2/4 Scooter -AMPS-293, dental day two

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hi Folks:

First thank you to all of you who helped me threw yesterday with Scooter. Words do not have the language for my appreciation to you all. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: o:-) :YMHUG:

This morning he is quite cute hugging me a lot. :-D I haven't fed him yet until I figure out what you folks suggest for insulin. He is +22-380. I am sure he needs his bupe as he is due in 1/2 hr. I did catch him in the others kibble and stopped him. I don't think he ate any.

Anyway do you think I should give him insulin? if you do how much? His dose is 4.5.

Linda
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

I think I'd probably try to feed him..just to see if he's going to eat for you today before deciding what to do with the insulin

Glad to hear he's being such a love bug!
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

I think he'd be good for his regular dose of insulin, as long as you will be home today to monitor and you think he will eat. So I'd do as Chris says and test, feed to see how well he's eating, then shoot the regular dose if he's eating well.

Is Scooter on ABs too? If so, what kind? Some types will impact BG's.

I love how affectionate Scooter is. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

Well he ate a large tablespoon of chicken and gravy baby food. He was sure hungry! :-D

I am not sure what AB means sorry. :lol:

He saw the bupe and ran upstairs. :lol: :-D

I will try and catch him and get his insulin in to him. :-D

Linda
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

AB = anti biotics. Good to hear he's eating!
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

LOL about the AB.

Yes he is on clindamyicin bid which he just got along with his bupe. OMgodness he hated that. Two oral meds with a sore mouth. Poor little guy. :cry:

Working on the insulin part if I ever see him again. :lol:
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Sounds like Scooter is doing great and you both enjoyed a drama free night.

I agree with the others - if he is eating and you are around to monitor it's OK to resume his insulin.
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - AMPS 293, day after dental

Thank you Chris, Wendy and Sandy!! :-D

I got his full dose of insulin into him along with another big spoonful of chicken baby food. He seems to really like the beechnut that was sound advice to!

So I will just monitor him as the day goes along. I took these days off knowing he would need me. :smile:

12 more hours and repeat this over again. :lol:

Linda

I
 
Re: 2/4 Scooter - dental day two questions

Linda and Scooter said:
I took these days off knowing he would need me. :smile:
Excellent ! :cool:

These next few days numbers may be erratic.

Sending speedy recovery vines Scooters way!
(fingers crossed for improved BGs)
 
Hi Folks:

Well good news Scooter is back to blocking me on the key board and hugging on me.

He has eaten a jar of baby food already. I think I should have gotten the big one's. :-D

He has enjoyed sun beams and playing with the kittens and a nap.

His numbers are yellow and blue and today I will take that! Every thing seems good. dancing_cat :thumbup

Linda
 
Great to see his numbers back on track after the skip. :cool: Sounds like Scooter has recovered from surgery like a champ!

You might want to keep an eye on the LB action as some antibiotics can kill tummy flora. Having a probiotic around like Fortiflora may help.
 
Hi Linda,
I agree with Wendy that you should start Scooter on a probiotic to keep his intestinal tract healthy. Does he eat dairy? If so you can give him some plain yogurt with active cultures. FortiFlora is a powder that you can sprinkle on his food. Most cats love the taste because it contains "animal digest"--one of the ingredients in dry kibble that cat's turn on to. You can get FortiFlora at your vet's (also online, but then you won't have it for a few days).

We are so glad that Scooter is recovering nicely. Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
It looks like Scooter is having a good day. You might want to try some regular, LC food and see if he''ll eat that.

I agree that you might want to get a probiotic to make sure that the clindamycin doesn't cause a GI issue.

I'd also be sure to keep an eye on Scooter's numbers. The infected tooth may have been causing the high numbers. Between the extraction and the AB, his numbers could be coming down in a hurry.
 
Thanks for the check in's ladies!

It is so nice to not feel alone during this.

I have fortiflora for my other kitties so I will add some to the baby food right after I shoot him here in a few minutes.

He is such a champ but I can tell his bupe has worn off about 1/2 an hour ago as he seems a little sore. I just told him to wait an hour and he will be fine again. :lol:

Linda
 
Linda:

When managing pain, it's best to stay ahead of the discomfort than letting the pain get ahead of the meds. Usually, bupe is dosed every 8 - 12 hrs. If you are seeing that Scooter is uncomfortable, you could slightly reduce the dose and give him the meds sooner.
 
sorry i missed Scooter's dental - i've been out of town for several days. glad everything went well! so he had an infected tooth removed . . . i need to go back and read what happened on monday.

i'll add to the "try fortiflora" with the antibiotic. Punkin got diarrhea from clindamycin - it's a great AB but it can be hard on the digestive tract. i'd go with the more frequent bupe too and agree with sienne's comment about staying on top of the pain.

sending all the best feel-better vibes to little scooter!
 
Hi Linda:

I haven't been online all day but wanted to add my cheers about how well Scooter seems to be dealing with the dental. If he was trying to eat kibble, he's probably ready for his regular, moist food. I can so relate to his showing his disgust after the meds - that's my Harvey all over! :lol: He'll get over it.

Sending healing vines for his sore mouth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top