2/30 Luck OLDTIMER PMPS~102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim&Luck

Member Since 2009
Greeting all - I was so excited to find out about Oldtimes day today, and then just had so much going on today I haven't been able to get here till now.

As you can see from Luck's ss, we've been up and down alot lately and I apologize I haven't keep his ss as detailed as I should as far as little reasons. We were flying along smoothly until just before Christmas I noticed a lump on Luck's neck. It was in the general area where I first started to inject Luck back at the beginning of this dance. I was afraid it was a tumor - but just couldn't deal withit right before Christmas, so I made an appointment for a week later if it hadn't gone away. I know, many of you would not have waited and would have dealt with it right away, but we all deal with issues differently, and this was the choice I made at the time. 2 days before his appointment early in the a.m. - I awoke as normal, headed to the bathroom (sorry if TMI), lights still out, and Luck came in to greet me as always. I reached down to stroke his head, and YUCK!!! There was a sticky liquid all over his neck. I quickly turned on the light to find, blood and pus all over the bathroom where he obviously shook his head. I cleaned him up, he was so good about it too. Just sat so nicely. We had to wait until the afternoon to get into the vet - he determined it was either a cyst that had burst, or infection of some sort. He too was not judgemental about my delay in getting Luck in. I beat myself up enough on it anyway. Amazingly Luck's #'s had risen a little but not wildly and I also was at the end of my cartridge, so I really didn't put too much into it. After 10 days of antibiotics and cleaning his wound daily, he seemed just fine. There have been a couple weekends were DH & I were gone away - I just skip his shots (another noodle beating I know!!!) but he responds so well when we return, and truthfully, since the last time when I myself, OD'd him, I can't trust anyone - even DH. I know I have to get over it, but it's hard for me to forget what I did.
Our next little crisis occured a couple weeks ago. DH & I were flying to FL to surprise my dad for his 80th b-day. Everything was on schedule, until Luck decided that morning to be very, very vocal, which is not normal for him. DH said, "he's just nervous", I said, no something is wrong. So I watched for a bit - in and out of the litter box. From one litter box to another, one end of the house to the other. Once again - I called the vet and begged for antiobiotcis so we could make our flight. Quickly showed DS how to pill him. Cleaned up the puke that he had sone while I ran to the vet's office and then kissed him goodbye and prayed he'd be okay. Once we were back home, got back on track with his shots.
This week his #202 was due to his getting into Sophie's Z/D. She left some and I Wasn't paying attention. Luck wondered over after finishing his food and finished hers. It is SO high in carbs its not funny. (She has food allergies and this seems to be the only thing she can eat - or at least that we have been able to find, alternative suggestions are welcome). So now I've got to really watch him like a hawk.
Edited to add: Foor some reason my screen where I'm typing is jumping all over so I can't see what I am typing, sI thought if I edited it would stop but hasn't. So I'll end now and say, we LOVE LL and miss all the OLDSTERS . I try to stop in LL a few times a week but don't do much posting. Sending hugs to all!!!
Kim & Luck
 
Hi,Kim!
So glad to hear from You! Was wondering how You are doing.
To read Your post about Luck...i was going :o,no Jeez! Glad that he is OK !
Wish You and family all the best and come for visit when you find a time.
Bo
 
Nice to see you, but I'm sorry Luck has had a few issues. It sounds like you are doing a good job juggling the care of your cat with all of your life stuff happening. I hope things will be a little less crazy for you soon.

I find that the mouse flickers because of the smilie menu moving, which is annoying. And when I make a long post (bigger than the window), the bottom disappears and I can't see what I'm typing.
 
Kim,
It's so good to hear about how you and Luck are doing. I know you are the best bean for Luck, and YOU KNOW YOUR CAT. I would never judge about the skipped shots, waiting to go to vettybean, etc etc.
I'm glad it all worked out, and that Luck is doing well, even if he's sneaking into Sophie's food.
((Luck)) --> those are really smooshes, not hugs.
 
Hi Lucky Luck and Kim! We miss you! From one person who beats themself up to another - no judgment here. So glad all those things have turned out ok for Luck. Sounds like you all could use a little less "excitement".
 
Hi Kim and Luck :smile:

On the food allergy front, my civvie had a reaction to one of the foods I was feeding and they told me to give him Z/D which I refused. I gave him Nature's Variety Prarie and it cleared up http://www.naturesvariety.com/prairie_cat_can. I believe you can get it from Only Natural Pet Store so that FD.com gets a cut ;-)

Good to hear that overall Luck is doing well! Stop by when you can, k?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top