2/3 Sid - hypo episode at hospital

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Very Active Member
Well, the specialist thought 1u of PZI was not giving low enough numbers so they tried giving him 1.5u last night. At +6 he was at 30 and showing severe signs of hypo - so they gave him a dextrose drip. I was very disappointed by this.

Sid is home now after spending the entire week in the hospital. The other cats just gave him a sniff as if to say "Oh hello." He gave them his little chirp and rubbed on his favorite friend (Ben). I know he missed them.

He almost was a member of the clean plate club - he did eat almost 1/2 can of food all on his own. Then he went and zonked out on the couch. His bg was something like 550. He got 1u of PZI at 8 pm and I'll test him again at 10.


Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62658
 
((((Lydia)))) I'm so sorry that happened. Sounds like it's much better to have Sid at home with you. I'm sure he'll come down.
Liz
 
(((((Lydia))))) I'm so sorry that Sid had to go through an overdose. Is there any thought of getting him back on Lantus or trying Lev.? Prozinc sounds like a pretty harsh insulin (although upping the dose by 1/2 unit probably contributed to the hypo situation). Give your boy some scritches for us. I'm sure that just being home will help him enormously.

We are sending lots and lots of positive thoughts, prayers, and healing vines to brave Sid. I hope that you will be able to get some rest tonight and that having Sid home will lift your spirits.

Many :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I read Whisper's story in your blog spot and also some of the other blogs you posted there about your rescue work. You are an inspiration. She was a lucky kitty to have been rescued by you.
 
I'm so glad Sweet Sid is home with you now, where he belongs I'm so sorry he had the hypo incident - and at the hospital, no less.. Excellent news that he is virtually a member of CPC! We're thinking of you guys...
 
glad you got him home now! hopefully he'll be back on track now - might take some patience to get that BG down. i understand cats can be more sensitive to insulin after they've had a symptomatic hypo. perhaps someone can comment on that who knows more than me.
 
Hi, Lydia! I'm sorry your little Sid had to suffer a hypo at the clinic. It won't help you if I express my outrage, so I'll just say I'm glad he's home safe with you. Get some rest. Big hug to both of you (and your other babies, too).
 
I know you are worried about what the future brings, but Sid is home where he can be hugged and kissed and be showered with love. I'm glad he's home. Please give him a belly rub and tell him to give you a hug from me.
 
Glad to hear that Mr. Sid is home and on the mend. Hopefully he will feel more relaxed in familiar surroundings and continue to heal!
 
Thank you everyone! Sid is all curled up on a pillow on the couch right now. I think he is catching up on some much needed zzzzz's after so many days in the hospital. I checked his glucose level at 10 and it was Hi. Not a surprise.

Actually Sid has been doing pretty well on the PZI when he was only getting 1u. I don't have his numbers from the hospital but I gathered he didn't go too low but was a little higher than the doctor liked, usually in the 200s-300s but did go up to 400 a couple times - sorry I know that isn't exactly helpful information. I agree those numbers are higher than I would like too. I think he should have tried him at 1.25 and I told him that several times (about increasing by .25) but he can't comprehend that because there is no .25 mark on the syringe. Though 1.25 units of U-40 insulin is 3.1u on a U-100 syringe and that is not hard to dose. I know this because I give Sid the U-40 Prozinc with a U-100 syringe. (I hate the U-40 syringes.) Syd typically gets 1u which is 2.5 on the U-100 syringe.

I promised that I would not increase his dose until after the weekend when I may give him a fat 1u or try 1.25 to see how he does. I just want to try to avoid ketones again. My vet kept telling me that ketones only occur when they are high for long periods of time - well, that is not the case with Sid. He develops ketones very fast probably due to the lymphoma and IBD/pancreatitis.


If Sid survives for awhile without going hypo or DKA again and the chlorambucil and pred are working yet he is still not quite low enough, I want to switch him back to lantus to see how he does. However I'm not doing that until he's been stable for at least a month. By stable I mean no DKA. Three times of DKA in less than one month is just way too much on his body!
 
Poor Sid!!! That's so scary when you trust them with him and his BG and they let him hypo.

Sending him more healing vines and prayers for his recovery.
 
Hi Lydia - many hugs your way. I am sorry that Sid went so low... I wish these vets would listen to us better than they sometimes do. I am ever so glad that he is home now, where he can rest and just be with those that love him.

Hang in there. many hugs and positive thoughts from Mannie and I.
 
Aw, Sid...we think you're MUCH better off at home with family!!

thinking of you, little buddy, and sending love and healing thoughts...

cat_hug.jpg
 
I'm so happy to hear that Sid is home and has brought his appetite with him. Poor thing has been through an awful lot, he will so love being back with his family.
 
Just seeing this, Lydia... how scary for you! So, so glad that Sid is home and back in your care. You have done such a tremendous job with him... and I am certain the little guy is so grateful to have such a loving bean and wonderful home. Please give him some scritches from us!! Big hugs for you!!
 
How scary for both you and Sid .. I'm so happy he is home with you .. and his siblings and ben .. Give him a hug from us ..
 
{{{{{{{{{{LYDIA & SID}}}}}}}}}} Sending tons of positive thoughts, and healing vines for him, and you, and wishing for him to make a full and speedy recovery. Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top