2/4 CRYSTAL AMPS 364 +6 358 - thoughts on change to Lev?

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
Woke up to snow this morning, a rare sight here in France, but only a sprinkling and has now melted, nothing like you guys are getting in the US. Kitties not impressed and have hunkered down for the day.
Crystal continues along her pink path, although we nearly made it into a yellow yesterday lunchtime. I've increased by 1u this morning. We are now nearly up to our pre Levemir dose on Lantus and numbers still way too high, although pretty flat. I had such high hopes of seeing a dramatic change once we changed to Lev but it doesn't seem to be working that well for her - perhaps we just don't have the right dose yet, and it's still early days - any thoughts appreciated.
I'm testing for ketones regularly (which are all negative, thank goodness) but the glucose part of the strip is always at the maximum, which can't be good for her organs.

Suki & Crystal
 
I know how you are feeling. Toby was in pretty good numbers last week in the blues but, not seeing any greens. Went up to 15.5 units and he seems to be going higher. Granted I haven't used the R insulin yet wanted to make sure this dose wasn't going to take him to low. I haven't had him tested for any high dose condition so don't know what I am dealing with. We keep plugging along hoping we will get to the right dose so we can start to reduce.
All we can do is hang in there and hope for the best and know that we are doing all that we can to try and keep them as healthy as possible. Take Care, Peg and Toby
 
With acro, my understanding is you increase until you get better numbers. Some folks have gone up as high as 30-50 units per shot.
I know some folks have used Regular (R) insulin to bring down the numbers some so the depot insulin can work better.
 
Thanks Peg, Marilyn and BJ, it is just really frustrating not making any real progress but can't increase any faster. If I do decide to use R as an additional tool, at what dose of levemir should I start at? Also, I would probably need a vet prescription for the R, what exactly would I ask for as my vet looked a little puzzled when I mentioned the possibility of using it a few weeks back.
 
Some cats need less Lev than Lantus, some need more. You just need to keep increasing until you find a good dose. You hadn't found a good dose yet on Lantus so it's hard to compare. And the annoying thing is that the acro tumor can change output over time so who knows if the same dose of Lantus would have looked any better at this point. The advantages of Lev are doing away with a possible sting at higher doses, and for many cats, a flatter cycle. For me, a flatter cycle means more predictability, less pokes and more sleep.

For R, you might want to go to your local chemist and ask the name of the short acting insulin human diabetics use. It's called R or Regular insulin here and it used around meal time. The chemist will also know if you need a prescription. You could start R at any Lev dose. The idea is to bring the numbers down a little to give the Lev insulin something better to work with. But I'd wait until there is someone here, experienced with R, to guide you the first time.
 
In the US you don't need a prescription to get the R insulin . We can get it in Wal-Mart without it. Julie has been working with me and Toby. When you try it you need an experienced user to check in with you for at least four Hrs. Because it is a fast acting insulin.
The first time we tried it we just used a drop. It didn't do much for Toby but, some cats only need a drop. Now we are at .25 units. I also know Suzanne used it with Cobb. Maybe she or Julie can tell you more. Peg and Toby
 
Thanks Wendy and Toby, I'll give it a bit longer with the Lev before trying the R but next time I'm in the pharmacy, I'll check out what it's called here and whether or not I need a prescription. I think it was either Julie or Suzanne who have already offered to hold my hand through the first dosing with R. Do you use the same size syringes as for Lev? how on earth do you measure such small doses?

Good point Wendy about the sting of Lantus, Crystal certainly seems happier with the Lev shots and I haven't been biten for a while now!
 
Yes, the same syringes. Do you have the ones with 1/2 unit markings? There are pictures in the New to the Group Sticky of the smaller doses. I use a magnifying glass to measure. Julie, Suzanne, and Sandy have all used R a lot with a larger dose cat. Marje and Dyana have R experience with smaller dose kitties.

Yeah for no bites!
 
Yes, one of us will be here to hold your hand the first time you use R.

There are 2 ways I was told how to measure the small dose. Draw up 1 unit of regular water, and twist the syringe until you get 10 drops that are roughly the same size. There should be 10 drops in 1 units. OR...you can push the air out of the syringe before you inject it into the vial and then when you inject it, it will draw a small amount back into the syringe. That is an eyeballed .1u.

Like Peg said, some cats only need a drop. Cobb, with his IAA/acro, got up to 4 units at one time.

Someone, Julie maybe, told me one time that with an acro cat, the dose doesn't really matter. You give the amount of insulin that's needed to bring the numbers down. Difficult advice when you're paying a ton for the insulin, but so true.

Let us know when you get the R. I'll try to check in a bit more often. And someone will most definitely be here to walk you through it!

~Suzanne
 
Okay, I'll make some enquiries about the R and let you know how I get on. I do have the half measure syringes, and a magnifying glass, so I can get some practice in. Thank you all for your help and support, I really appreciate it. Meantime, I'll carry on with the 4 cycle increases and hope for some better figures for Crystal.
 
No dosing advice here, just wanted to stop in again and offer some moral support--I know very well how frustrating it is to find that supposed "breakthrough" dose. :rolleyes::rolleyes: ..And even when you find it, that dose never stays the same- insulin needs change seemingly all the time. :confused: It's what makes this Feline Diabetes thing so difficult- as one former member put it, it's a dance- where only one of you hears the music! The one good thing is, you are never alone here- these wonderful people here will always support you and you're never alone! :bighug:
 
Just wanted to say thank-you for stopping in and reminding me that we can get there after awhile. Just takes time. I think all this snow is getting me down. I gave Toby some R at +8
yesterday afternoon and we got in the blue again last night. Will give it again and see how we make out. Will let you know. Take Care, Peg and Toby
 
@Tiger and Ruth - thanks for the moral support Ruth, I really don't know what I would have done without this Board.
@Peg and Toby - good results for Toby last night, carry on the good work.

I'm doing a new post this afternoon about my "R" enquiries if you want to check in then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top