2/4 Quincy So frustrated

April & Quincy

Member Since 2019
Quincy is all over the place and I am so confused and frustrated. In October he was on. .5 units (am I saying that right?) but I don't know what happened. He started getting all these numbers in the 300s which wasn't the norm for awhile there and now I'm struggling to get him into the 100s!! Do I need to increase the dose again? I don't understand what's going on and I'm so frustrated.
 
It helps us help you if you have today’s date and the cat’s name as part of the subject line.

I see it’s been a while since you have done a curve. Might be useful to do to see if Quincy’s patterns have changed. With SLGS, you maintain the dose if nadirs are between 90 and 149. You are also to reduce if Quincy goes below 90, and I see a 75 earlier this year. Are you using a modified form of SLGS?
 
It helps us help you if you have today’s date and the cat’s name as part of the subject line.

I see it’s been a while since you have done a curve. Might be useful to do to see if Quincy’s patterns have changed. With SLGS, you maintain the dose if nadirs are between 90 and 149. You are also to reduce if Quincy goes below 90, and I see a 75 earlier this year. Are you using a modified form of SLGS?

I think I added the info to the title now!

Yes, I can definitely do a curve. As for modified SLGS, yes. The reason I didn't reduce is because he so rarely would reach those lower numbers that I thought I should keep him in the same dose. But now it seems like even increasing to..75 isn't making a difference. I'm wondering if something is going on or if he just no longer "likes". 5 or. 75.

Sorry for the weird periods and numbers. I'm on my phone and it won't let me do it right!
 
Might want to list the SLGS modifications, such as lower reduction point, either in your signature or the top of the spreadsheet.

If a cat is at a dose too long that doesn't get them good numbers, you can get glucose toxicity development. Sounds bad, but it basically means their body gets used to higher numbers and you need to likely increase to get over it.
 
Might want to list the SLGS modifications, such as lower reduction point, either in your signature or the top of the spreadsheet.

If a cat is at a dose too long that doesn't get them good numbers, you can get glucose toxicity development. Sounds bad, but it basically means their body gets used to higher numbers and you need to likely increase to get over it.

I just don't get why he was seeing all these blues in October and then it just sort of started going up for no apparent reason.
 
I was also hoping for more answers posting here in the Lantus forum, as I was told I'd get, but it seems not? I'm just so confused and frustrated!
 
I was also hoping for more answers posting here in the Lantus forum, as I was told I'd get, but it seems not? I'm just so confused and frustrated!
Hi April - I'm sorry you don't feel like you're getting help - what questions do you have? As I'm sure you can see the Lantus forum gets. a ton of traffic - if you have a specific question, you can edit your title, pick the ? from the drop-down and add your question to your Title.

So for today, you would start a new thread and your title would be "02/05 Quincy - this is my question?". In the body of your post, put your question as well as a link to this thread (we like to link back for continuity/history). Each day, post in a new thread and link back to the last thread (whether it was the day before or last month).

I know there's a lot of reading on here but this is a good post about getting the most from this board - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...saglar-levemir-land-experience-updated.46014/

Also, I was getting this explanation out for someone else but I'll drop it here too - a cats insulin needs can change.

Hope that helps :bighug:
 
Hi April - I'm sorry you don't feel like you're getting help - what questions do you have? As I'm sure you can see the Lantus forum gets. a ton of traffic - if you have a specific question, you can edit your title, pick the ? from the drop-down and add your question to your Title.

So for today, you would start a new thread and your title would be "02/05 Quincy - this is my question?". In the body of your post, put your question as well as a link to this thread (we like to link back for continuity/history). Each day, post in a new thread and link back to the last thread (whether it was the day before or last month).

I know there's a lot of reading on here but this is a good post about getting the most from this board - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...saglar-levemir-land-experience-updated.46014/

Also, I was getting this explanation out for someone else but I'll drop it here too - a cats insulin needs can change.

Hope that helps :bighug:

Oh, don't get me wrong, I'm so glad Wendy&Neko responded! But I had originally posted a few weeks ago in the Main forum and was told to post here because I'd get a bunch more answers but that never seems to happen for me when I post here.

I don't understand why I can't keep using this thread? Is it because of the date?

I'll be sure to read both those links you posted right now!
 
I don't understand why I can't keep using this thread? Is it because of the date?
Not totally. I am not a moderator so these are just my two cents - but one thread a day is much easier to traverse when a helper is trying understand the kitty's FD journey. Sure, it could go all in one thread but then people are stuck scrolling through loads of posts to find the relevant information and this is cumbersome (especially when trying to help multiple kitties or in an emergency situation). Maybe think of a thread like a chapter in a book. Much more digestible in smaller pieces.

And, just for fun, there's a lot of 'lingo" here - so "thread" is called a "condo" a lot...after a cat condo :joyful: See you on your new condo :p
 
We can only give you answers if we have the data to look at, that's why I suggested a curve or two. There are many reasons a cat's insulin needs go up. Has Quincy had a vet appointment and bloodwork lately? Teeth checked? Barring that the answer may lie in the dosing, but without data to help us figure out what's happening, we can only guess. A cat on Lantus does not necessarily nadir at +6 all the time, as you saw on 1/29. Mix up the tests, get a curve in. We describe the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. Filling in random tests in the gaps gives us a better idea of the big picture. You've got the preshots, AM+6 and PS+2 well covered, but I can't tell what's happening the rest of the time.
 
Back
Top