2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75, +10 86, PMPS 82, +3 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
AMPS 111, +6 58m PMPS 76, +1 90, +5 88, +9 133

Wow, what a difference food makes! Yesterday I had to be away from the house for 6 hours and she tested @58, so I left out HC (but not too high, it was Max Cat Beef, Egg, Entree Chunks w/sauce), and it was the first time using the Pure Bits Chicken, only gave her two.

So todays AMPS was 164, and then +3 was 54, +5 75, so she was still up there till this AM.

This was the first time since Daphne has had anything but EVO 95%. I was also surprised at the time the BG took to rise and then fall. I would have thought it would have been closer to the meal itself.
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

hi barb, i'm not sure that the higher amps was from food at noon yesterday. usually the high carbs only last for a short time, that's why we tell people to continue to monitor when they've used HC to pull up their cat's bg numbers.

if i were guessing, i'd think it might've been a little bit of a bounce from the 58 - not much though. maybe not, though - you shot a 55 a few nights ago and she didn't bounce.

one of the great mysteries of life. in any case, daphne's ss sure is looking great. when is that girl going to get below 50 so you can start reducing her dosage!? perhaps you can sit her down for a nice chat! :lol:
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

I tend to think that what you were seeing last night and into this morning wasn't the effect of the HC food. Maybe, if you were feeding dry you'd see that kind of delay but it's unlikely with canned food. Every so often, Daphne throws you a higher number. (She's wanting to make sure you're paying attention!)
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

Trix tends to do the same thing at AMPS/PMPS from time to time. I always consider it a mini-bounce, as opposed to being food-driven. Whatever it was, Daphne sure cleared it in no time!
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

OK, you are all so much better, and have been doing this longer then I have. So whatever it was, she is back to her normal this pm.

Julie, I did sit her down and had a talk with her, and she said, "forget it, she is not going to do what I want her to, because she likes all the attention too much". :lol:

Does anyone think this is too high a dose and just go ahead and lower it anyway? She is in the green so much of the day. I just can't believe she won't give me one under 50!
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

Hey Barb....nice days for Daphne but she hasn't actually earned a reduction and IMHO, you shoudn't take her down yet. She's doing great and giving you nice cycles. I'd hold out until she earns a reduction to see if the PSs will come down.

Have a great night!
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

i wouldn't reduce her without either her going below 50, or i bolded the second option above - if she keeps all of her numbers in normal range for a week you could also reduce her. that's under 120, i believe. she's doing so well, just enjoy it for the moment!
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

Thanks Marjorie and Julie, I will leave things as is for now then. My DH is pushing a little to reduce dose because he doesn't have all the information…like being on the board everyday like I have... so I will have to calm him a bit, so he's not so worried about the low numbers. I think she can stay at this dose for a while and be safe, and then maybe if she does not go below 50 in a week, I can look back at the possiblity of reducing, if she has a normal week, under 120 maybe.

After reading and tending to Daphne I forgot to order my medication, (I do mail order and I can't be out of this one). I never forgot to order in 15 years. :? @-)
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75

Tell him her numbers aren't that low....they are excellent. Look at Muffin's AMBG...she is OTJ and it was 56.

Bummer on the meds!! I hope you can get them quickly.
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75, +10 86, PMPS 82, +3 5

Thanks Marjorie, I hate this mail order stuff, even for the cats. I miss just going to a store getting what we need at one or two places and be done with it. I think they can give me emergency meds. at the local pharmacy.

I'll print Muffin's SS for DH to see in AM.
 
Re: 2/5 Daphne AMPS 164, +3 54, +5 75, +10 86, PMPS 82, +3 5

Daphne is looking great, I think she will earn her reduction soon enough :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top