Donna & Buddha
Member Since 2009
Buddha thinks Bix is a show off, but I'm pretty sure he's more than a bit envious. He's getting rather impatient with me to find his proper dose so he can feel like his old lazy self again, and not like his current self which is sometimes overcome with hunger, sometimes utterly fatigued, and I so do want to deny, his hind legs don't have the spring that they used to. He's NOT walking on his hocks, but his jump up to places where he shouldn't be and doesn't belong isn't as graceful as it once was.
So I think I really do need to increase to 2.2u, and probably eventually higher. Blue numbers scare me emotionally, but rationally I know that's what I should be aiming for.
I'm still confused about PZIR. It seems to me that a cat with a amps of 200 or 400 should get different amounts of insulin. Isn't that the purpose of testing and testing and testing? So if person A shoots cat B(with amps of 400) with 2.2u in the morning, and in the evening cat B is now presenting a pmps of 200. Then what? Stick with 2.2u? OK, so the next morning cat B has an amps of 98 then what? Stick with 2.2u?
I would like to get Buddha's bg in a healthier range, but I am unsure how to do it. It's hard to stay the course when his curve seems so steep. I know the critical bg value is the nadir, go too low and and almost instant death.
But I think he needs more insulin. I think the numbers get lower on average when his dose is increased. Seems crazy that such miniscule changes make such a drastic difference. Makes me believe that PZIR should be more dillute to make it all easier. Makes me wonder if sometimes I didn't roll the bottle long enough to get it mixed properly.
So I think I really do need to increase to 2.2u, and probably eventually higher. Blue numbers scare me emotionally, but rationally I know that's what I should be aiming for.
I'm still confused about PZIR. It seems to me that a cat with a amps of 200 or 400 should get different amounts of insulin. Isn't that the purpose of testing and testing and testing? So if person A shoots cat B(with amps of 400) with 2.2u in the morning, and in the evening cat B is now presenting a pmps of 200. Then what? Stick with 2.2u? OK, so the next morning cat B has an amps of 98 then what? Stick with 2.2u?
I would like to get Buddha's bg in a healthier range, but I am unsure how to do it. It's hard to stay the course when his curve seems so steep. I know the critical bg value is the nadir, go too low and and almost instant death.
But I think he needs more insulin. I think the numbers get lower on average when his dose is increased. Seems crazy that such miniscule changes make such a drastic difference. Makes me believe that PZIR should be more dillute to make it all easier. Makes me wonder if sometimes I didn't roll the bottle long enough to get it mixed properly.