2/5 Cargo 62@PM+4.5, 67@+5, vacation dosing question

Mel and Cargo

Member Since 2020
Hi all!

I'm back for my work trip and after almost 3 days of not being monitored, and on a drop dose, I come home to Cargo at 62! :nailbiting:
I'm kind of freaking out because I'm about to head out for another 5 days and he'll again be unmonitored! He's acting totally fine - running, jumping, playing. I just fed a HC snack now and will check again in 20 minutes. But when I leave again tomorrow he'll be with a cat sitter, what dose should I have her give while I'm gone?

Thank you,
Melinda
 
With SLGS you stop insulin because he was under 90. Even if you were doing TR you would need to go to even less than a drop. How long will you be away?
 
Hi @tiffmaxee ,

I'll be gone for 5 days starting tomorrow afternoon. I will be able to monitor his AMPS and several hours after, but I'll be catching a flight and leaving around 3pm so he'll have to get an early dinner (cat sitter unable to come Sat night or Sun morning). I just bought an auto feeder that can get him through until the sitter can come on Sunday night and for snacks after that that she will set up.
Stopping insulin means he's maybe about to go into remission, right? I don't want to jynx it! But I'm sad I'll be missing it! What if tomorrow's AMPS is back to being high? Do I still stop because of today's reading? ACK, so many questions! :)

Melinda
 
Bad timing for sure. I would not feel comfortable giving insulin if he’s not monitored. There’s nowhere to go lower with a drop bringing him down to 62. The worst that happens is he goes back on it when you return. :bighug:
 
Ok, makes sense. Better safe than sorry! And when I get back I'll have about a week to get him regulated again, if needed.
Thank you @tiffmaxee ! With any luck, I get back and he's still at the lagoon! :joyful:

:bighug::bighug:
 
What I would do while you are gone is get the pet sitter to monitor the ketones in the urine.
Just because he isnt getting any insulin and you are not monitoring. It is an insurance policy.
You just need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and test the urine. You will need the pet sitter to collect a urine sample
each day if possible and then dip the test strip into the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the bottle. Anything above a trace of ketones needs vet attention. Make sure she tells you if it happens.....it probably won’t but I would test to be sure.
Also if he is not getting insulin you don’t need to give honey if the BG is 62. That is a normal reading.
 
Back
Top