2/4 Chispa, 135 AMPS, 80 +3, 185 PMPS

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-3-chispa-99-amps-82-3-75-140-pmps-80-3-83-5.273778/

Happy Caturday, everyone! Miss Chispa is feeling quite a bit better today. She was on her window perch when I woke up and is hanging out on the couch with me now, after being pretty much glued to her carrier Thursday night and yesterday. Her cheeks are still puffy, but the vet says it's normal for now.

Not sure what the last two high preshots are about, except maybe the MC I've been feeding to make sure she is getting enough calories while eating less than usual? I stayed up late last night to test at +5 to see if maybe she was going too low and then bouncing, but no, she was steady in the 80s. Hopefully things will come into balance as she heals and gets back to her normal diet.

Chispa recovering.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Chispa recovering.jpg
    Chispa recovering.jpg
    118.5 KB · Views: 91
Any pain from the extractions and soreness of the gums etc can keep her numbers higher. The depot is also rebuilding after the skip. If you were feeding MC, especially after the nadir, that could also contribute to loss of duration and higher preshots. Give it time. Her numbers are not bad at all. Still blues and greens.

See what the others say, but you could wait 6-8 cycles after the skip for the depot to rebuild before considering an increase.
 
Max too was higher after his dental once diabetic. I had to skip the morning off and again that night as he would not eat. It took him a good 7-10 days to come back to his normal.
 
Any pain from the extractions and soreness of the gums etc can keep her numbers higher. The depot is also rebuilding after the skip. If you were feeding MC, especially after the nadir, that could also contribute to loss of duration and higher preshots. Give it time. Her numbers are not bad at all. Still blues and greens.

See what the others say, but you could wait 6-8 cycles after the skip for the depot to rebuild before considering an increase.
Thanks, Bhooma. Her cheeks are still visibly puffy, so I can't imagine she's not sore. I knew the depot would have to rebuild, but I thought we were already home free after yesterday's 99 AMPS. No such luck I guess. I'll be patient.
 
except maybe the MC I've been feeding to make sure she is getting enough calories while eating less than usual?
Carbs is not calories. Calories comes from fat. You want a higher calorie food, not higher carb food.

And what Bhooma said about inflammation causing rising numbers. I remember having to raise Neko's dose post dental to counter the inflammation, then lowering when it went away. Ditto the 7-10 days ish for that to happen.
 
Carbs is not calories. Calories comes from fat. You want a higher calorie food, not higher carb food.

And what Bhooma said about inflammation causing rising numbers. I remember having to raise Neko's dose post dental to counter the inflammation, then lowering when it went away. Ditto the 7-10 days ish for that to happen.
Point taken about the distinction. Chispa's HC food (which I've been mixing with the LC to get MC) is higher in both carbs and calories, so two birds with one stone.
Good to know about Neko's 7-10 days too. I went up to a skinny 3.75 this morning, expecting this will be temporary, to offset the higher numbers caused by inflammation.
 
Back
Top