2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389 +5 402

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389

+2 389
hasnt really eaten since 9-930, not sure why he is going up, should i get a +4 or +5 feel like he safe since number high, but no sure why he's high.
i'm gonna go with +5 so i might sleep for a bit. if for some reason this jump is a sign of something im not catching please let me know.
i'll be checking even if i dose off. haven't slept soundly since what ever this illness is happend.
vines vines vines
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389

This is definitely unusual for him and could be indicative of an infection or pain. I really think you should call the vet tomorrow. I know that is a bit dicey just because she is not so cooperative on testing, etc. But I am worried about him, too.

I think a +5 or just before bed and call it a night. Leave him some food, try to sleep. Hugs for a you and vines for him.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389

I agree, there might be something going on that is causing Ruben's BGs increase. Get more sleep tonight and check him in the morning. Hope you both feel better then.

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben +3 222 +4 152 +5 199 +8 203 AT

RubenTheCat said:
kpassa-wow
no words
thank you for that
i know i should leave, ive known for a long time. just always to chicken to do it. we own a home together, complications...ugh, and he's veg thats why i stayed and so suprised at this situation. we've been together 14yrs. just a big scaredy cat to leave and now that i have my excuse to jump, i feel stuck in order to whats best
gotta just focus on ruben for now
i know this forum is about helping our DC's but this pep talk filled with, positivity, warmth and love does help ruben, cause it focuses me back on what matters.
kpassa and all the people here have tremendously helped me, help ruben
one day at a time. just keeping the peace for now

There's nothing wrong with biding your time. You're dealing with a lot right now both with Ruben and your own health. It depends on your personality type. If you're like me that when it's raining, you want it to pour buckets, then get your ducks in a row and move out and move on with your life! If you're not, then don't worry about it and put it out of your mind for a while. Wait till things settle. Perhaps your bf will suddenly have an epiphany and realize what a dick he's being to you and change. Perhaps you realize it doesn't matter. Perhaps not, but at least by that time, you'll be ready to deal with cutting the ties if necessary.

I'm not a vegetarian or vegan but I have a lot of animal love. When I was in high school, my sister became a vegetarian* because she could never kill an animal herself and felt wrong about eating an animal she couldn't kill. I took that same philosophy and realized that I wouldn't have much of a problem killing a lot of animals for food. (This also includes unrealistic Donner Party scenarios of necessary cannibalism. As I've told even my own brother, "I will eat you if I have to." :lol: ) All joking aside, I figure if I'm going to eat meat, I want my food source to have lived the best life possible. It's because of this realization of mine that I began to understand how people could be so flippant about their pets. They considered them akin to how I consider a cow or a chicken or you might consider a radish or tomato: dispensable for sustenance. (In fact, a lot of the people I've met with this mentality have a farming background of some sort.) I don't necessarily agree with pets being dispensable, nor do I logically agree with my own personal feelings that a cat rates higher than a cow, but I think that internal conflict is part of what makes humans so interesting and leads to revelations in thought and hopefully even revolutions in the way we do things.

*My sister did eventually start eating meat again but it wasn't until her second pregnancy with my nephew that made her crave meat so badly that she overcame her inability to eat what she hadn't personally killed because she was willing to kill a cow to get a steak at that point! I think she's now back to only poultry.

RubenTheCat said:
and if i could i would love to see cali.

Hey, I might take you up on that offer one of these days! You could come out for a vacation in OC, have a free place to stay and the use of my car to drive around and all you'd have to do is test and shoot Mikey a few times a day while I'm on vacation somewhere else. :lol: And I could do the same for you!
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389

Hello kpassa & Sam,

Sorry to be chiming in, but Sam you are doing great! I feel the same way! Our furry family members give us unconditional love and depend on us. In return I feel it is my responsibility to speak up for their well being! I could be wrong, but my other half thinks I'm going overboard staying up so late and testing every 2 hours when his BG was low. (but felt validated by our new vet when she said my testing looked great and she new about FDMB) He loves Rex, but I have an overwhelming desire to learn as much as I can to keep Rex healthy, happy, and comfortable. I also second, your praises for the online community!! I don't feel like I am crazy for my commitment to Rex. I feel like I am heard and understood.

Sorry to ramble, but I wanted to share :)

P.S. I much rather be on FDMB than Facebook!!
 
+5 402
ugh i hate not knowing what is going on
he's never been in black number's before and thats where i looks like its going.
I know my options for ruben are feeding tube or some kind of exploritory surgury to see whats going on. I dont want to put him through a feeding tube if he has something in curable going on and i also dont want to do invasive surgury and risk something spreading due to air getting to the source of the problem< not sure if that makes sence, but ive heard that before and now worry
i just want to do right by him, i can't help but catastrafize the situation. no tsure if its my desperate love for him or the fact that he seems on a downward slope but cant help but feel the worse. im broke wich complecates my choices as well.
vines vines vines again my friends. he justs lays there, miserable and i dont know how to comfort him. he hasnt laid with me all day <this is new
thank you guys for your opinions. i want him well so bad that if you dont speak up i'm afraid i'll jsut keep trying to give him onemore day, and one more day will turn into one more week. i dont want him to suffer. but dont know what is going on with him.
ugh gonna try to sleep. and escape this personal nighmare my life has all of a sudden become
working on focusing on all the good that i might not be seeing due to my obsession of worry for ruben
love you guys.
 
He's eating at least a little on his own, so I don't think it's time for a feeding tube; that's only when you end up syringe-feeding the majority of his food and I don't think you're there yet (hopefully never). One red number is nothing to worry about, especially because it's such a low red number. I bet if you tested him twice, you would have seen a high pink on the second test. Stagnant red numbers is when you should start worrying.

Don't forget that he's only getting .25u, so if need be, increasing his dose slightly is still an option. (I personally think it might be best to wait a couple of days before increasing him again because he had some lovely blues during the day, but go with whatever Marje and Carl say because they know better than me.)

He's fine at this moment. Something of comfort is that he is seeing greens and blues often enough that this decreases the tax on his pancreas and body caused by high sugars, so even if he isn't consistently green (aka "good numbers"), it's still okay! Check out Mikey's spreadsheet. He's been mostly pinks and yellows since diagnosis, yet it's those occasional blues and greens that keep him happy and healthy and don't send him into DKA. And since you're testing frequently for ketones, you don't have to worry about a potential DKA going unnoticed for too long!

On top of that, he may just be having a late nadir, which can be caused by all sorts of things, including the fickleness of simply being a cat! Look at it this way: at least you can go to sleep till AMPS without too much worry. ;-)

P.S. My sister had my niece and nephew very close together and she ended up with overlap on breast-feeding them both at the same time for a bit so she called them biological milk siblings. Right now it looks like you're shooting at 10:30 am/pm, which is 7:30 Pacific and the same timetable Mikey is currently on for his shots (although I hope to get him back down to 7). They're sharing shot times! They're Lantus siblings! :-D
 
This screams "dental issue" to me but that's just a hunch. The higher numbers could be infection or pain? It would also explain the unwillingness to eat much.

Carl
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389

RichNW & Rex said:
Hello kpassa & Sam,

Sorry to be chiming in, but Sam you are doing great! I feel the same way! Our furry family members give us unconditional love and depend on us. In return I feel it is my responsibility to speak up for their well being! I could be wrong, but my other half thinks I'm going overboard staying up so late and testing every 2 hours when his BG was low. (but felt validated by our new vet when she said my testing looked great and she new about FDMB) He loves Rex, but I have an overwhelming desire to learn as much as I can to keep Rex healthy, happy, and comfortable. I also second, your praises for the online community!! I don't feel like I am crazy for my commitment to Rex. I feel like I am heard and understood.

Sorry to ramble, but I wanted to share :)

P.S. I much rather be on FDMB than Facebook!!

That is so awesome that your vet already knew about FDMB! Usually, when that happens, you hear the dreaded words, "you can't believe everything you read on the internet." (Lamest commercial, btw, that makes me not want to use whatever product they're selling because they're so out of touch they don't even realize what amazing information is now available at just a few strokes on the keyboard. FDMB is the Wikipedia of feline diabetes!)

You are not wrong! Rex is your cat, and as I told Sam, you can do whatever you want! Is someone going to tell you you're not allowed to take your car in for an oil change or a repair? So then why would they ever feel it appropriate to give advice regarding a living creature?!? And even if he's not your cat, I still would do whatever I can do to make someone's life better, regardless of whether they're a cat or a person! I've even managed to convince the majority of my friends to switch their feline companions over to wet, low carb food. (Some of them I'm still working on because I don't want to "damn them to hell" for not being believers, but gently coerce them into seeing the errors of their ways.)

As all of our mothers preached to us when they first denied us our childhood longings for a pet, "A pet is a responsibility!" It is absolutely our responsibility the second we became cat owners to do for them as much as we can. A person shouldn't take on that responsibility if "as much as they can" equals out to "feeding them and changing their litter box." I take all of my responsibilities very seriously. When all is said and done, I would like to be able to proudly state that I did everything within my power, my knowledge, and my pocketbook and never gave up. And I expect that to happen when Michelangelo reaches the ripe old age of 92! (Because by then, we'll have bionic cats!)

On a side note, I keep joking to my brother that even though I might not have enough cats (yet), I'm still a krazy kat lady!
 
stupid nightmares
apparently sleep isnt evenan escape, good thing is i jumped right on here and saw ans flet the love from here
cant say it enough, thank you guys. you have no idea what this place has been for me.
big deep breath and back to dream land to have dreams of kittens in baskets hatching out of freakin cupcakes, come on brain lets make it good dreams :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top