2/4 | Moose | PMPS = 131, +1 = 95, +2 = 40; +2.5 = 32; +3 = 36; +3.5 = 41 +4 = 64

Status
Not open for further replies.
Keep going. He's always come up before...

I'll be interested to hear what the pros say on this situation, but if it were me, I am not sure I'd want to give Moose any more insulin after this. He is just sending signal after signal...

As usual, be ready to head to the ER. I'm worried at two tests in a row in the 30's, hoping he turns it around pronto. Any changes in behavior, etc.?
 
I wouldn't consider myself a pro, but if I were you, I'd skip in the AM. He is giving you some strong signals.

Some of this may be depot action, so a drain from a skip may paint a good picture.

Now up, Moose!!! :stop:
 
Keep going. He's always come up before...

I'll be interested to hear what the pros say on this situation, but if it were me, I am not sure I'd want to give Moose any more insulin after this. He is just sending signal after signal...

As usual, be ready to head to the ER. I'm worried at two tests in a row in the 30's, hoping he turns it around pronto. Any changes in behavior, etc.?
Yeah I'm not sure that I want to either...I'm worried that because he keeps slipping into the 30's and 40's every night that it might cause some sort of long term damage...I'm not sure...maybe I'm just overreacting. I'll wait to hear if anyone else has any input on the situation. I appreciate your thoughts, though! You're an expert in my book :)

Not really...he was hollering for food which isn't abnormal for him but usually he doesn't cry for food so soon after dinner.

About to test again...
 
I am not expert but with those really low drops and the amount of steering your are doing, I would not give anything tomorrow. Not even in the evening. Let the depot drain significantly. Still test though the PS times. If you see him creeping up over the next day or two..then maybe try a drop. If that isn't enough then try the .1u again.
 
I wouldn't consider myself a pro, but if I were you, I'd skip in the AM. He is giving you some strong signals.

Some of this may be depot action, so a drain from a skip may paint a good picture.

Now up, Moose!!! :stop:
I'm definitely going to be skipping in the AM because I work tomorrow and can only monitor +1 and +2...but not able to monitor after that so no AM shot for Moose!

That makes sense, and also explains why he always falls so low in the evening rather than during the day. Depo in action.
 
I am not expert but with those really low drops and the amount of steering your are doing, I would not give anything tomorrow. Not even in the evening. Let the depot drain significantly. Still test though the PS times. If you see him creeping up..then maybe try a drop. If that isn't enough then try the .1u again.
Ok I will, thank you for your input! I'm fine to give him a bit of a break for a day and see how things go.
 
Oh my, I missed the Moose show. I agree with the others and skipping tomorrow when you can't monitor is a really good idea. And like Nan said, tomorrow night try a drop for this dose.
But it's on at the same time every night! ;)

How does one draw a drop? I think I saw someone say that you push the plunger as hard as you can against the bottom, put the needle into the vial, and then let go of the plunger and that will be a drop. Is that correct?
 
But it's on at the same time every night! ;)

How does one draw a drop? I think I saw someone say that you push the plunger as hard as you can against the bottom, put the needle into the vial, and then let go of the plunger and that will be a drop. Is that correct?
Yes , that's how you get a drop. Practice first with water and then plunge to see that you should have a drop.

When you give the drop to Moose keep the plunger pushed in as you remove the needle from his skin. That will prevent the drop from sucking back into the syringe.
 
Yes , that's how you get a drop. Practice first with water and then plunge to see that you should have a drop.

When you give the drop to Moose keep the plunger pushed in as you remove the needle from his skin. That will prevent the drop from sucking back into the syringe.
Ok I will do that. Thank you for the tips! :)
 
Good luck with the drop dose tomorrow. Moose's SS looks like he could use a tiny bit of insulin support yet. He was on 0.5 units just 5 cycles ago, so there could be some depot still in play. Spreadsheets of kitties ready for trials are typically all green. Paws crossed he'll let you shoot just that drop and stay at the dose for more than a cycle or two.

On the cycles that you are home, have you tried giving Moose a small snack (couple tsps) around +8 to +9? That might stimulate his almost working pancreas and bring down those blue preshots. Note to any lurkers, this is a thing only for kitties on very small doses and close to trials.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top