2/4 Gryphen PMPS 193 reduce to .5U? AND Alphyne PMPS leave at 2U?

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
Hello!

Gryphen seems to be responding to the Lantus well. She has been below 200 for the last two days for the PM shot. I will not shoot her below 200 because we do not have an emergency vet in my city. I spoke to my vet after the glucose curve last weekend (sent her my spreadsheet), and she actually wanted to increase the dose, but Gryphen's numbers didn't start being consistently blue until after I sent her the data. Once she and I chatted, she thought we could decrease. Do you all agree with .5 AM and PM? I don't want to keep her at 1U in the AM and then keep skipping the PM. That can't possibly be good.

For Alphyne, her numbers jumped up initially, but she's been maintaining mostly pinks with a few yellows. My vet also wants me to increase her dose, but she wants to go up a full unit, and I said absolutely not. Should we maintain at this dose? I know everyone said 2U is a high starting dose to begin with.

Can anyone throw some advice my way? Thanks SO MUCH!

Bobbi
 
Here are the links to your last posts here, for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-30-alphyne-370-amps-weird-numbers.242338/
and https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-30-gryphen-371-amps-going-up-overall.242336/
We ask that you include the link to your previous post so we can go back easily and see what was said.

For Gryphen, you will eventually get used to shooting below 200. With Lantus, the lower the shoot, the flatter the cycles. But hopefully she'll give you the chance to try a little lower prehot during the day when it's easier for you to monitor. Since you've had to skip a couple shots now, I wonder if it would be easier for you to try shooting 0.75 units. That way I hope you can get two shots in per day, which will be better for her. then as you gather more data on Gryphen that allows you to shoot lower numbers, you can shoot those blue preshots.

As for Alphyne, I would increase her to 2.25 units. She does need an increase but 1 units is too much.
 
Your welcome. :) Good luck with the new doses. I hope you have a good system to keep the two syringe/shots organized. Maybe a sticky note with different colour or names on them that you load and lay the syringe on?
 
I do them individually...test both, feed, fill and shoot Alphy, then fill and shoot Gryphen. Luckily they are very easy-going, so I don't have to chase anyone around! :p
 
Hopefully different colours too! I remember one caregiver who accidentally shot her non diabetic black cat, brother of the diabetic black cat. :eek: Cat was OK.
 
Oh no! I'm glad the cat was ok! Yes, Alphy is the grey one in my avatar pic, Gryphen is a b/w tuxie. I have 4, and every one is a different color; I also have a ginger/white and a brown torbie. So mine are easy to tell apart.

I've successfully switched 3 of the 4 to FF and Dr. Elsey's, too, based on the great advice here. The torbie is stubborn, though. Ha! She's going to try my patience!
 
Back
Top