2/3 Scooter - dental day-home help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks:

Of course Scooter shows a 97 at pmps +11. He is really starting to react to the 4.5U which is good.

In a couple minutes I will do his AMPS and then off to the Vet. I believe as long as his numbers go up I should shoot his insulin.

I am also worried he is to old for surgery. ugh. nailbite_smile

Linda

yesterday
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Hi Linda,
Is Scooter having dental surgery today; i.e., will he be under anesthesia? If so, you should contact your vet and ask if--and how much--insulin you should shoot. If it is just an evaluation of his teeth and gums, I think you could shoot. But if he is to have anesthesia, probably not.

Good luck today!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Hi guys .. sending good dental thoughts scooter's way! When mocha had her dental we were told not to shoot insulin, but double check with your own vet .. have a great, and stress free ;-) day, scooter will be fine!
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Sending good vet visit vines.

I always withheld insulin on dental days.
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Adding more good dental vines to the list!

Hope Scooter does great and comes home with all his toofies!
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Awww - they took 2 of your teef, Scooter? :sad: Hope he is home soon and recovers quickly. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Update:

Scooter came thru his dental like a champ! He had a good cleaning and two molars removed. One molar was very infected and Dr. P thinks it is the main reason of infection. She said Scooter ate one hr after surgery. I guess his little belly was hungry. :lol:

I am going to let him stay at the Vet for 2 more hours to get his feet under him. It is another cold day here and he is an indoor cat so outside is really cold. :-D

He has gained 11 ounces of weight since going onto Fancy Feast and off kibble. All of his other blood work came back normal. :-D

So I am relieved and happy. I will be really happy when he is home. Most of the other kitties are missing him to. One (Francis) is yelling at me that I forgot something at the vet. :-D

Thank you all for the vines and prayers it makes all the difference.

Linda
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Yippee! I'm glad Scooter came through like a champ. Sorry about the toofies, but maybe that'll help get his BG numbers down a bit with the infection gone. Great news about the blood work and weight gain too. And good plan to leave him until he's up and about and warmed up after surgery. They usually have heated pads they keep them on after surgery.

When Scooter gets home, you should only feed him small amounts at once, with maybe a tsp 20 minutes apart. Anesthesia can cause GI issues and eating too much at once can cause scarf and barf. And since you gave the full dose today, I'd test his BG a bit more frequently.

So cute that his buddies miss him. :lol:
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Happy to hear that Scooter came through the dental so well. My cats are ages 10-15 and all still do well when they have anesthesia, so I wouldn't have hesitated, as long as the vet said he was good to go. He won't miss those teeth, but having the infection gone will probably make a big improvement in everything - appetite, BG, general well being. I second the suggestion about small meals, spaced. My vet says not to feed the first night, but Harvey always comes home starving, so I give him chicken baby food, which I have to ration or he'd inhale the whole jar at once! Hope Scooter recovers quickly. Sending good vines... :-D
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

I'm glad that the dental went well! Sending healing vines to Scooter, now that the icky teeth are out he should feel much better :-D
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Glald to hear Scooters dental is over. :cool:

:cool: I'll add my voice to the feeding advice Wendy provided.

Also keep an eye on BG since anesthesia can cause BG to drop.

Be attentive to BGs as his mouth heals. He may throw you signals it's time to reduce.

With my BK, his mouth was his Achilles heel. When we addressed it, the resulting change in insulin needs was dramatic.
(drama mostly due to BK being on a high dose).

Sending healing vines Scooters way :cool:
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day

Sending feel better vines to Scooter from Wink.

February is pet dental health month so Scooter was right on target for getting that dental work done.

Hopefully, they gave you bupe for pain and not Metacam which can be dangerous.
 
Re: 2/3 Scooter - dental day -Home help please.

So Scooter has been home for an hour now. His readings are below and I have the karo on the counter ready to go.

Here is his day:
All readings from my monitor

amps 129 - 4.5U
+3 - 284 after surgery
+7 -74
+71/2 - 64

It looks like the dental is affecting his bg levels in fact a little to much.

Any advice would be welcomed.

Linda
 
Have you given Scooter anything to eat? Maybe a tsp or two of medium carb food if you have it. Normally with a number like this I'd suggest low carb, but anesthesia can affect numbers for a while so MC might be a better choice.
 
He's doing good Linda, but if you're worried, you can give him a little LC food and see if you can slow him down a little.

Did they give you anything to give him for pain? I know when China came home, she ate much better when she'd gotten her bupe...of course those first few meals were kind of confusing for her. She'd lost 5 teeth and the food kind of kept falling out of her mouth. Took her awhile to figure out how to "chew" again but when I saw she was having trouble, I went ahead and gave her some of the babyfood since that can be "lapped up"

Glad it's all over and hope it does amazing things for Scooter's numbers!

eta--go with Wendy's suggestion. She's got more experience with numbers after anesthesia :-D
 
Linda:

Anesthesia has 2 effects. It lowers BG numbers and it slows down the gut.

Given where Scooter's numbers are, you may need to skip his shot tonight or give a very reduced dose. I know you'll be concerned about losing momentum given how well Scooter is doing on this dose. However, I've been in a situation where Gabby's numbers started to drop after a dental (with 5 extractions) and getting her to eat after I shot was a challenge. Safety always comes first.

Give Scooter food in small amounts. If you over feed, you could end up with scarf-and-barf. Often the pre-anesthetic that's used can act as an appetite stimulant. Between having skipped breakfast and the anesthesia stimulating Scooter's appetite, he could wolf down his food and make a return deposit!
 
Hi ladies:

He went down to 56 and I tried baby food and gravy food. He would not eat either.

He is on buprenorphine and he had an injection of it at 1pm at the vet. His next dose is 10pm and it's oral.

I gave him a taste of karo to help bring his number up. He is however happy to be home and playing a little, jumping a little and alert. :-D

Linda
 
Hi there :cool:

check out BKs ss for 12/07/2008 and12/08/2008 - his first dental. we skipped 2 shots and when I did shoot it was 1/2 dose. (of course being high dose his depot was the size of Lake Michigan) The effects can be dramatic.

Keep observing & monitoring . Keep posting the numbers . This will help you decide.

One thing to keep in mind - a kitty that has just had mouth surgery may not be in the mood to eat, so guiding the cycle with food may prove tricky.

Better a day too high than an hour too low.
 
Ok his number went up to 76. whew.

So far today

AMPS 129 - 4.5U
+3 after surgery 284
+7 home 74
+7 1/2 -64 refused food
+8 - 56 refused food gave Karo
+8 1/2- 76

He is not interested in food but want to be hugged and loved a lot. He is marking everything with his cheeks. :-D I think he feels really good with the bad teeth gone or he is itchy. :lol:
 
Hi Linda,
We are sending good recovery vines to Scooter tonight. Maybe he'll eat some babyfood later. We are so glad that the bad teeth are gone. You will probably be able to reduce his dose now that the infected tooth is out. Have a wonderful evening with your brave old guy.

Ella & Rusty

Hey Scooter, you may have a visit from the toof fairy tonight! Maybe she'll leave you a nice treat.
~ Rusty
 
I think Scooter is a little bit high on the bupe! All that lovey stuff is likely a result of the narcotics. It's kinda cute though. Gabby gets the same way.

If Scooter isn't eating reliably, I'd think about skipping the shot.
 
Well he finally just ate a couple teaspoons of chicken and gravy baby food.

I gave him his bupe and clindrops but I thought I would check in with you folks to see if you thought I should skip his insulin tonight. His reading just now is 189 so it is up.

Linda
 
I'm inclined to recommend you skip shooting tonight and let the dust settle.
I would not trust that he would eat if needed with all he went through today.
Think of it as a fur-shot :cool:
that's my $0.02
 
I agree with Sandy. I've seen too many caregivers have to stay up late trying to convince their cat to eat after a dental or other operation.

Scooter will get back on track fast enough.
 
Thank you Ladies!

I appreciate your staying up and having my back perhaps more than Scooter does tonight. :lol:

He is asleep on his bupe and rest is what he really needs. He has not slept since coming home so I am glad to see him sleep.

I will check his bg before I get some shut eye and check in again in the morning before shooting him.

again thank you so much for your kindness to us. :smile:

Linda
 
Glad to hear he finally ate something. Just a little is good, as we've all mentioned. He'll probably be hungry in the morning, but remember his mouth will still be sore, so he may not want to eat. I usually do baby food for the first several meals when teeth are pulled, then the softest pate I have, working up to regular moist food. I'm glad he was alert and playing, wanting love and not off pouting, as some of my cats do!

I think you can sleep well tonight, knowing he is safe, and tomorrow should prove interesting. Sending healing vines for Scooter's mouth!
 
Sending quick healing vines for Scooter. I think he will feel so much better without that bad tooth :-D
Hope you and Scooter have a good day, Linda~
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top