2/3 ruben +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145 + 4.5 188 +6 205

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

kk, got it but i didnt know last night, didnt think that was a huge drop, how many points would you say warrent big drop?
sorry to be so needy.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

I'm generally on til at least 2 am your time, so you're not alone.

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

oh thank you mj, what a relief.....you know about drops and stuff, even if not still feel better someone wil be here. im a big baby all of a sudden with this. i hate this about me, dont want to be this insecure little girl, but i am. oh little ruben why am i so crazy (literaly) about you
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

the thing thats scares me the most is i did not know last night that, that was a big drop, would have never given karo and gl, what would you say constitutes a big drop? and afer the +2 ( i know it depends on the drop then test every 1/2-1hr) what should be my frequency of testing, pending its steady like today? like every 3-4hrs?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

Let's see the +2 and decide on a plan then. If he stays flat, you'll most likely have a drama-free evening.

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

mj- love the positive thinking, drama free night , oh that feels good. where in central mass? my bff is from boston. :razz:
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

+ 2 187
um, thinking test again in hour and more than 50bg drop then karo or can i go another 2-3 hrs not sure? give gl just to be?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

Sorry, Sam...I was helping someone on a health.

The drop depends on the cat. I know if Gracie drops more than 50mg/dL an hour, I need to get her slowed down or she will pick up speed and then she will bounce.

The thing about Ruben like tonight, is not that he dropped from 256 to 187 but that he did it so early. If the +2 is much less than the PS, you can expect a very active cycle.

Want you to see this...be back in just a second to continue. Can you get him to eat a little LC food?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

would only eat like 4 little bites of the chix breast my mom gave me, do gravy lovers or wait til next reading in an hour or 1 1/2?, then if more than 40-50 drop gl?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

Now to answer your other questions.

I'd feed if he will eat. If he won't, I'd give him a little gravy...no karo.

I rarely use karo. We've been using it with Ruben because he wouldn't eat. I use 10% food to slow Gracie but every cat is different (ECID). Ruben might be one that needs more carbs to slow him but I'm hoping we can start doing it with gravy and then once he is eating regularly, with LC food.

One other thing, I'm a big believer in the +2 test. If that test is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet night. If it is similar, you should expect a typical, active lantus cycle, if its much less (like tonight), you should expect a more active cycle and test more.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

This will be interesting because he dropped just a little faster last night between PS and +2.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

he ate about a half a can should that be ok or do i give him more? im holding incase we need to give more, feel like thats right but then again this had no karo in it?
when you say interesting, do you mean could level out, lots of bounce or ecid? sorry minor crazies kicking in...lol :oops:
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

Let's see how he does on the 1/2 can, no karo.

I meant interesting so we could compare what he does with/without the karo :-D
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

Half a can is more than enough. I think by "interesting" Marje means that we're about to see how Ruben reacts to different feeding strategies (i.e. no karo) versus what you fed last night. This info will serve you well in the future.

Try not to panic. He's nowhere near the danger zone; we're just trying to keep him surfing and not plummet. Small snacks help level the BGs.

MJ

ETA: yeah, what Marje said! (love cross-posting...)
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

i'm not being crazy when i say this, but ruben is laying in a really weird spot, and over last hour or so seems like he feels crappy,
mj & marje thanks for the reminder, hes safe were just being pro active. trying not to worry about the laying down n weird spot but i can tell he's off. might just be the night time
breathing and bringing positive mojo. inhale/exhale....
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187

+3 147
um, not sure i 40 drop, but close to fifty maybe give more gl if he'll eat and if he doesnt eat? check in an hour- i can tell he doesnt feel good, not just being crazy, could tell when i took his blood <side note did not poke through, ugh hate it when he doesnt feel good, he seems way better of the bupe dont want to give it to him if i dont hvae to. could the pancreatitus come back?
haven't been ablt to catch a pee today.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147

Yes...give him more GL and retest in 30. I don't want him to drop another 40 in an hour; however, if he did, he'd be at a perfectly safe number.

If he had pancreatitis, I doubt it would be gone so soon. He might just have good days and bad days.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147

ate a few bites more- almost finshed the can left about tbsp left gonna test 5. please = or higher number
just to play scenarios if hadn't of eaten, should i have syringe feed or just rub karo on gums ? trying to learn
i think syringe feed if other options didn't work?
gonna go check nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147

sorry to hijack, but Marje -- I can't read your PM b/c my box is full. Pls email me m.j.towler at gmail.com

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147

Does Ruben enjoy the liquid/glop from the food? That's where most of the carbs are. If so, squish the liquid out and offer it to him.

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

i think she wondered if you could stay with me. she has to go to bed.
he was +3.5 145 it was a drop but only two points...wont eat anything at the moment but has eaten a whole can of gl between +2 and +3
test in an hour?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

I can stay with you another hour - longer if necessary.

I'd like to see a +3.5 if he and you don't mind. He looks like he's surfing at these numbers, but not certain all of his food has kicked in. Try to give him some of the "glop" now. Just squish it in his mouth. I know, gross...

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

Looks like you are getting him slowed down. Great job! Yay...you know how to do it. Yes...you can wait an hour. Keep in mind that HC wears off...he might come up but then check a couple hours later to be sure he's still on the rise.

You can do this...you are doing it.

MJ is going to stay with you a bit. I'm sorry...running on fumes. Nuts. I will check in to,or row.

And if by any chance he goes below 80, reduce his dose to ,1u in the morning. Mi doubt that will happen based on where he is now.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: to you and MJ...and Ruben.

Ni Ni.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

thank mj. and marje i think marje said test an in hour. that would ugh....3am, wont eat gl at all, if next test lower or same gonna syringe feed ( how much i dont know, but assuming any is better than nothing. mj if you cant stay i get it, im exhausted too. just pray/ manifest rising numbers
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

[quote="And if by any chance he goes below 80, reduce his dose to ,1u in the morning.[/quote]
im on .25 how do you measure .1? i only have 1/2 marked syringes
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

There are ways... Let me see if I can find the thread that shows photos of it.

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

01unit-1.jpg


This photo is from this post: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

to be honest thats kinda where i thought .25u was? maybe i've been giving him that all along gonna go look again, if that is the case i would be shooting the"some insulin" pic, right?
ill be back after i double check
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

yeah, i think thats where i've been measuring, i thought the bottom of the plunger was supposed to be level, not the top. everytime is a guess tho, i just think i measure slightly less to be safe. he's prolly getting somewhere beyween .5-.1 dependin on my hands...lol
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

As long as you try to be as consistent as possible with the dose, you can call it what you want. One person's 0.1U might be another person's "skinny 0.25U" or "bloated zero". But you are at a pretty small dose, so the risk of hypo is extremely low. What we are trying to avoid is the dreaded bounce -- like on Feb 1 he dropped from 400s to 80s quickly, and then up to 300s for PMPS. Flat is best. Rainbow BGs not so much...

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145

got it. thanks mj gonna test in 15min hoping number is higher, if it is i'm gonna get a +6.5? sound good? ill test when ever you think is safe? open to suggestions,
 
Re: 2/3 ruben +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145 +188

+4.5 188
+6.5 sound good, this is up number, but i know hc wears fast, think im safe if i do +6.5?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145 +188

This is very good. He should be fine for a few hours at least. His nadir seems around +6. I don't see him plummeting fast after this, especially on this low dose, but now that I've typed those words, Ruben may go "HA, watch me!"

You OK to handle this from here? Leave him a bit of evil kibble if you don't feel comfortable that he will snack on wet food on his own. But ideally we'd like to see what his BG does with approved snackage. For your personal sanity and sleep purposes, go with your gut.

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145 +188 +6 205

+6 205
ah preacious sleep here i come, might test @ +9.5
thank you mj
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top