2/4 Zeke AMPS/ 230; +2/ 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)

Sending healing vines to all that need them.

Zeke's 1/25 Condo

I've been a bit MIA due to work demands and other personal matters. However, I have been checking up on my LL family, popping in now and again, reading the subject lines and skimming a few condos. Zeke has been doing well but more often than not he spends most of his days sleeping. However, on the few occassions he's up and about, he is often full of the dickens. Running around, chasing poor Mia or playing with his various kitty toys.

We've been doing a bit of the old up and down on Zeke's dose. We reduced him to 0.5u on 1/31, which he had been doing well on up until 2/2. I got a little panicky and I know I jumped the gun on taking him back up to .75u last night. I think the two contributing factors behind the higher numbers/funky cycles might have been that (i) Zeke was a little constipated and (ii) he probably was bouncing some from the 40s he saw on 2/2. BTW, the vial is new (1/18) so it's not bad insulin.

Last night was very much unZeke like and then this morning the yellow which he hadn't seen in almost 2 weeks. Well, I made the rash call last night (from work) instructing DH to increase. Despite the yucky numbers last night and this morning, now with a level head, analyzing his ss, I believe we should have held the dose. Just curious, do you agree? So, now that it's done (the dosecrease), is it best that we just stick with it as Lantus does like consistnecy? Unless there's a strong recommendation that we take Zeke back down to 0.5u, I guess we'll just have to stay on our toes with this dose just in case Zeke dives real low once this bounce clears or his digestive system is back to normal.

Here's a recap of last night:
159 PMPS
187 +1
185 +2
156 +3
178 +4
189 +5
199 +7

Wishing you all a great day
 
Whoa there Zeke!! No reason to drop so fast!!

I think I'd go back down to at least .5 (he may very well earn a reduction today anyway with those fast dropping numbers)

The .5 dose dropped him down to 41, so he earned a reduction, not a dosecrease (unless you're doing the 3 times under 50 for reductions). Looks like he's bouncing off those 40's

Hope he'll jump up on his surfboard and surf those 70's safely for you!
 
Good morning, it's nice to see a Zeke report :razz:

Wow, Zeke doesn't do things halfway, does he? Unless you count halving the PS number! I hope he surfs safe for you :-D Have a good day, Laura!
 
I'm stuck in Tulsa so thought I'd peak in at Zeke.

Actually, if you are up for monitoring, I might leave him at 0.75u for a couple reasons. The low numbers (40s) you got could have been the depot from the 0.75u. After six cycles at 0.5u, he was seeing less green. So it just depends on how aggressive you want to be. There is no problem if you want to go back to 0.5u but I know you are like me and usually when I increase the dose! even if it might have been premature! I leave it until she earns the reduction.

It's completely up to you. I can see both sides!

Thanks for visiting us in my absence.

Finally...my flight is coming in. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top