2/4- Sammy AMPS 147 dont know what to do next

Since you're following SLGS you hold the dose for 14 cycles (7 days) before thinking of making any changes.

I'm not sure what your question is. Sammy's SS looks like he's making excellent progress. How's he doing otherwise? Eating, pooing, peeing, purring, playing? Does he seem like he's feeling better?

What would you like to do next?
 
TI guess I'm just surprised by him doing so well. He was on 1 unit prior to taking him down to .25 and his numbers were consistantly high and now he hardly needs anything. Im just not sure if there was anything more that I could do that I'm not already.

Hes doing great! Acting like a kitten again..
 
TI guess I'm just surprised by him doing so well. He was on 1 unit prior to taking him down to .25 and his numbers were consistantly high and now he hardly needs anything. Im just not sure if there was anything more that I could do that I'm not already.

Hes doing great! Acting like a kitten again..

I'm glad to hear he's feeling so good!

The amount of insulin a kitty was on before has nothing to do with the amount they need now. So many people seem to feel that since 'this or that dose' worked once it's the dose that will work now - and this just isn't the case. The fact is that our kitties all have a pancreas - and sometimes there's healing and that pancreas starts to work and produce it's own insulin - that's what we are all striving for - a fully functional working pancreas - then they wouldn't need any insulin help from us.

Once his pancreas heals he can be weaned off insulin - it takes time though...patience and testing...and continued insulin support to help him along. Every day that he has those lovely green numbers is a healing day! His body is getting the support that it needs to absorb nutrition from the food he's eating and his pancreas is using this well time to heal and hopefully will start doing it's job again without the stress of too many carbs or lack of other normal processes that help it work properly.

You're doing just what you need to be doing and a great job of it! Just keep testing and let's hope he'll be okay on his low-carb diet with little to no help from insulin...it has happened.

As far as being able to shoot below 200, I'm not so sure about that one - we have lots of people who shoot well below 200 in order to support that pancreas as it heals...

One thing I'd suggest is to get a human meter - the numbers will read a bit differently and you may not find that you're dealing with as high a number as you think - those blues might be greens - which would be even better for either a reduced dose. I'm not a big fan of skipping doses...so perhaps it's time to get a human meter and find a more comfortable reduced dose to give him.
 
I'm glad to hear he's feeling so good!

The amount of insulin a kitty was on before has nothing to do with the amount they need now. So many people seem to feel that since 'this or that dose' worked once it's the dose that will work now - and this just isn't the case. The fact is that our kitties all have a pancreas - and sometimes there's healing and that pancreas starts to work and produce it's own insulin - that's what we are all striving for - a fully functional working pancreas - then they wouldn't need any insulin help from us.

Once his pancreas heals he can be weaned off insulin - it takes time though...patience and testing...and continued insulin support to help him along. Every day that he has those lovely green numbers is a healing day! His body is getting the support that it needs to absorb nutrition from the food he's eating and his pancreas is using this well time to heal and hopefully will start doing it's job again without the stress of too many carbs or lack of other normal processes that help it work properly.

You're doing just what you need to be doing and a great job of it! Just keep testing and let's hope he'll be okay on his low-carb diet with little to no help from insulin...it has happened.

As far as being able to shoot below 200, I'm not so sure about that one - we have lots of people who shoot well below 200 in order to support that pancreas as it heals...

One thing I'd suggest is to get a human meter - the numbers will read a bit differently and you may not find that you're dealing with as high a number as you think - those blues might be greens - which would be even better for either a reduced dose. I'm not a big fan of skipping doses...so perhaps it's time to get a human meter and find a more comfortable reduced dose to give him.

Thank you that does make sense.. do you have a human meter suggestions or are any of them good to use? I have been scared to use a human meter because of the difference in reading it. But I'm up for learning plus the alphatrak 2 strips are kinda expensive..
 
Walmart has a good selection of human meters - when we got started that's what I used. The strips are affordable and you can test frequently without breaking the bank.

Since we're long timers at this I switched to the OneDrop subscription service - but it takes a while to get the meter and the strips coming in - at least a week or more - so for now, I'd say just stop in at the Walmart Pharmacy and pick up a meter and matching strips - important to get the strips for THAT meter - they're not interchangeable...so if you get a Prime meter, be sure to get the Prime strips...they have several to choose from.

Don't worry about the reading difference - all the protocols are written using human meters and once you switch just stick with the same meter - people want to try to compare AT2 to human and it really doesn't make sense...the numbers are generally a bit lower on the human meter - as I mentioned...some of those low blues will be high greens on the human meter...
 
Walmart has a good selection of human meters - when we got started that's what I used. The strips are affordable and you can test frequently without breaking the bank.

Since we're long timers at this I switched to the OneDrop subscription service - but it takes a while to get the meter and the strips coming in - at least a week or more - so for now, I'd say just stop in at the Walmart Pharmacy and pick up a meter and matching strips - important to get the strips for THAT meter - they're not interchangeable...so if you get a Prime meter, be sure to get the Prime strips...they have several to choose from.

Don't worry about the reading difference - all the protocols are written using human meters and once you switch just stick with the same meter - people want to try to compare AT2 to human and it really doesn't make sense...the numbers are generally a bit lower on the human meter - as I mentioned...some of those low blues will be high greens on the human meter...

Thank you so much for your help I will check in when I get a human meter! :)
 
Back
Top