? 2/4 Simon - skipping pm shot to drain depot

KarrieK

Member Since 2019
Hello, it has been a only few days since I reduced Simon to 2.75 and today he is hovering a bit low. I have given him low carb food today (he's a grazer, so he free feeds). I am wondering if it's too soon to reduce him to 2.5? I will check him a couple of times before he would get his PM shot. Thank you for any and all advice!
 
Thank you. I just checked him again and he dropped a bit more. This is shortly after nibbling at some LC food. Weird. I will check him again at 6, but now wondering if I should even give him a shot at 7 when he's due?
 
I agree with @tiffmaxee. It’s been 7 cycles since you reduced to 2.75 you need to reduce to 2.5 U.
If you see a low number like 49 as you got in this mornings cycle at +3, please give some higher carb food and test again in 30 minutes to check that the BG is rising. And you will need to continue monitoring at least until nadir and the numbers start to rise on their own without food.
Not testing after getting a 49 is risking Simon dropping too low. He still had not reached nadir.
 
Its’s been 7 cycles since the reduction. That is enough time for a depot to stabilize , so definitely take the reduction to 2.5.

How about getting a +11 and posting if there is any question as to wherever you should shoot. You have shot a 59 with 2.75 dose on 1/29 AM Cycle.
 
Thank you. I just checked him again and he dropped a bit more. This is shortly after nibbling at some LC food. Weird. I will check him again at 6, but now wondering if I should even give him a shot at 7 when he's due?
You will need to wait and see what the Preshot is. I would get a +11 so we can see if the BG is rising.
If he is still low, stall, don’t feed and test 20 mins later to see what the BG is. Post and ask for help. Change the subject line to something like... PMPS xxx, stalling, please HELP
In your post please indicate if you are able to monitor all cycle if needed, have plenty of test strips and high carb food and honey/ karo
 
I agree with @tiffmaxee. It’s been 7 cycles since you reduced to 2.75 you need to reduce to 2.5 U.
If you see a low number like 49 as you got in this mornings cycle at +3, please give some higher carb food and test again in 30 minutes to check that the BG is rising. And you will need to continue monitoring at least until nadir and the numbers start to rise on their own without food.
Not testing after getting a 49 is risking Simon dropping too low. He still had not reached nadir.
Its’s been 7 cycles since the reduction. That is enough time for a depot to stabilize , so definitely take the reduction to 2.5.

How about getting a +11 and posting if there is any question as to wherever you should shoot. You have shot a 59 with 2.75 dose on 1/29 AM Cycle.
I will. Have to run to the store to get some more low carb food. Will feed him when I get back and check him at +11. Thank you!
 
You may want to grab a few cans of high and medium carb foods as well - as long as you're going. Just in case he hits those low numbers again tonight...the depot is still in play...so even with a dose reduction, there are no guarantees he'll be in higher numbers tonight.
 
I think you will be safe to shoot. Remember, you shot a 59 with 2.75 back on 1/28 the AM Cycle. And you will still want to monitor as you always do , since the first 1/2 of the cycle will be influenced by the higher depot of 2.75.

He’s looking really good!
 
I was going to - but his PMPS was 61 so he dropped. UGH! I am stalling and will check him again in 15 minutes. Poor guy. Thankfully his is OK with this.....so far.
 
I was going to - but his PMPS was 61 so he dropped. UGH! I am stalling and will check him again in 15 minutes. Poor guy. Thankfully his is OK with this.....so far.
With meter variance it’s essentially the same. Let’s see where he is when you test again.
 
Now he is 53. He has been grazing on low to medium carb food the past few hours. I hate to skip a dose - what should I do?
 
Now he is 53. He has been grazing on low to medium carb food the past few hours. I hate to skip a dose - what should I do?
Hmm. With eating low to MC food in the last few hours and he’s dropped a bit, I am not comfortable with suggesting you to shoot. To get a true preshot number , we would want to see a number not influenced by food for 2 hours prior.

Unless you can be off schedule by 2 hours , I would skip and drain the depot .
 
Last edited:
I can be off schedule by up to 2 hours. So - keep checking him to see where he's at? Then, at what point is it safe to shoot?

About the food part; I realize it plays an important role but he is a grazer so I really have to free feed. His dishes have been picked up, so at the point I test him again he will be without food for about an hour. Not the ideal situation, I know, but best we can do right now.
 
I can be off schedule by up to 2 hours. So - keep checking him to see where he's at? Then, at what point is it safe to shoot?

About the food part; I realize it plays an important role but he is a grazer so I really have to free feed. His dishes have been picked up, so at the point I test him again he will be without food for about an hour. Not the ideal situation, I know, but best we can do right now.
If you can be off schedule, then no more food for 2 hours then test and if he’s come up , and I would think that he should have , you can shoot.
 
Tomorrow if you need to regain the old schedule, you can shoot as early as 30 minutes once in a 24 hour period Or 15 minutes earlier each cycle.

Or you can just skip tonight , drain the depot and be on schedule tomorrow, which I think I would do since he had been eating the last 2 hours and dropping.

Do give the reduction , either way you decide.
 
I just checked him again (and it's been over an hour since he ate anything) and he was at 52. I am afraid to give him a shot considering he has been low all day despite eating. So, if I skip tonight altogether (which I also am afraid to do) I should give him a reduced dose at the usual shot time tomorrow am?
 
I had a feeling he was telling you to reduce. I’m glad you aren’t going to shoot. His new dose will be 2.5 in the morning. Please keep testing tonight’s get until he heads back up. He might bounce to high numbers after these lows but will settle into the new dose I predict. Don’t prove me wrong Simon.
 
I just checked him again (and it's been over an hour since he ate anything) and he was at 52. I am afraid to give him a shot considering he has been low all day despite eating. So, if I skip tonight altogether (which I also am afraid to do) I should give him a reduced dose at the usual shot time tomorrow am?
Good call! I’m glad you are skipping, as long as no past DKA . If not , and you skip tonight’s shot, you can shoot anytime tomorrow if you would like to change your shot time, this would be the time to do it.
 
Thanks a bunch everyone. In addition to being a stressful and exhausting journey, it can be a lonely one as well. Having the support of other cat parents really really helps. I am going to give him some food and cross my fingers he slowly creeps up throughout the night. Not too much, tho.....
 
So, I just checked him again (at over 2 hours since food) and he is still in the low 50's. Acting fine, though - full of energy and happy. I will put some LC food out so he has something to eat overnight, and now am wondering - what if he is still at that number in the morning?
 
Good morning, I just checked your SS And was glad to see that 68 @ +4.

He has really turned the switch on since you changed to a human meter. At that time did you change his food to lower carb? Or is he just eating a lot less? because it looks like 2 different SS.

If you can, always get pre shot test that are uninfluenced by food so it is a true number. I know it’s hard for cats that are grazers, but do your best.

I have a feeling that he could start racing down the dosing ladder. (Anti -jinx )

Let’s see how the 2.5 dose does for him.
 
Good Morning! I'm sorry I wasn't here last night to weigh in - glad it all worked out last night! I'm up early and go to bed early; plus being sick of late doesn't lend itself to staying up any later.

Good luck today with Simon. He is looking like a 'new man'! Lots of green :)
 
Thank you for all of your support! Simon was at 219 AMPS and I gave him the reduced dose (2.5).

@Bobbie And Bubba in answer to your question; he has been on a low carb/mostly protein diet for nearly 5 years now. However, he really doesn't ever eat much at one time. It's a constant struggle! It does seem wierd that his greener numbers seem to have coincided with the meter switch.

I would love to see him climbing down the dosing ladder - appreciate the "anti jinx" :)

I have to leave for work and will be so anxious to check him the minute I get home!
 
Make sure he has food to snack on. Stay safe Simon.

I
It does seem wierd that his greener numbers seem to have coincided with the meter switch.
It is weird, but not really, I think you just got to a good dose at about then, if you look at the AT numbers, he started to see green (79) and some low blues on that dose, so it just seems to me that he was just at that point when the insulin starts working it's magic for him. It often looks like someone has flicked a switch for the kitty. It was like that for us (it also coincide with a meter swap/ due to one meter being thrown for a swim by George), but the numbers held and when I swapped back to his regular meter the numbers held.

Good job, his SS is looking nice
 
It’s not always possible to follow the two hour rule with a grazer. Pay attention to how lucky bg between the last meal and AMPS//PMPS to try to determine how much of a spike you get from eating.
 
Back
Top