2/5 DAVIDSON SURFS +3 75 +4 79 +5 84 +6 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113092

Davidson is starting with a nice BLUE day and hoping to see a drop to Green very soon and then <50 so I can reduce the dose...........he had a great day yesterday and in spite of my Vets recommendation of reducing the dose, I stuck with the 2.75u since his numbers climbed a bit.

Yes, YOU WILL ALL BA HAPPY about that..............haha.

Today is another day and lets see what the next 4 hrs brings

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON AMPS 159

Hi guys .. puurfect mid blue to start the day! I hope you can catch a glimpse of :mrgreen: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON AMPS 159 +1 134 +2 156

+3 115
Still steady drop and I think the +2 had a food spike..........hopefully he will go GREEN again today...........

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON AMPS 159 +1 134 +2 156

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Davidson is looking good this morning!
Not much of a bounce after that visit to the 60's :-D

GECKO said:
+1 134.............dropping slowly and I'm now home all day
They save the drama for the days they know you need to be somewhere else. . . :lol:

Speaking for myself, I am glad you held the dose.
Failed reductions and loss of momentum can be excruciatingly frustrating.

eta - just checked the ss - +4.5=88 :mrgreen:
Hoist the green flag!
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON AMPS 159 +1 134 +2 156

he's holding good even if it's dumping buckets of snow out there...............

+5 91............just a slight increase.

QUESTION: should I still test every hour until I see the numbers start to rise a bit more?

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON AMPS 159 +1 134 +2 156

QUESTION: should I still test every hour until I see the numbers start to rise a bit more?

If it makes you feel more comfortable, and puts your mind at ease, then do so. You could also get a +7 instead, if you want. However often you want to test is up to you.

He's looking good today. :-D
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON +4.5 88 +5 91

Looks like Davidson had a nice comfortable day.........I would expect the numbers to keep going up and at least he got into the GREEN again today so I know at this point I am not increasing the dose.

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON +4.5 88 +5 91

In the beginning, they typically go down to their lowest point at whatever time that may be, and then rise. Nadirs can be anywhere from +4 to +6, but some have had earlier nadirs, and later nadirs. Every cat is different.

Nice :mrgreen:s!
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON +4.5 88 +5 91

Davidson had a +5 91, +7 99 and +10 99

Is it normal to have a relatively same reading over 5 hrs? What does that mean other then being consistent?

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON +4.5 88 +5 91

Hi guys,
It means that it is a really good cycle. We aim for those "flat" curves. It's good for the cat and good for the bean. Nice job!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

Need some help please...............

Davidson has the lowest PMPS yet (probably cuz it's his 3 week Lantus B-Day) and I just gave him a shot (2.75u) which means in a few ours he will drop considerably.

So - do I set the alarm for every hour? When should I do the first test and how often thereafter? I have MC food if need be and everything else in case he goes really low.

Thanks,

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

what a great flat cycle today!

i can't tell - it looks like you shot the 108? is that right? if so, that's cool - just get a +1 and a +2 and let's see if he's holding flat.

if you didn't, you can stall - don't feed if you haven't - and check him in 20 minutes or so.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

we were posting at the same time.

it doesn't necessarily mean that he's going to drop tonight. we don't know if he will or not because this is really his first flat day in great numbers.

whenever you shoot a number lower than you have shot before, always get a +1 and +2 to see what he's doing. i'm going to grab the post for you on how to handle things. be right back.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

Yes, I shot..........then I fed him but he only ate a bit. I can get as many tests as needed and the PMPS was at 21:30

I guess having a 'flat' day means all blues and greens??
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

Here's the link to Shooting and Handling Low Numbers.

This is the kind of thing that you're going to handle one test at a time.

Definitely get a +1 and a +2. post your numbers in the subject line, just like you did just now asking for help, and people will be watching for you to help you decide what to do next.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

Thanks Julie.........I read it today and find it a bit confusing or overwhelming probably due to my Dyslexia...........going to read it again. Most of it I can see and I have been getting +1/2 and +11/12 all along............hmmm, will read it now and if I have questions will post it.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

just saw your last post!

in the entire day he's only moved 71 points. that's not entirely flat, but since am+4 he's only moved 20 points. that's ideal. shooting low often will result in more of this. however, we don't know what Davidson will do because this is the first time you've had it. tonight you're going to gather data to learn what he does in this situation.

this is an ideal range for a diabetic cat - for whatever reason, it allows the pancreas to heal when the cat is kept in these great numbers. not reducing was a perfect decision - today's cycle is the cycle you want!

regarding your earlier comment today about getting to reduce his dose, remember that the important numbers here are his blood sugar, not his dose. your goal is to keep him in these kind of numbers, not to get to a lower dose. that's why the protocol calls for holding a dose and not reducing until they go under 50.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

it's confusing for people without dyslexia too! there is just a lot of information in that post - so read and ask questions, but be assured that we'll also help you from test to test to know what to do. i'm around this evening and will keep watching for you, and others will no doubt be popping in to help you as well.

edited to add - i'm assuming you have high carb food or karo syrup (or honey/maple syrup) and plenty of strips, right?
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

Thanks Julie

Yes, understand the BG levels are what counts and not the amount of dose, although ultimately the lower the dose the better down the road once he starts to repair his damaged parts.

Yes, I have honey and FF with Gravy food. as well as Hills/Science diet W/D food and about 400 test strips..........so I'm good. haha.

Davidson doesn't have a 'pattern' as yet since it's only been 3 weeks, but from my tests he usually starts to go up at +2 and +3 and stays high all night, so if he starts to rise he will still be in the blues since the PMPS is so low.

I've got a back up alarm set for 22:30, 23:30, 0:30 to start..............do I need to do half hour tests or we can see that once we test in an hour or so.

** I guess the good thing is even if he is low and I gave a shot the protocol says to stall between 80-100, and we were still 108 so sounds like I am okay

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

you are definitely ok. that isn't actually the protocol, just guidelines that were created based upon experiences here and have been helpful in managing diabetic cats.

hehehe and you are well stocked up! woot!

i'd get the +1 and +2 and decide on future tests from there. it's hard to predict now when you might have to test later in the night.

i'll look for you at :30.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

sounds good Julie..........thanks again!!

OH - WHAT ABOUT FOOD, CAN I FEED DAVIDSON??? He's hungry since I take away his food 2 hrs before PMPS, then took it away once it was recommended not to feed him. He's mad at me now.........

Shawna
Edited to ass food question
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

Just got in and ckecked Davidsons ss -

He is still rockin' the juice ! \M/ \M/ \M/

(now to catch up. . . :cool: )
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108

GECKO said:
OH - WHAT ABOUT FOOD, CAN I FEED DAVIDSON??? He's hungry since I take away his food 2 hrs before PMPS,
Test, Feed & Shoot is what most folks do (sneak the shot in while kitty head is in the bowl)
So if you have not yet fed him his regular shot time meal go ahead and feed him.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107

didn't realize you weren't feeding with the shot! the purpose of taking away the food 2 hrs prior to the shot is for you to see what the pmps is without it being food influenced. so unless you're dealing with low numbers, you want to not feed from +10 to +12. then you do as Sandy said - test, feed and shoot right in a row. i put down the food and shot punkin while he was eating.

if you are dealing with low numbers at +10-+12, taking away the food doesn't apply.

+1 is holding steady. will look for you to repost again in an hour with the +2.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107

Some mighty fine shootin' goin' on here tonight! :cool:
The lowest PS you have shot!

What a fantastic cycle today!

You are doing great - like Julie said, this is a one test at a time process this evening - this is uncharted territory for you & Davidson.

And come the morning, it will no longer be uncharted :-D

GECKO said:
Yes, understand the BG levels are what counts and not the amount of dose, although ultimately the lower the dose the better down the road once he starts to repair his damaged parts.
Davidson will let you know when and how to proceed. :cool:
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107 +2 84

still dropping +2 84
will test again at +3

Yes, I always feed after the shot, however I thought I read a post that since he was so low after the PMPS that I should have held off on the food. Anyhow, he's had some food and he grazes so eats a little bit at a time during the evening.........he listened to Oprah and knows it's not healthy to eat after 19:30 :lol: .........all good!
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107 +2 84

looking good!

with your next test, if you are getting closer to 50, say 70 or under, move to testing every 30 minutes. if he stays over 50, you're just monitoring like always.

if he goes under 50, don't panic. the 40's are safe enough to visit, you just don't want him to linger there. pop open a can of high carb gravy food, put the lid back on and squeeze mightily to get out gravy only. most of the carbs are there. give him 1-2tsp of the gravy.

wait 20ish minutes and retest. if he's over 50, wait another 30 minutes and retest. if he's under 50, repeat with the gravy step.

your goal is to keep him over 50. as it says in the Low Numbers sticky, numbers can wobble as the carbs wear off, so you have to be vigilant until he's past the nadir of the cycle and he has at 2 tests that are rising at least an hour after getting any carbs.

in between testing at night, i usually slept on the sofa in the living room with the light still on, with my cell phone alarm set high so i wouldn't oversleep.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107 +2 84

haha........already on the couch with the fireplace going, TV on, cell phone alarm set and both Harley & Davidson snuggled up with me............until I get up and do the test and hit the keyboard.

+3 75

So.........test in an hour or perhaps 30 min?
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107 +2 84

that's only 9 pts in that last hour - you can probably go another hour for your next test.

what a good day for davidson!
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107 +2 84

okay, setting the alarm - which is silly since I'm not sleeping anyway........on a positive note, this is getting me trained for the Olympics and being up in the night watching them............. :roll:
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE PMPS 108 +1 107 +2 84

I agree with Julie.
Save an ear poke.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
in between testing at night, i usually slept on the sofa in the living room with the light still on, with my cell phone alarm set high so i wouldn't oversleep.
Many were the nights I did the same.. . . :cool:
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE +2 84 +3 75

sorry - don't see my last post, maybe didn't hit the submit key

+3 75 was at 12:30

So guess do another at 01:30 which is in a few min. The SS was updated..........

Shawna
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE +2 84 +3 75

finally getting a rise out of Davidson

+4 79

Can I get some sleep yet - haha What do you suggest for next test?
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE +2 84 +3 75 +4 79

Hi there :cool:

I would not call it a rise - 75 and 79 are about the same - he's got the beginnings of a surf going on :mrgreen: .


Since he has not reached nadir and you are in uncharted waters it would be a good idea to check again in an hour.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE +2 84 +3 75 +4 79

by the way, you want to continue to feed Davidson on the usual schedule.

i'm going to head for bed. looks like there are still several other experienced people around tonight. I'm thinking Davidson's surfing along just fine. But if you run into trouble, just post and ask for help. or hit the 911.

nighty night!
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE +3 75 +4 79 +5 84

Surfs up ! ! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
When did he last eat?

eta - at this point you can test as you normally would.
 
Re: 2/5 DAVIDSON HELP PLEASE +3 75 +4 79 +5 84

+6 84

Sooooooooo..............he ate the last bit of food about an hour ago, then had about 4 oz at PMPS and grazed

Can I go to sleep now for the night? OMG - I have a conference call at 10am with lawyers and I'll be a wreck.........haha

THANKS!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top