2/4 - Wally - AMPS: 272, +6: 155, PMPS: 166, +2: 355 ...i'm blue (...i was blue until +2)

Wally & Stefano

Member Since 2018
Prev post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-2-wally-pmps-326-3-333-5-222-7-118-8-96.210234/

This weekend was a great weekend with blue everywhere! Thanks Wally for the cooperation :)

Today PMPS was 166 and we did 8u as usual... I'll keep strictly monitored hoping I will sleep tonight!!!

I am wondering if we should move to SLGS now that we are a bit regulated and considering it's hard to catch TR lows (below 50) that are needed for TR reduction.

Waiting for your kind advice :)
 
  • Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
  • Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
I think it's difficult to know what his nadirs are without more frequent testing during the night.
It's a bit soon to think Wally's regulated.

hoping I will sleep tonight!!!

Have you checked out "other's" SS? We're all hoping to sleep at night! But without testing there is no way to determine what the insulin is doing.

Wendy&Neko has been here since 2012 She can advise you about "Regulation" or switching to SLGS. I've only been here a year. I don't know enough to advise anyone! Be careful who you take advice from. You want someone that has "Years" of experience.:)
 
Have you checked out "other's" SS? We're all hoping to sleep at night! But without testing there is no way to determine what the insulin is doing.

Tell you the truth, I'm really waiting for Wendy opinion... she has always given the best advice :)

I checked others SS... i see I'm a lazy one compared to most of you! I think i'm a bit stressed from work and not able to stay much awake.... this is way I thought SLGS might be easier to follow in terms of finding low values...
 
I love, love to see beautiful blues on Wally's SS.
I find it very hard to test Bear past +6 in the PM because I can't nap in between tests and wake up.
I have to stay awake the whole time to perform tests. :banghead:

You should tag @Wendy&Neko when you want her opinion. ;)
 
There is a section in the Dosing Methods Sticky Note on doing TR with a full time job. Many people have worked and done TR. and honestly, I am not a fan of SLGS with higher dose cats. You don’t need to aim for nadirs in the 50’s with earning reductions as your goal. My goal was for Neko to spend the majority of time under renal threshold, which for her meant under 220. I discovered that for her meant nadirs of around 70’s and 80’s, which are still safe. You cannot achieve nadirs below 90 with SLGS.

At this point we can assume that Wally has some secondary condition causing him to need a higher dose of insulin,. One of the high dose conditions, acromegaly, is hard on kidneys, so aiming for mostly under renal threshold will limit the stress on kidneys.. High dose conditions also mean than the amount of insulin needed can vary significantly over time. The ability to make quicker changes with TR can help you there. And lastly, keeping Wally in higher numbers can lead to more glucose toxicity, requiring an even higher dose to break through. As Joybee said,we would not consider Wally to be regulated yet.
 
There is a section in the Dosing Methods Sticky Note on doing TR with a full time job. Many people have worked and done TR. and honestly, I am not a fan of SLGS with higher dose cats. You don’t need to aim for nadirs in the 50’s with earning reductions as your goal. My goal was for Neko to spend the majority of time under renal threshold, which for her meant under 220. I discovered that for her meant nadirs of around 70’s and 80’s, which are still safe. You cannot achieve nadirs below 90 with SLGS.

At this point we can assume that Wally has some secondary condition causing him to need a higher dose of insulin,. One of the high dose conditions, acromegaly, is hard on kidneys, so aiming for mostly under renal threshold will limit the stress on kidneys.. High dose conditions also mean than the amount of insulin needed can vary significantly over time. The ability to make quicker changes with TR can help you there. And lastly, keeping Wally in higher numbers can lead to more glucose toxicity, requiring an even higher dose to break through. As Joybee said,we would not consider Wally to be regulated yet.

Thank you Wendy, vey clear explaination!
 
Back
Top