2/3 - Six is out of remission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Six

Member Since 2009
Hiya Lantus Land -

Two weeks ago, BG @ 83. Today @ 443.

I'm going to make this short and sweet for now. Will have more updates when time allows re: past 6 months. The spreadsheet stopped showing test...it's just not been updated. He's being tested every 2-4 weeks since starting remission.

I tested yesterday and his numbers were high,but we were without power for the past two days - a very cold house - and I wanted to make sure the numbers were true.

I'm looking for a starting dose suggestion. I talked to my vet today and she suggested 1 IU, but she did not have the Queensland protocol in front of her when I was discussing a starting dose.

Looking forward to check in with some old friends.
 
Hi, Amy & Six.. a lot of us are back from remission :YMSIGH:
Good to "see" you.. just wish it was not under this circumstance.. good news is.. this is so much easier the 2nd time around :YMHUG:
hugs for a short stay... we started at .5, 1unit sounds good to me though too.. as always.. experts will chime in & I am definitely not one :lol:
 
Amy, same here -- happy and not happy to see you! A cold house, and this too.

I assume the vet checked everything else out, and there's no infection or anything that might bump him out of remission? Maybe it will take just a brief period to bump him back in.
 
I'm sorry to see you back too, 1u seems to be the norm, but don't take my word for it. Bumping you up though.
 
Oh, rats. Sorry to see you here but I'm hoping you're only going to need a short term lease on a condo. It looks like you shot 1.0u.

If the numbers are due to a p'titis attack, let's hope that Six's pancreas just needs some temporary support while it's healing.
 
Hi Amy & Six,
I won't say "welcome back", but I will say "nice to see you and hope that your stay here is short"!

1 unit sounds good, and let's hope it will help your boy get back on track.

Ella & Rusty
 
Amy I have to say that Max and I miss speaking with you but think of you often.
Sorry to see you back here though and as Nicole said, many have returned from the falls.
Max will miss his buddy so I hope your stay here is short.
 
crappus. it's always good to see you, but not like this!
have you taken six in to be examined, blood work done, teeth examined, etc?
it would be a good idea to find the source of the problem so it can be addressed.
 
Hi Amy,
I remember you, as we both used the Alpha Trak. Maggie fell off the wagon (or out of remission) and re-started Lantus on December 28. She had a five month remission. My Vet told me to start her at one unit, but her numbers were not all that high on the day I started, so I started her on a half unit. Are you still using the AT meter? I'm sorry to hear about Six, but this is the best group of people to help you again with Six. Take care and talk to you soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top