine. Do it in the same place, do things in the same order each time, and either give a treat or something else that she loves (maybe a brushing?). Lucy has been OTJ for two years and she STILL asks for tests almost every morning. I don't test her that often, but she asks. Now when I test Jazzy, sometimes Lucy butts in and tries to shove Jazzy out of the way ("this is MY testing spot, get out of it!"). Today I tested Lucy, and Jazzy was trying to butt in. :lol: Jazzy doesn't like tests, but it is the routine and cats are programmed to respect routines.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

Hang in there, Breath. It will get better and easier. As newbies we all go through this and most cats learn to accept it and adjust to the routine. In fact, I think Tuffy likes the special attention of being tested. You did well today. Good luck with the next few tests and have a good night's sleep.
 
Re: 2/5 Enana +12 180, AMPS 244, +11 134, PMPS 145 Question?

It gets better, and it gets better quickly.

I'd add to what Sienne said that you should give you should give YOURSELF positive reinforcement too. I found that I communicated my stress to Kitty. I mentally cleared my emotions before picking him up for the test. Deep relaxing breath. I cooed to him, as if nothing was happening.

But don't worry. This first week will be hard. There's so much to learn, and Enana may be a little freaked -- post hospital especially. It will be routine soon. Get a nice container of treats (or try a piece of boiled chicken), and you will get a lick post test instead of a dirty look!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top